We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place for people who want both the beach and to get into Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #17 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 25, 2009

This was our second time staying here. For us it is perfect: we go to the beach on Isle of Palms, which is 4 miles straight down the causeway from the hotel. Then we go into Charleston for dinner, which is right down Route 17, takes about 15 minutes.
The rooms are great, we had a one-bedroom suite, full-sized fridge, etc. We could walk to a supermarket in the area, get some snacks, beer, wine, whatever, and keep it in the fridge. There was a quite comprehensive breakfast in the morning. There is a small pool, even a grille. It would be a nice place to stay for maybe 5-6 days--after that you might get a little bored or tired of driving to the beach or the city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lajs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 179 reviews

Reviewed February 19, 2009

We chose the Residence Inn in Mt Pleasant for its proximity to Patriot's Point and downtown Charleston without downtown pricing for the two-room suite. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The room was essentially as advertised - a two-room unit with basic kitchenette, sofa, desk, queen-sized bed.

Our biggest problem might not matter to others, but we were counting on using the sofa bed. We had planned to put our son in the bedroom and sleep on the sofa bed. Not only was the chewing gum stuck to the bottom of the cushion off-putting, but the condition of the mattress was appalling (and since it wasn't made up, we had a good hard look.) By the time we discovered this, we were way too tired to re-pack and ask for a new room - assuming a cleaner mattress was available. The Residence Inn at Mt. Pleasant was not inexpensive. For the price, we would expect them to maintain the features advertised, including the mattress on the sofa bed.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I have to say this is the nicest place that I have stayed in a very, very long time. Everything was super clean, the girls at the desk were WONDERFUL, the hotel is beautiful, the breakfast in the Hearth Room was outstanding!

This place had an actual full breakfast! You could make your own waffles, 4 different coffees, juices, teas, milks..you name it!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Xarah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was a great place to stay while dropping daughter off at college. About 20 minutes from historic district but lots and lots of shopping to get dorm room established.

Very clean, friendly, convenient and loved having the extra room and kitchenette - saved money on food that way.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were thrilled with our stay here. Mount Pleasant is a great area to stay in, just a few minutes drive into Charleston and only a few moments in the car across the Isle of Palms connector bridge to some lovely islands and beaches.

The check in was easy, quick and the lady informed us she had put us in a quiet corner room with noone staying above us as the hotel was busy our first night with a lot of families with children staying - how thoughtful!

The suite was impeccably clean although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable to lean back into as the springs had 'gone'.

The bedding was clean and fresh. The bed was quite soft and springy but still comfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. It's part of the Towne center shops (Barnes and Noble; Atlanta Bread company, Talbots, On the Border etc) so there were plenty of places to eat and shop within walking distance.

We really enjoyed a trip to the Audobon swamp garden and Magnolia plantation; a drive to the Isle of Palms and Sullivan island and a morning on the aircraft carrier museum at Patriot's point.

  • Stayed: April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Nevada4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2007

I highly recommend this hotel. It is a little pricey, but it is absolutely great and very clean. The breakfast is incredible and the hospitality is great. Highly recommended to all.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank kg4lgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Nice location near Charleston, backing up to a huge mall with movie theatre and restaurants, close to beach. Small pool, buffet breakfast, nothing special but lots of items. At the beginning you are asked what level of housekeeping you want (we were there for a week) but the sheets were not changed daily. That is OK, but why bother having us fill out a form. I asked that the hook on the bathroom door be replaced, but it never was all week. It's just a basic hotel in a handy location.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank vwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
4.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Address: 1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-9415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $132 - $282 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing