We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Residence Inn Charleston Mt. Pleasant
Nearby Hotels
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$108
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$118
ComfortSuites
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$129
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard Charleston Mt. Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$135
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
ClarionHotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Shem Creek Inn(Mount Pleasant)
$292
$189
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Patriots Point(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$113
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant(Mount Pleasant)(Great Value!)
$161
$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (184)
Filter reviews
184 results
Traveler rating
82
62
23
12
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
82
62
23
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrocery storeisle of palmshotel is pet friendlymon wedfull kitchenfront deskkitchen trashshopping and dining choicesparking lotevening receptionfull buffetvery short walking distancemovie theaterany directionbig roomstayed here for a weekbreakfast and dinner
Filter
Updating list...
144 - 149 of 184 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2012

Stayed two nights and really enjoyed this property. Location is good if you know your way around. Right on Isle of Palms connector and 5 minutes to Beach. 15 minutes to downtown. Shopping close by. Scott at the front desk was very helpful.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unc_mba95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Take it from someone who travels freqently--I cannot say enough good things about the Residence Inn Marriott located on the Isle of Palms Connector in Mt. Pleasant!

The hotel’s décor is Southern in style, contributing to the feel of being in the Charleston area. The staff at the front desk is superb, particularly Marylind, who will take excellent care of you and give you all of the tips and advice she can about the area, beaches, places to eat, and places to buy your sweet grass basket. Valerie was really helpful at our check in, too.

The rooms are gorgeous with a great sized kitchen and living room area along with nice-sized bedrooms and baths with good set ups (sink outside of the shower/toilet area.) The thermostat is automatic, allowing for easy temperature control.

This hotel has excellent location, location, location: five minutes or less from the Isle of Palms, ten minutes from Sullivan’s Island, and fifteen minutes or less to the heart of Charleston. It’s also an easy drive to Savannah, GA-well worth a day trip.

The breakfast buffet is super—hot and cold fresh fruits, waffles made to order (by you), and something different daily in the hot food area. Monday through Thursday night, the hotel sponsors a manager’s reception with free wine, beer, lemonade, and coffee and food that could be your dinner: fajitas, personal pan pizzas, chili and corn bread; hamburgers and coleslaw and potato salad. The food is adequate and worth the stay if you do not want to spend a ton of money on food. Of course, the full kitchen allows you to cook your own meals in. There are plenty of eating establishments right in the area, including Gullah cuisine near a Long Horn--this place has it all when it comes to choices of food, whether you want to stay in Mt. Pleasant or go to Charleston. Try Mosaic in Mt. Pleasant and Blossom in town. The hotel is very close to 24 hour grocery store and the hotel has a service where they will pick up items you need free of charge after you pay for your items.

The hotel has free Internet access, but I have to say this was our only drawback. We stayed in room 326 which is pretty far away from the main desk but perfect for people who want peace and quiet (it was a two bedroom suite.) The room had three beautiful, sunny windows overlooking palm trees. I found the wi-fi worked fine during the day, but in the evening the entire family had difficulty maintaining a connection. The hotel said they have state-of-the-art Internet access, but I just found in room 326 it was not reliable, particularly in the evenings. However, when it worked, it worked really well. The odd that happened is if the kids were watching TV in their room and my husband changed the chanel in the main area, their chanel would change, too, if their door was open. So we adjusted by making sure their door was shut if the chanel was going to be changed. The pool is nice although it was not always clean, but the outdoor patio area was gorgeous. You can even cook out on a grill if you are so inclined. The beds were comfortable and adequate although a bit firm for me. My husband loved them. Maid service was super and efficient. There are three high speed efficiency washers and dryers and we had no trouble washing out clothes. Cost is 1.25 per load. The hotel will give you laundry soap at the front desk if you ask.

The hotel is very close to Boone Hall Plantation--where they filmed "Gone With the Wind," which has still-standing slave quarters; but also consider Magnolia Plantation with the swamp gardens (alligators, herons, egrits, turtles) or Middleton Place with its gorgeous gardens if you are visiting plantations. Most cost 15.00PP to enter. In the city, Calhoun Mansion is a site to behold and the Nathaniel Russell House is an excellent example of a restored home with excellent guides.

I would stay here again in a heartbeat—the ambiance is great, the staff fantastic; the food completely adequate; the rooms very nice; and the location cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room on the 3rd floor. Our room was excellent in its location. Make use of your front desk staff, particularly Marilynd and Valerie. They are more than happy to help you have an excellent stay. Marilynd is a Marriott treasure-I am not sure they know what a treasure they have in her.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank krimar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Too expensive, too far from the city and too far from the beach. On the plus side free Internet and parking. There is a supermarket 24x7 very near, but I believe this is not why you go to a hotel. Breakfast less than average, swimming pool to small. Service not good enough, who gives 1 small bottle of shampoo for 2 people especially as they are not servicing the rooms everyday. old fashion rooms. Less than average of a hotel, especially for the price.

Cheers

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deusel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We've stayed here two years in a row for vacation and already have reservations here for this year's vacation. While residence inns are marketed to business travelers, their rooms work nicely for vacationers like us who like to have the use of a kitchen and a little more space all around. The first year we stayed, the two bedroom suite was available to us via Marriott's point system. The second year it was not, and we had to go with a one bedroom suite. The difference is profound, and if you have a sizable family it might be worth it to cough up the extra money for a two-bedroom. We LOVED the two bedroom suite.

Location is great, right in the heart of Mt. Pleasant shopping (tons of great stores, plus a nice cinema) and a straight 2 mile drive to the beach at Isle of Palms.

Finally, the full breakfast in the morning and the weeknight dinners wind up saving us some welcome food money.

We trust residence inns just about everywhere, but this is one we know from experience, and we love it.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank knoxsox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The Charleston area is one of the hidden gems of a vacation place. This Residence Inn is unique because of its Southern decor, and the hospitality by the staff is off the charts. When you're there, you have downtown Charleston a few miles away, the beach a hop skip and a jump away, and the town of Mount Pleasant which has a few touristy things to do as well. The location is ideal because you practically are staying at the beach, but with their daily breakfast and manager receptions during the week--you hardly have to venture out for food. Not to mention there's a nice outdoor mall with a move theater right next door. I've stayed at practically every Residence Inn there is, and this is the top dog of all. We've vacationed here the last three years in a row.

Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
1  Thank TGrec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews