We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Mount Pleasant
Post
Inbox
Search

“Has potential”

SAVI Cucina + Wine Bar
Ranked #160 of 362 Restaurants in Mount Pleasant
Price range: $15 - $35
Description: Conveniently located in Mount Pleasant's Town Center, SAVI Cucina + Wine Bar features house-made pastas while highlighting local seafood and classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine and beverage program with something for everyone. Stop by the wine bar for a wine flight and charcuterie, or grab a table and enjoy whole grilled branzino in the bright, elegant space.
Restaurant details
Description: Conveniently located in Mount Pleasant's Town Center, SAVI Cucina + Wine Bar features house-made pastas while highlighting local seafood and classic Italian dishes. We offer an extensive wine and beverage program with something for everyone. Stop by the wine bar for a wine flight and charcuterie, or grab a table and enjoy whole grilled branzino in the bright, elegant space.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stopped in on a weekday evening for our first visit. First the good - They have a very impressive wine list, the food selections we had were pretty good and I really like the wine bar they’ve added.

The downsides - the decor is fairly stark which makes the noise level problematic. We quite literally couldn’t hear over the tables near us. The staff seemed either uninspired or disconnected. For example, the host who seated us did so without uttering a single audible sentence.

So the food was decent but not significantly distinguishable from other options in the area, the dining room is a bit stark and artificially noisy and the staff may need a little encouragement. It really wouldn’t take much for the place to be very good but it also wouldn’t take much to go in the other direction.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Pacorulz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (10)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 10 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2020

A lot of restaurants have come and gone from this location, in town center across from the movie theater and spa, so we all pray that this dedicated young couple will be so successful and manage to stay for the long haul.

They did a great overhaul making it intimate without being dark, with big windows to the streetscape and a warn, welcoming bar and tables at the entrance. The only drawback might be that they need a few more sound absorption panels, but then every restaurant is loud so people feel that everyone else is having fun.
This is a mostly northern-Italy focused menu with a well-curated wine list - it ought to be with 3 certified sommelliers on staff - and, about once a month they offer wine pairing dinners showcasing a particular winery. Wines by the glass, by the bottle, and then there's a cellar list too.

The other night when we were there to eat with friends, they had a winery form Paso Robles running one in the main dining room, so we sat towards the back. Our waiter was professional, knowledgeable, and just what we needed.

We had the meatballs (you choose by the meatball as many as you wish); the grilled octopus (which even those of us who don't generally like octopus had to admit was tasty and tender and well worth eating), and some of the best calamari any of us have ever eaten because it had the lightest batter, was perfectly fried, not one piece was overdone or underdone, and a lemon aioli sauce (we had to ask the waiter to get us a little more because it was so delicious! - we all consider ourselves calamari aficianados.

We followed that with their version of bolognese (all pork on cavatelli rather than more typical tagliatele) and an extremely generous portion; seafood ravioli which was one of the best and a perfect portion size, especially for women; the eggplant parmesan, which is a specialty there and a gigantic portion - easily shared or take home for another meal; and the oricchiette with a lemony ricotta sauce. We were all super pleased, very full, and so happy we had come to eat that night.

We finished this wonderful dinner off with a scoop of home made gelato, tiramisu (another house specialty) and olive oil cake, which was the moistest most delicious three slices of "pound"cake you've eaten in ages.

Add to it, the fact that the sweet owner came by to see how our meal was and what she could do to improve or enhance our meal - and you couldn't feel more welcome, better served, or satisfied about having chosen a place to dine. we were all so pleased, it will be our new go-to place for some time to come if they can keep this up.

Don't miss it. Go patronize them! Keep them here.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank VirginiaCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2020

Great new addition to Mount Pleasant! I have been looking forward to its opening and had high hopes for a consistently good Italian restaurant in the area. The renovations to the space were extensive, and the inside was beautiful. Service was excellent, and our server, John, was very knowledgeable about the menu and wine list despite the restaurant being brand new.

There were too many interesting choices on the wine list to pick just one, so we opted to get a couple wine flights. The wine was all excellent, and I can't wait to go to a Tuesday wine tasting. Our meal was delicious. The highlight for me were the arancini and the eggplant parmesan. I would love to try something else next time, but it might be too tempting to get that eggplant parm again. I will definitely return to Savi!

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tiamaria529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

A very nice offering, mostly Italian dishes, and an unusually robust wine list reminiscent of some NYC restaurants. The octopus and buratta starters were nicely done. Tiramisu was very light. Veal saltimbocca was not available that night, but the four entrees at our table were all nicely done. A knowledgeable sommelier with some hidden Tuscan gems on the list. One drawback is noise. The place is nicely decorated with a fair amount of glass walls which need to be balanced by sound baffling in the ceiling. Our foursome had trouble hearing normal conversation. The restaurant full qualifies as fine dining except for the noise - a correctable problem. We wish them well

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank jbwfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2019 via mobile

Savi Cucina is located in Town Center Mall across from the Regal Palmetto Theaters in Mt. Pleasant. The wine and food menus are varied and interesting. The wine bar area is fun and accommodating for all size groups. Great selection of both Italian and domestic wines.
The dining area is “family-friendly” with very attentive service.
From in-house made pasta dishes, fish and steaks to gourmet pizzas that are worth the visit. Prices are average ($$) and parking is readily available.
Open from lunch to dinner (11:00-10:00)

Date of visit: December 2019
1  Thank Curtrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed SAVI Cucina + Wine Bar also viewed

Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to SAVI Cucina + Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing