We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel with an impressive breakfast.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Ranked #15 of 24 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with an impressive breakfast.”
Reviewed February 19, 2009

We chose the Residence Inn in Mt Pleasant for its proximity to Patriot's Point and downtown Charleston without downtown pricing for the two-room suite. The lobby was clean and welcoming. The room was essentially as advertised - a two-room unit with basic kitchenette, sofa, desk, queen-sized bed.

Our biggest problem might not matter to others, but we were counting on using the sofa bed. We had planned to put our son in the bedroom and sleep on the sofa bed. Not only was the chewing gum stuck to the bottom of the cushion off-putting, but the condition of the mattress was appalling (and since it wasn't made up, we had a good hard look.) By the time we discovered this, we were way too tired to re-pack and ask for a new room - assuming a cleaner mattress was available. The Residence Inn at Mt. Pleasant was not inexpensive. For the price, we would expect them to maintain the features advertised, including the mattress on the sofa bed.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbecon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    56
    21
    11
    5
See reviews for
84
38
7
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2008

I have to say this is the nicest place that I have stayed in a very, very long time. Everything was super clean, the girls at the desk were WONDERFUL, the hotel is beautiful, the breakfast in the Hearth Room was outstanding!

This place had an actual full breakfast! You could make your own waffles, 4 different coffees, juices, teas, milks..you name it!

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Xarah1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2008

This was a great place to stay while dropping daughter off at college. About 20 minutes from historic district but lots and lots of shopping to get dorm room established.

Very clean, friendly, convenient and loved having the extra room and kitchenette - saved money on food that way.

  • Liked — location, cleanliness, extra room & kitchenette
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Smartabano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2008

We were thrilled with our stay here. Mount Pleasant is a great area to stay in, just a few minutes drive into Charleston and only a few moments in the car across the Isle of Palms connector bridge to some lovely islands and beaches.

The check in was easy, quick and the lady informed us she had put us in a quiet corner room with noone staying above us as the hotel was busy our first night with a lot of families with children staying - how thoughtful!

The suite was impeccably clean although the sofa was a bit uncomfortable to lean back into as the springs had 'gone'.

The bedding was clean and fresh. The bed was quite soft and springy but still comfortable.

The best thing about the hotel was the location. It's part of the Towne center shops (Barnes and Noble; Atlanta Bread company, Talbots, On the Border etc) so there were plenty of places to eat and shop within walking distance.

We really enjoyed a trip to the Audobon swamp garden and Magnolia plantation; a drive to the Isle of Palms and Sullivan island and a morning on the aircraft carrier museum at Patriot's point.

  • Liked — location and cleanliness
  • Disliked — quite expensive
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevada4girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2007

I highly recommend this hotel. It is a little pricey, but it is absolutely great and very clean. The breakfast is incredible and the hospitality is great. Highly recommended to all.

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank kg4lgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Onancock, Virginia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2007

Nice location near Charleston, backing up to a huge mall with movie theatre and restaurants, close to beach. Small pool, buffet breakfast, nothing special but lots of items. At the beginning you are asked what level of housekeeping you want (we were there for a week) but the sheets were not changed daily. That is OK, but why bother having us fill out a form. I asked that the hook on the bathroom door be replaced, but it never was all week. It's just a basic hotel in a handy location.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Lack of service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank vwp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2007

This Residence Inn needs some staff upgrading!

We stayed at this Inn for four nights in July to celebrate my daughters birthday with a trip into Chrleston. We stay at Residence Inns exclusively when we travel and this was one of the worst we have encountered.

Pros: Two bedroom suite with plenty of room.
Close to Chareston, only a ten minute drive over the bridge.

Cons: Sneaky staff. We had made our reservations for a one bedroom suite at the rate of $150. When we were a half hour away from the hotel I called to ask them to put a travel crib in our room, and to see if they had any two bedroom suites open. The girl at the desk said that they did, and that they would hold it for us. When we got there and checked in I was informed that the rate for our new room was $280. For a Residence Inn in the suburbs! I told her it was too high, she said that our one bedroom was now gone. This was hard to believe that all one bedrooms were gone within a thirty minute time span, but she refused to budge, instead bringing our rate down to $250. Nice.
-Staff not very friendly overall. All of the cleaning staff and breakfast staff are Russian, and they stand around in large groups speaking Russian while blocking guests from getting to breakfast items. It was a wierd feeling standing in line behind a staff member who is helping themselves to the last of the yogurt while conversing with another employee. Ten minutes before breakfast was over everything was gone becuase the breakfast staff and cleaning staff were there filling their plates.
-VERY thin walls and ceilings, which brings me to my last con:
-This hotel allows dogs. There was a barking dog across the hall from us that barked ALL day from 6:00 am to late at night. When we complained about this, the staff did nothing. Also, our room window looked out directly on the dog run area, so we had a great view of dogs using the bathroom. The sidealks outside of our room also had dog droppings all over them.
Overall this hotel felt shabby, the staff was unfriendly.
Also, be careful when reading reviews of this hotel. There are MANY Residence Inns in this area, and people get them confused. A previous reviewer said the balconies were nice here. This hotel does not have balconies, so they must have been referring to another.

  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank hfadventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
0.7 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
254 reviews
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
1.3 mi away
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasan...
#12 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
316 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant

Property: Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Address: 1116 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-9415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Mount Pleasant Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing