We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Hotel Accommodations in Mount Pleasant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Ranked #8 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
“Spacious Hotel Accommodations in Mount Pleasant”
Reviewed May 20, 2011

We recently stayed at this hotel for two nights while we were visiting Charleston. The hotel is in excellent condition, and our roomy and spacious King Suite was a joy to return to at the end of a tiring day of sightseeing. Their free Fresh Start Breakfast Bar was amply stocked, and the dining area was very clean. Their outside courtyard with pool was a welcome oasis at which to relax. Whatsmore, the hotel was conveniently located to a number of restaurants and shopping. In fact, there is a Sticky Fingers restaurant located directly across the street from the hotel, and about 4 miles down the road, there is also a lovely new shopping complex called the Mt. Pleasant Town Centre. Also, if you are planning on taking the water taxi to Charleston, the marina/harbor is located less than 5 minutes from the hotel. The front desk was very helpful when asked for directions. All in all, we were very happy staying at this hotel and would highly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beautifuldreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slknutson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, June 4, 2011
We are thrilled to hear about your good experience staying with us! Our staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites here in Mount Pleasant is dedicated to keeping the property looking new and making your time away from home still feel comforting. It is very easy to enjoy the local area with such favorites as you mentioned- Towne Centre a short drive down 17 for some great shopping and of course the local restaurants such as Sticky Fingers (who even delivers if you don’t feel like going out!) Thank you for the kind recommendation and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    421
    211
    66
    20
    9
See reviews for
276
239
26
60
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2011

We stayed here for one night after a long day of exploring Charleston's plantations. Our first impression was a bit disappointing. I guess I expected the location to be a bit more walking friendly- but it was on the side of a main road, overlooking chain restaurants and the like.. the room was very nice, as was the bedding- the mattress was very good for sleeping, and overall it was quiet- except for the slamming doors throughout the night.
The continental breakfast was OK, but best to bring the food back to the room, as the lobby was completely full.
the only real issue i had was the honesty of the housekeeps, or whomever cleans the rooms. we had left a full bottle of liquor in the minifridge, along with other beverages... when we checked out we forget all about them and drove off to Charleston. about an hour later we realized and called the hotel to see if the room had been cleaned. we were told it had not and we were more than welcome to come back and retrieve the items. after the 20 minute drive we arrived and went it to get it.. my boyfriend was inside for 20 more mins and then came out with everythign but the liquor. he spoke to the housekeepers who said nothing had been touched- were we sure we left it there?, etc... i could understand if eveything was gone- as a result of them cleanign the room.. but everything was there except the expensive, full bottle of liquor. it was very disappointing to feel as though we had been swindled....

Room Tip: make sure you take everything before checking out!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matanda28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2011

This was our first stay at the Holiday Inn Express Mount Pleasant, but it will not be our last. The hotel is expertly appointed with a modern flare that we loved. Our room was clean, comfy and nicely decorated. Our free breakfast was much more than expected and even included eggs, breakfast meat, biscuits, gravy, fruit, and a variety of beverages. Thank you for such a great weekend!!!

Room Tip: King Executive Suite is perfect!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gould1102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slknutson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
From the entire staff here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Mt. Pleasant, we wanted to say “You are Welcome!” and of course, thank you also for choosing to stay with us. We understand our guests have a choice in where they will be spending their vacation / weekend away / business trip and are very happy that our guests are continually pleased with their choice to stay with us. With our property only being a year and a half old it has all of the modern conveniences the traveler has come to expect with, as you said, a “modern flare”. Thank you for visiting us and we look forward to having you return for maybe even longer then a weekend!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2011

Great place. Spacious & immaculately clean room. Pool & surrounding areas are beautiful & a relaxing retreat. Front desk very friendly & helpful. Breakfast had a very good selection from fresh pancakes, eggs & bacon, to fresh fruit yogurts & cereals. Location very convenient to Charleston, shopping, beaches & attractions. Differently check out the park & pier near by. Would definitely recommend this place & would stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2campNc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slknutson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, May 31, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to write about our property and its many features! With the summer weather already here, Mount Pleasant Waterfront Park is a great place to take the kids for the playground and snack shack. If fishing or sightseeing is your thing, the pier is the perfect fishing spot and stop by the Mount Pleasant Visitor’s Center on your way out so you know what to check out next! We’re happy to hear you enjoyed the view on the Courtyard / Pool side of the building and hope you were able to make good use of them in this heat, too! Thank you for the kind words and we look forward to having you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2011

:) It's so clean and nice. Jessica was the person who helped my wife and I check in around 4pm—what a kind, knowledgable, helpful employee. She offered us coupons for local eateries and everything. My wife and I were surprised to see her at her post later that night (I mean LATE) assisting other guests as well. These people work hard and are worthy of the high marks they get. What a great value for a place less than 10 minutes away from many downtown Charleston destinations! Choosing this place to stay again is the easy part.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estaples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slknutson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
I am always pleased to hear great compliments about my staff at the Front Desk! The Front Desk staff strives to be knowledgeable about the area from answering questions about our property to suggestions and directions to the best dinner you have ever eaten. We pride ourselves on being mini 'Charleston tour guides' to make each of our guest’s trips unique, seamless and comfortable. Thank you so much for taking the time to comment on our staff and your experience here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites in Mount Pleasant. We hope to see you soon and help you on the hard part… deciding what to do while you’re here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida City, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2011

I had the great misfortune of staying at this hotel last month and I'm just now getting to writing this. This hotel is disgusting. I recently completed my master's degree and wanted to meet some friends in Charleston to celebrate and enjoy a vacation. I should have just asked for a refund when I got there and noticed the torn sheets. Obviously, Holiday Inn doesn't care very much about the state of their hotel and CERTAINLY don't care very much about their guests either. I actually booked another room the SAME NIGHT, based on the rude counter-help and disheveled state of the room - and made a GREAT find at the Days Inn. Much better value! Anyway, back to the Express. I came home and called their customer service and was actually YELLED AT BY THEIR CUSTOMER SERVICE REPRESENTATIVE!!!!! ARE YOU KIDDING ME? This company is a joke. I'd pass if I were you.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank owenp002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mhaywoodr, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, April 29, 2011
Good afternoon,

Let me first and foremost apologize for the unfortunate housekeeping situation you experienced upon your arrival. I can most certainly understand your disappointment. Especially since you were here to celebrate such a joyous occasion. (Congratulations on your graduation by the way!)

Here at the award-winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites, we take pride in our service and cleanliness. So you can understand my surprise to hear that we did not meet the high standard we set for our selves as well as the high standard we anticipate our loyal guests to expect.

I would also like to apologize for the desk associate that did not deliver the utmost service and southern hospitality we pride ourselves on.

Furthermore, I am very sorry to hear that you had such a negative experience with an IHG customer service representative. I plan on contacting them immediately with this complaint in order to never have this sort of thing happen again.

I would be extremely grateful if you wouldn't mind calling or emailing me directly so that I can understand further who the desk associate may have been as well as the housekeeping staff on that particular day so that we can ensure consistent and excellent service. I would also like to extend to you a reimbursement of some sort. Whether it be from your past bill, or a discounted rate I can extend on a future stay so that we may earn your loyalty and your business.

Sincere apologies,

Haywood Robinson
Assistant General Manager / Director of Sales
Holiday inn Express & Suites
Mt. Pleasant - Charleston, SC
843-376-2600
hrobinson@charlestownehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Horeb
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2011

This newer property (about a year old) was our home away from home for a week late in March. Charleston's historic district is located just across the river. A water taxi takes tourists across the river for a nominal fee, if you don't want to hassle parking or the one-way streets.
In addition to Charleston proper, it is a take off point for the many plantations that grace the area. Charleston Tea Plantation is about 25 minutes from downtown Charleston and is worth a visit, especially if you enjoy a cup of tea. Plenty of shopping is nearby, too. Rain or shine, you'll find Mt. Pleasant fine.

Room Tip: on-line pricing has the best rate, weekends more
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
slknutson, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston, responded to this review, May 10, 2011
So good of you to touch on the points of interest around not only our hotel, but Charleston and its historical value as well. Our award winning Holiday Inn Express & Suites is located only a 10 minute drive to Boone Hall or if you prefer- Magnolia, Drayton and Middle Place Plantat6ions are a scenic 20-25 minute drive away. The Plantations are absolutely gorgeous this time of year and are an absolute “must see” for the first time Charleston traveler! Downtown is always bustling, especially with the warm weather, great restaurants, music and entertainment- there is always something going on for all ages. I’m glad you made it out to the tea plantation also. Though it’s a slightly longer drive then most of the area attractions it’s a very unique experience. Thank you for the kind words and we’d be happy to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
2.5 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
246 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Pleasant
Holiday Inn Charleston-Mount Ple...
#14 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Address: 350 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2931
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#4 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston 2.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The brand new Mount Pleasant, SC Holiday Inn Express and Suites is located at the foot of the Cooper River Bridge, only 3 miles from Historic Charleston, SC. Providing Southern charm and hospitality to business and leisure travelers alike, the newly designed state-of-the-art property is the first LEED certified hotel in South Carolina - which allows our guests the opportunity to take part in the new “green” initiatives. Situated between Isle of Palms, SC (one of the top 10 beaches of the South according to Southern Living), and Historic Downtown Charleston, SC, the Holiday Inn Express and Suites is within walking distance to the new Mt. Pleasant Memorial Waterfront Park and perfectly positioned for exploring all of Charleston’s attractions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing