We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful southern landscape and comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Oaks Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The rooms were well insulated and very clean. The decorations were lovely. The hosts were very comfortable. We loved the screened in porch that looked over the marsh at sunset. The food was delicious and fairly healthy. I can't think of how our experience could have been improved except by adding a couple more nights - it was a lovely stay. It is about a 15 minute drive to Charleston and seems like a good, affordable option for staying nearby the city.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GradStudentSpouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
There are newer reviews for Plantation Oaks Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 140 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2010

I can't speak highly enough of this place, and Steve! The rooms were beautiful and comfortable and Steve was a perfect host!

The B&B is right next to Boone Hall Plantation and has a backyard that overlooks the water. There is a great screened in porch that we enjoyed for a while as well as an uncovered deck that overlooks the water. They also have a dock that juts out into the marshy area and it was so peaceful to sit on after an amazing breakfast.

We love that breakfast was in a central area, so we could mingle with other guests but the tables are set up into 2 tables or 4 - perfect to enjoy the delicious breakfast with a friend/spouse without feeling compelled to include all the other guests in your conversation. The view of the river and the magnolia tree - the perfect southern getaway!

We had to come into town early to do a photo shoot and Steve allowed us to check in hours early in order to get things done - and was always right around the corner to help us or answer any questions.

The room was VERY quiet and that bed - it was hands down THE most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I need to remember to ask Steve the brand and type - I want it in my own house!

Steve and the Plantation Oaks B&B are a true gem in Mt. Pleasant and the prices are very reasonable for the amazing stay. We actually were upgraded from our room (the smallest) to the largest room because no one else was staying that weekend.

The breakfast was AWESOME! We first had a fresh yogurt parfait, followed by a warm ham egg and cheese panini on home-made rosemary bred, and finally a divine blueberry crisp dessert. The breakfast in itself is worth a good $25 of the cost of the room.

STAY HERE. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsTravel_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2010

The view of the tidal creek was amazing, and we enjoyed it every morning of our stay from the breakfast room while eating a scrumptious breakfast. Breakfast is served b/w 8-10, whenever you are ready. Our room was comfortable and very clean. Steve was very helpful with easier directions to our destinations.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeffrie99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

Plantation Oaks Inn is outside the urban area of Charleston and Mt. Pleasant and away from the beaches. However, this is of great benefit, because we wanted to do so much in the area and Plantation Oaks is nearby the freeway that will lead into Charleston, to the beaches at Sullivan Island, to Patriot's Point and westward to the historic plantations. Also, it is immediately beside Boone Hall Plantation and Charles Pinckney National Historic Site. We had no trouble getting to any of these destinations from Plantation Oaks.

Phyllis and Steve are incredible hosts; always available to offer a helping hand. The breakfasts were wonderful. The B&B is kept extremely clean and the price was simply exceptional. The upper level screened in porch is simply lovely. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tazaemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 23, 2010

We choose first because of the location, very close to Charleston. We enjoyed the place so much that instead of staying one night, we decided to stay two nights to enjoy the porch and the nature around. The owner is wonderful!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deschat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2010

This b+b is located in Mt. Pleasant and is about ten mins. from downtown Historic Charleston. This is not a historic home like many of Charleston's bed and breakfasts. It is a very well furnished log home that sits under big Live oaks adjacent to an inlet off the Wando river. There is a dock/walkway into the marsh that could possibly be used to launch kayaks or canoes. Its much more laid back and quite than staying downtown. The King sized bed was awesome and our room slept great with the supplied white noise machine. The owners Steve and Phyllis were very nice and accommodating. The breakfasts were of adequate size and very tasty.
We had our own private bathroom with a stand up shower. A nice bathtub and in room refridgerator were the only things we found ouselves wanting of during the stay.
This was our first stay at a b+b so I can't compare it to others. It's a nice, quiet place to stay and relax, that's also away from the busy highway and downtown tourist areas, but still a short drive to whatever you would want to do in Charleston.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steg2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed in the Cotton Room over Valentine's Day weekend 2010. Phyllis and Steve were absolutely accommodating of our flight changes/delays and helped us to get the most out of our trip when we lost a day at the airport. (Thank you again for your Museum Pass and Walking Tour Guides!)
Their place is absolutely beautiful. Their breakfast patio is a great way to start your morning.. quiet peaceful surrounding.. delicious food(truly an understatement!), and friendly faces. I wouldn't stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KateGraves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
French Quarter
Harbourview Inn
Harbourview Inn
#5 of 61 in Charleston
2,065 reviews
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
309 reviews
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Cha...
#13 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Oaks Inn

Address: 1199 Long Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-8214
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $129 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the historic property of what was once part of Snee Farm Plantation that was owned by Charles Pinckney signer of the United States Constitution, this luxurious log exterior bed and breakfast is surrounded by 300-year-old oak trees and features a tidal creek and marsh backdrop. There are five cozy guest rooms available, all individually decorated. Whether you seek a comfortable guestroom for your out of town guests or a romantic getaway for yourself, we have the right accommodations for you. Each room is named for symbols of South Carolina and Low Country living. All of our guest rooms have a private bathroom. Whether it's relaxation or recreation, Plantation Oaks Inn in Mt. Pleasant is ideally located for your vacation outings in the Charleston area with many places of interest. At the same time, you will find the peace and quiet you need to relax from the stresses and strains of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Plantation Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Oaks Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing