We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Ranked #7 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2010

Jewelry stolen from room. Filed police report. Bert front desk and Steve Lavelle management no help. Key cards would not work often. Had to have new ones. Our room was entered with key card while we were on dinner cruise. Also over charged and as of today they have not cleared this up. Too much trouble to book in this
Inn" Fridge and coffee maker did not work. Moved us for fridge and brought new coffe maker. Not a relaxing place just frustrating.

Stayed: April 2010, traveled with friends
6  Thank Cochran68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2010

It is very regrettable that any guest would experience any issues with an alleged lost or stolen item during a stay at our wonderful property. We help and do all that we can to assist in such incidents. Once the staff was notified of the alleged incident a police report was filed. One of the first steps our staff takes is to ask resolution to reported missing item. It is a practiced procedure for us to offer and phone the police in order to file a report if there is no resolution to a missing item. A lock audit trail report was processed on the door. This is a specific report that reads each individual key from employee to management that would have accessed guest room throughout the entire hotel. It showed only the guest keys and the head housekeeping key was used during the stay in which the only time the head of housekeeping used her key the guest were present. After the lock audit trail was processed the guest had full knowledge that no key had entered the room other than themselves and the housekeeper which the guests were present during the time of entering the room. The lock audit trail was explained to the guest so there was no confusion on the matter. Safety deposit boxes are available at our property at no cost for our guest to use. The bill was reimbursed the same day of the departure date. The guest did physically have a copy of the bill in which on the day of the departure did have a credit issued by the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our management team was later contacted by the guest and we helped explain that during the process of a reimbursement it may take several business days before a credit will be issued back to the account depending on the bank. The management at the property went as far as to not only call the credit card company and our merchant vendor to see when the credit would be processed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (735)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

705 - 711 of 735 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2010

Arrived several hours before check in, front desk staff took pity on this very travel weary family. Our room was ready and we were pleasantly surprised. Assigned a 2 queen bed suite with a queen sleeper sofa. Room was complete with desk, chair, LCD TV, sitting area, fridge and microwave in the kitchenette. Bath room was well appointed and large. Room was clean and had a view of the river/bridge Charleston skyline. Outdoor pool area was quiet and relaxing however water was not heated so was too chilly for kids to enjoy. Location of hotel is within walking distance to river park, Whole Foods and several restaurants. Charleston is a 5 minute ride over the bridge by car. Beds were amazingly comfortable, fine linens were luxurious and room was VERY quiet. Complimentary breakfast was delicious, and staff was friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mdr67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded April 28, 2010

We want to thank you for your review! Our staff is pleased to ensure that all of our guest expectations are met during their stay. We are happy that we were able to meet your needs for an early arrival considering the long traveling day your family endured. We look forward to your next stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2010

My wife and I stayed here for two nights in March as our base for exploring the Charleston area. Getting there is very easy from the highway and is very close to downtown Charleston.

The rooms were very spacious and our room was very quiet. My only gripe with this place is the breakfast. The room is not big enough and the breakfast area is understaffed. Additionally, breakfast ends at 930a, too early for most people. As a result, there are too many people in the breakfast area and the staff cannot keep anything stocked. I went down both mornings to empty coffee and no eggs. For such a nice hotel, this is something that needs to be addressed.

Regardless, I would stay here again. I don't eat big breakfasts and that would not deter me from staying here again.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. Our staff is proud to serve our guest to meet all of their expectations to ensure they have a wonderful stay. We have added another person to assist with breakfast in the mornings because of the volume of guests. We are already awaiting your return to the area and hope you choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites next time your traveling!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 21, 2010

Usual accommodations were booked up so tried this Holiday Inn Express. Found this stay to be pleasant. Room seemed brand new. Great comfortable bedding. Extremely clean and staff was very helpful and friendly. Like the location and would stay again but would be nice if they would offer discounts to students and parents at the College of Charleston as many surrounding hotels do. Given room on back overlooking pool area and the room was nice and quiet. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundaySeeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind review! We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us during your visit to the Mt. Pleasant area. We hope to see you again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2010

The Good:
Beautiful room, super comfortable bed and pillows, free wireless

The Bad:
If you have a room facing the main street, you can hear every single car that goes by. Knowing that car sounds bother me, we called ahead and were assured we would be in a room facing away from the street. Instead, we were directly facing the road, and could barely sleep. Since the hotel is new, if you try to keep the heater or A/C on to block out the sound, you are soon sweltering or freezing, since the heater and A/C work so well! I finally stumbled down to reception around 5am begging for another room, and would told we would be contacted later in the morning, but no one ever got back to us. Since we weren't about to give up our one day in Charleston to wait to switch rooms, we bought Nyquil and drugged ourselves to sleep that night. Otherwise, I doubt we would have slept much at all.

Also, good breakfast spread, but the "bacon" is sliced so thin you can actually see right through it, is super greasy, and tastes like nothing. Eggs were gone an hour before breakfast closed.

Lastly, the front desk knows nothing about the area and area restaurants. Their recommendations are useless! Better to use the internet and search for stuff on your own.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BubblyNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded April 13, 2010

It is very unfortunate to hear of the experience you incountered during your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites. If you do decide to visit the area again I want to encourage you to contact me directly at the property and I would be more than happy to make sure your stay goes well. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful room as well as the comfortable beds that we have at the property. Please come visit us again in Mt. Pleasant!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2010

Wife and I stayed there on a Friday and Saturday night. Hotel is quiet and clean with everything new. Sarah the desk clerk was super nice--efficient and helpful. Also noticed that the manager was there a lot and working. He runs a tight ship. The breakfast on Saturday and Sunday was very good and the breakfast area was kept very clean and well stocked by the lady who worked there. Also, the coffee was the best hotel coffee I have ever had. Good fitness center with all new equipment. We found a great little seafood place in Mount Pleasant called Locklear's. So our stay was very nice. This hotel is the gold standard that all others should try to copy.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GeorgiaRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Thank you so very much for your review! Our staff is pleased that you enjoyed your time with us during your visit to Mt. Pleasant SC. We hope that you choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites next time when you are planning your vacation!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2010

Our family just retuned from a trip to Charleston and stayed at the Holiday Inn Express. Just 10 minutes from downtown Charleston, Sullivan's Island and the USS Hunley, this hotel also is walking distance to great restaurants and Whole Foods! The hotel was super clean and is a green hotel, which is nice. The only downside was that the hotel was completely full this weekend and the water never got really hot. And there was a fire alarm at 7am that resulted in many guest scurrying to the parking lot in their pjs!
The staff, without a doubt, made this trip wonderful. They were very concerned about any unpleasant events and made amends. Bert at the front desk was always kind and very helpful. The housekeepers were also very friendly! We actually felt like family by the end of our trip! The breakfast was very good. Many hot items including bacon, sausage, eggs and biscuits and gravy. Plenty of healthy choices too..boiled eggs, yogurt, whole wheat bread. Why pay more for a hotel and parking in downtown Charleston when you can get this kind of service and clean, comfortable, new rooms?
Thanks so much for making our trip wonderful! We loved your hotel and will be back!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmrzwyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bgriggs, Front Desk Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2010

Thank you so much for your kind review of our hotel at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites, Mt. Pleasant SC! Our staff takes pride in helping the guest have a wonderful experience whether it is for business or pleasure. We hope that the hotel met all your expectations even though you had the small inconvience of the firm alarm that Sunday. We truley look forward to your next visit to the Charleston area and hope you choose the Holiday Inn Express & Suites!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Ple...
#16 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
158 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Address: 350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#4 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $134 - $260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Mount Pleasant, SC Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located at the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, only 3 miles from Historic Charleston, SC. Providing Southern charm and hospitality to business and leisure travelers alike, the newly designed state-of-the-art property is the first LEED certified hotel in South Carolina - which allows our guests the opportunity to take part in the new “green” initiatives. Situated between Isle of Palms, SC (one of the top 10 beaches of the South according to Southern Living), and Historic Downtown Charleston, SC, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites is within walking distance to the new Mt. Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park and perfectly positioned for exploring all of Charleston’s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing