We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wambaw Creek Blackwater paddle”
Review of Nature Adventures

Nature Adventures
Ranked #1 of 32 Tours in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Charleston’s Absolute Best Kayak & Canoe tour company. University Degreed Naturalist Guides, Coastal and River Kayak ACA Instructors. Sea or Recreational Kayaks or Canoes. See Dolphins and Pelicans at eye level! Blackwater Swamps with old growth Cypress, Rice Plantations, Barrier Islands, Saltmarsh Creeks, Shrimping Villages & Indian Ruins. Families & Beginners Welcome! “Recommended Outfitter” –National Geographic, On Site Location. Closest company to Charleston! .
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Wambaw Creek Blackwater paddle”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We went on a guided kayaking trip to Wambaw Creek; one of the Blackwater creeks in the Francis Marion National Forest. Fascinating! The guide met us ay the appointed time and location, the equipment was excellent, and his instructions to novice paddlers was patient and clear. Children above about 10 can do this in a tandem 2 seat kayak with an adult. We had a great time and the guide was superb.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cavu F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureAdventures, Owner at Nature Adventures, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Sharing your review with us on Wambaw Creek is greatly appreciated. We're very passionate about what's around us, so sharing our knowledge and showing you a great time is what we're all about. We hope to have you back sometime soon!

All the best,

Kathie Livingston, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    18
    5
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, SC
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very fun! We saw Dolphins!”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We rented 2 Kayaks. $35 each for 4.5 hours! Very fun! They show you how to paddle, give you a map and let you take off! We went up Shem creek and around the harbor a bit. Tide was out so we couldn't do as much adventuring as we would have liked. Parked the Kayaks at the dock and ran into Reds to get a couple of beers for the trek! Great relaxing fun! DO IT!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank baruba_juba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureAdventures, Owner at Nature Adventures, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thanks for your kind review here on TripAdvisor. I'm so happy to hear how much you enjoyed kayaking with us. It's always gratifying to see "very fun" describing our customers' experience! I look forward to passing this along to your guides, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

All the best,

Kathie Livingston, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ignore the last review - wonderful experience”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I don't normally post on tripadvisor, but I was on the same 3 hour trip as the previous reviewer and wanted to address a few points...

1. The trip is advertised as a 3 hour trip - you booked and paid for a 3 hour trip - why would you then come online and complain that it was too long for your children. 3 hours for the cost is excellent value and frankly any less would have been less enjoyable. plus - having to listen to your child moan constantly from the second he got in the kayak was pretty much infuriating.

2. "No wildlife" - sorry but did you actually look around you, we saw tons of birds, alligators, nests and the trees and facts about them were well explained by our guide.

3. The guide - my friend and I both spoke after the trip about how he provided good factual informative info about the flora and fauna & history of the area without being intrusive and letting us enjoy the scenery for ourselves... He pointed out lots of birds & their nests & the alligators and was happy to answer all questions. Maybe on said trip he was quiet because we had to constantly listen to "why do we have to be in a swamp for 4 hours" - I'm sure it was more than mildly insulting to him.

For anyone who wants a kayak trip through beautiful, quiet scenery with a guide who knows his stuff this is the trip for you.
It is exactly as advertised on the webside and HIGHLY recommended.

And to the people who came on here & bashed the tour & guide with mostly lies - if you didnt like it, that was your own fault not anything to do with NAO who provided my friend & I with an excellent, thoroughly enjoyable trip on the same day as you.

Anyway great trip, great value, thanks!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Volvic99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureAdventures, Owner at Nature Adventures, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Thanks for supporting us, and for taking the time to review us on TripAdvisor. I'm thrilled to hear how much you enjoyed your kayak trip with us. We were quite surprised to hear the prior review as well. It was our first negative review, so I greatly appreciate your input on the same tour. John is an outstanding guide and even when he retired as the U.S. Forest Service Naturalist/ Forester, he wanted to continue to share his love and expert knowledge or the outdoors! We would love to have you come and paddle with us again soon.

All the best,

Kathie Livingston, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Park City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not as advertised”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

We did the Wambaw Creek 3 hour tour. Our guide seemed uninterested in our group, and tired of guiding generally. T tour was way too long, especially for kids. Be careful when you book online, as you pay in full, and then the guide insisted on a second payment at the end of the trip. I don't think they will charge our credit cards again, but now I have to check. The tour itself was not very interesting and we did not see much in the way of wildlife or birds. We were hoping to see birds and nests as advertised, but it was just 3 hours of paddling up the swamp with the scenery never changing. Might be good for 1 hour, but certainly not for 3.
Our group was thoroughly unimpressed.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Blueski1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureAdventures, Owner at Nature Adventures, responded to this review, June 24, 2013
Dear Brabson Family,
I am sorry you were disappointed in the tour. Wambaw Creek Wilderness Area is a place we've had repeat paddlers come to for over 15 years so this is a huge surprise to us. Recently, there were thunderstorms and rain so some of the bird life may have been a little quiet due to the recent stormy conditions. Your guide, however, said that on your tour there were prothonotary warblers, woodpeckers, vireos and a couple nests with baby yellow crowned night herons, so at least there were some birds. Having said that, the swamp itself has several thousand year old towering Bald Cypress trees and was designated a protected Wilderness Area by the Sierra Club because of it's incredible beauty. The wildlife is reflective of both the flora and fauna and part of the experience is the quiet serenity. I am however, sorry it was not what you expected. As far as the guide seeming uninterested, he is a senior, professional naturalist and has had all incredible reviews and is asked to lead tours by several Universities and Environmental groups, so I'm sorry he seemed that way to you. I will certainly address this with him although I've never had to. As far as getting your credit card number, there was no receipt given to him at the landing by your party and sometimes folks show up thinking they had paid over the phone, so he was told to get credit card numbers from clients who do not turn in or show a receipt, just in case. We have not charged your card for the tour amount as you did pay online. Despite your disappointment, we do however greatly appreciate the $25 tip you left our guide so hopefully it wasn't a total disappointment. I appreciate your feedback and once again I am sorry this experience was not what you were expecting.

Kathie Livingston, Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great Paddle!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We went on the morning 3-hour kayak trip of Shem Creek and Crab bank. The kayaks and equipment is in good condition. The staff extremely helpful. We had a fantastic tour leader who ensured we received plenty of information about the areas we kayaked. I highly recommend this tour.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhody_Adventurer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatureAdventures, Owner at Nature Adventures, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
So glad you had a nice time. We love our clients and we love what we do! Come back and see us sometime.
Kathie Livingston,
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Adventures also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Nature Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing