We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional Front Desk Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
SC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Exceptional Front Desk Staff”
Reviewed September 21, 2009

Beautiful hotel and front desk staff were awesome. The buffet style breakfast was very appealing to the eyes and tummy! The room was nice but we have a one year old who is fascinated by electrical outlets, so we put duct tape over them. The shower was extremely slippery and the curtain was slightly worn. The pull-out sofa mattress had a stain in the middle, but I always take lysol cleaners and then placed a towel over the stain. Was dissappointed that the mattress didn't have a feather down topper - thought all in the Marriott chain had them. All in all, I would stay again. I strongly suggest using the Marriott Rewards system.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palmettomomof1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    58
    23
    11
    5
See reviews for
87
39
7
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
LKeatley
1 review
Reviewed September 12, 2009

I had Marriott Rewards points and credit card certificates to use when booking the Mt. Pleasant Residence Inn. Because of complications using different types of rewards, the hotel manager, Jennifer Bagwell, worked with me on the phone. Closer to our arrival date, I needed to knock a day off our stay. Jennifer told me she'd take care of the complicated booking situation. True to her word, when I walked in the door to check in, Jennifer had just checked in our family and given front desk workers the heads up on our booking situation. During the later half of our stay she upgraded us to a 2-bedroom unit when we using our Marriott Rewards points.

Overall, this Residence Inn is very nice. The staff is pleasant and helpful. I picked this Marriott because it's six minutes from a beautiful beach and about 15-20 minutes to downtown Charleston. The easy drive made it worth going into the city daily to sightsee, shop and eat. Eating in, the 2-bedroom unit has a larger kitchen. We also used the grill near the pool. We did laundry twice quickly with 3 washers and dryers on the second floor, for reasonable prices. The pool was not huge, but even in August, there were only a few other guest in the pool with us, so we enjoyed it, as well as its outdoor setting. The breakfast was nice with protein and carb choices. Supper is offered, too, so a couple nights we ate in. The choices that week were OK, but they were included which saved our family of five a bundle for dinner. Supper choices the following week sounded really good.

We loved the nearby, award-winning BBQ places: Melvins and Sticky Fingers. Different styles, all good. The Residence Inn is close to a grocery store, and an outdoor, upscale mall in a town-like setting. We walked there several times.

Check out Tasi Bites for healthy sandwiches, etc. in a nearby shopping complex. You can get Restaurant.com coupons for it.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this Residence Inn near Charleston!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LKeatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was our second time staying here. For us it is perfect: we go to the beach on Isle of Palms, which is 4 miles straight down the causeway from the hotel. Then we go into Charleston for dinner, which is right down Route 17, takes about 15 minutes.
The rooms are great, we had a one-bedroom suite, full-sized fridge, etc. We could walk to a supermarket in the area, get some snacks, beer, wine, whatever, and keep it in the fridge. There was a quite comprehensive breakfast in the morning. There is a small pool, even a grille. It would be a nice place to stay for maybe 5-6 days--after that you might get a little bored or tired of driving to the beach or the city.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We chose the Residence Inn in Mt Pleasant for its proximity to Patriot's Point and downtown Charleston without downtown pricing for the two-room suite. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The room was essentially as advertised - a two-room unit with basic kitchenette, sofa, desk, queen-sized bed.

Our biggest problem might not matter to others, but we were counting on using the sofa bed. We had planned to put our son in the bedroom and sleep on the sofa bed. Not only was the chewing gum stuck to the bottom of the cushion off-putting, but the condition of the mattress was appalling (and since it wasn't made up, we had a good hard look.) By the time we discovered this, we were way too tired to re-pack and ask for a new room - assuming a cleaner mattress was available. The Residence Inn at Mt. Pleasant was not inexpensive. For the price, we would expect them to maintain the features advertised, including the mattress on the sofa bed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I have to say this is the nicest place that I have stayed in a very, very long time. Everything was super clean, the girls at the desk were WONDERFUL, the hotel is beautiful, the breakfast in the Hearth Room was outstanding!

This place had an actual full breakfast! You could make your own waffles, 4 different coffees, juices, teas, milks..you name it!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xarah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was a great place to stay while dropping daughter off at college. About 20 minutes from historic district but lots and lots of shopping to get dorm room established.

Very clean, friendly, convenient and loved having the extra room and kitchenette - saved money on food that way.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, extra room & kitchenette
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were thrilled with our stay here. Mount Pleasant is a great area to stay in, just a few minutes drive into Charleston and only a few moments in the car across the Isle of Palms connector bridge to some lovely islands and beaches.

The check in was easy, quick and the lady informed us she had put us in a quiet corner room with noone staying above us as the hotel was busy our first night with a lot of families with children staying - how thoughtful!

The suite was impeccably clean although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable to lean back into as the springs had 'gone'.

The bedding was clean and fresh. The bed was quite soft and springy but still comfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. It's part of the Towne center shops (Barnes and Noble; Atlanta Bread company, Talbots, On the Border etc) so there were plenty of places to eat and shop within walking distance.

We really enjoyed a trip to the Audobon swamp garden and Magnolia plantation; a drive to the Isle of Palms and Sullivan island and a morning on the aircraft carrier museum at Patriot's point.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — quite expensive
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevada4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
245 reviews
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#12 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
291 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasan...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Address: 1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-9415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing