We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really nice hotel for the money, but the walls.......” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Really nice hotel for the money, but the walls.......”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

Stayed at the Express on a Sunday and Monday night. First the good....staff was outstanding, from the front desk on down. For the price I paid, I feel that I got a great deal. Location is perfect for a short ride into Downtown Charleston. Room was large and very clean. Bathroom was upscale with marble and granite. Pool area, while small, was cozy and relaxing. Continental breakfast was an enjoyable bonus. Now the bad....the walls, in my room anyway, are paper thin. The snoring from the room next door was so loud it sounded like he/she was in the bed next to me. Kept me up from 4 a.m. on. And the parents with the kids in the room next to ours should have be scoulded themselves. Come on, control your kids folks. it's a hotel for pete sakes, not a playground. Management should have taken control of the situation. Would I stay there again? Absolutely. Would I recommend it to a friend? Absolutely. Just bring ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you had issues with the noise level. We try to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and enjoy their stay. We certainly would have addressed any noise complaints that we received. I am glad you enjoyed the other aspects of your stay though, and I hope the you will stay with us again should you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    202
    64
    20
    8
See reviews for
261
228
25
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen Park, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

First things first, I have stayed in rooms of all types and prices from a Motel 6 to The Peninsula. When I vacation travel I love to splurge a little and save a little. In the first half of my Charleston second honeymoon I stayed downtown in a high end Inn. It was a perfect landing point to explore the city. In part two, when we hit the plantations, Kiawah Island, Sullivan's Island, Dolphin watching etc... The Holiday Inn Express made a lot more sense.. This particular Holiday Inn Express almost made us feel like a downtown Charleston Hotel moved out to Mt. Pleasant. The location was perfect for day trips; just near the major roads; the lobby and rooms were scaled up well past the price; the beds were cozy and the major amenities were all there; the staff was exceptionally helpful and friendly ; and even the breakfast was better that your typical freebie. Overall , I was quite impressed and will definitely return. This place put other hotels in it's class to shame. Only minor gripe: access to the highway is a little weird.

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JakeDwyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, April 19, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review of your time with us. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Mt. Pleasant/ Charleston is a beautiful area and I'm so glad you got to see so many of the local sites. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
69 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This hotel is in the best location, right at the base of the bridge on the Mt. Pleasant side: 5 minutes to water taxis, harbor tours, 10 minutes to Shem Creek retaurants/Mt. Pleasant historic district, 15 minutes to downtown Charleston. The staff was very helpful and cheerful, great with giving directions and restaurant choices. Breakfast was surprisingly good, great coffee and quite entertaining (watching people waiting for their little pancake to roll out of the machine). Room was alright, good sized, had a microwave and fridge. We had trouble keeping the a/c at a comfortable temperature but I think that was because it was far from the thermostat to the unit. Not sure the room was really cleaned well, the bottom sheet and pad underneath kept coming off the top of the bed and there were streaks on the bedside tables. Wish the pool had been open but it had just begun to warm up. Since the Charleston area isn't a place you are going to spend much time in the room other than sleeping, this hotel was a good choice for us.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ALH59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, England
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Warm welcome from excellent reception staff.Large room with efficient air con.Beds very comfortable .we stayed for 3 nights but the bed was only thrown over rather tha n properly made on days 2&3.The sun was shining in when we arrived and showed up the surfaces that hadn't been dusted that day.Bathroom was large and well cleaned ,toiletries were not replaced every day.Breakfast was good.Nice to have a variety of dishes on different days.Tea & coffee available all day which is really nice if you are a Brit & like your tea!!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spendingitnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

This was an extremely clean hotel. Also, the staff were very nice and hospitable. The free internet, continental breakfasts, and afternoon cookies were definitely nice additions to our stay. We also liked that this hotel was in a convenient location - it was no more than 15 minutes away from Downtown Charleston, IOP, North Charleston, etc.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pert5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I've headed Customer Services over 20 years and implemented many, "Secrete Shopper" programs. Although this stay was strictly recreational, some CS habits are hard to break. Management was excellent with all services including express check in and out, directions, attractions, restaurants and believe it or not -Downtown History lol (
The room/personal services were excellent with a quite and very helpful team that kept the customers needs first. Even a cook name AJA provided directions on where to park and jog across the the A. Ravenel Bridge.
Location is within walking distance of Starbucks, restaurants, fast foods and grocery but the Continental Breakfast was best start of the day!
* Management even passed a pre-reservation no-refund test!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

It was very clean and looks like a newer property. We liked the location in a nice part of town across the bridge from historic district. Great outdoor mall area a mile or so down Johnnie Dodds Blvd. Nice places to eat nearby. Shrimp Boat Lane nearby is a good area to find seafood. Being able to go downstairs and get hot bacon, eggs and biscuits saved us time and money in the mornings. Yes, the weekend rate is a bit high...but the weeknight rate we got brought our average rate down to 137 per night. Compared to staying downtown in historic Charleston, it's a GREAT deal. Also, our last day we found an amazing breakfast spot nearby for something different...Charleston Cafe. UNREAL menu!!! We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Entering and exiting parking lot can be confusing at first as the property doesn't have a main e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ReaganSimmons, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. I am glad to hear that you found our location convenient to all of our lovely, local attractions. Charleston's Cafe is a wonderful little place, I am so glad you enjoyed it. I hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Ple...
#16 of 23 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Address: 350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#4 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Mount Pleasant, SC Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located at the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, only 3 miles from Historic Charleston, SC. Providing Southern charm and hospitality to business and leisure travelers alike, the newly designed state-of-the-art property is the first LEED certified hotel in South Carolina - which allows our guests the opportunity to take part in the new “green” initiatives. Situated between Isle of Palms, SC (one of the top 10 beaches of the South according to Southern Living), and Historic Downtown Charleston, SC, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites is within walking distance to the new Mt. Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park and perfectly positioned for exploring all of Charleston’s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing