We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Patriots Point
Ranked #12 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We were generally pleased with the room and the location. Things were clean and comfortable. The breakfast is fine with some variety each day. The eating area is quite small.

The one complaint was when one evening we heard a small waterfall from our bathroom and discovered the flow/leak was coming from the room above us. We attempted to call the desk and they didn't answer. So, I had to get dressed, went to the desk myself and they gave us a new room with no help or other accommodations for our troubles. Housekeeping or maintainence never showed up during this time. They could thank me for putting towels down to prevent a lot more damage! All of their front desk staff showed the same non-smiling attitude to everyone. They need some customer service training or replacements.

The location really is very good. There are so many other places to choose from, though.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ConnieColumbus_OH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (779)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

662 - 668 of 779 reviews

Reviewed March 22, 2012

I booked this on Hotwire and stayed here 5 nights in November 2011. Overall we were pleased for the price. However, the cigarette smell is sickening! It is everywhere and when I would leave the hotel it would stay in my hair and clothes. But the breakfast was good, lots to choose from and there is an attendant that keeps refilling with fresh food. Although it got boring after 5 days. Rooms are kinda old but so what? It was kept clean throughout our stay, and there was plenty of storage and drawers for all our things, plus a mini fridge and microwave which was very helpful. Staff was friendly.

The location is great - very very close to Charleston, and Patriots Point is a long walk or short drive away. Also the rest of Mount Pleasant is only a few minutes drive and the movies are right around the corner. There was no fitness center, which disappointed us because Hotwire assured us there was one, but that is not the fault of Best Western. If you can get a cheap rate, this hotel is a good deal, if you can stand the cigarette smoke smell.

Suggestions for your trip: Run or walk the Ravenel Bridge. You can access the footpath from Patriots Point. Best restaurants we found were Mustard Seed in Mount Pleasant and Coast Bar and Grill in Charleston. We also enjoyed Patriots Point and the USS Yorktown. There is a lesser known Fort Moultrie on Sullivan's Island that was also interesting. Lastly, the beach at Sullivan's Island was beautiful and quiet.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lolaloo22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2012

We spent three nights here in a king suite. Had a breakfast bar/micro/frig/sink in the middle of the room separating the king bed from the couch. Room had updated furnishings, but was rather on the dark side. Smelled cigarette smoke in the hallway and then we thought we smelled it in our non-smoking room. Head housekeeper couldn't explain that, but since the odor dissipated quickly we decided to stay in the room. Staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast area was small and the food wasn't as extensive as some other places we stayed on this trip. This was a great location for visiting Charleston without the high Charleston lodging price.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Lots of good things to say about this hotel, and some criticisms. What's good: location (actually, this was great), value, staff, room cleanliness. Complaints/comments? As mentioned in other comments our room had, or appeared to have, a cigarette smell when we walked in. It dissipated so quickly with our movement and the a/c that I wonder if it was ever there. Also, like others I was at first disappointed with the less than standard size pillows, but they proved not to be a problem to sleep.
One thing to note. Hwy. 17 is undergoing an apparently massive work project. It gets crowded and has detours which can create some challenges to your travel plans.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank klpawl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

This was the first time I have stayed at this location of Best Western. I found the rates and the overall stay to be very pleasing. This use to be a Micro Tel motel and the rooms were some what small, but by no means too small. It is conveniently located to restaurants and other points of interest. Will stay there again.

Room Tip: Choose a double for added room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BILLIE B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

Just got back from a two night stay at the Best Western. Hotel was clean and in a great location to get into Charleston. The bed was okay but, the pillows were only half pillows. What's with that? They were half the size of a standard pillow. The breakfast in the morning was okay very simple with limited food. There is a waffle maker though but more than one would have been good because there was always a line to make a waffle. We had to call the front desk one night around 11 pm because kids were jumping in the room above ours. You could hear people in the always also. We stay in hotels often and never run across this issue. We had a non smoking room but could smell smoke in the hallways. Overall a decent value for the money. I don't think we would stay here again with all the other choices in the area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the third floor. There isn't much insulation between floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank harleymom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2012

We chose Best Western in Mt. Pleasant while visiting Charleston & surrounding areas. Our room had a view of the 'cable' bridge connecting Mt. Pleasant to Charleston & I must say it was a spectacular view when lit at night. Our room was spacious. clean & comfortable. During our three week stay we encountered the friendliest BW staff. The hotel is just a short distance from Charleston, the beach, unique shopping & some of the best restaurants we've ever dined. Each evening after returning from our day of sight seeing we were greeted with a very clean room, fresh linens, clean towels & extras. I can't say enough good things about Best Western Patriots Point. The hotel is just a hop & a skip from Patriots Point Naval Museum so we visited a number of occasions...there's just so much to see. Also, just a couple of blocks away is a Whole Food Market & a theatre that serves dinner while you take in a movie.

Room Tip: If you are a BW member, ask for an upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Monique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#20 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
387 reviews
4.6 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
256 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
303 reviews
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
2.7 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Patriots Point

Address: 259 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2983
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $84 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Patriots Point 2.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will enjoy this hotel's convenient access to the Charleston Historic District without paying downtown Charleston hotel rates. Located in the heart of Mount Pleasant, the Best Western Patriots Point is only minutes away from the beautiful Historic District where visitors can stroll along the cobble-stone streets, shop and dine in beautiful Charleston. Hotel guests will also find Patriots Point Maritime Museum, Fort Sumter and the Patriots Point Golf Course and Marina nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Otel, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Best Western
Best Western Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing