We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B near Charleston”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Plantation Oaks Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Tampa, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great B&B near Charleston”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

This is a great place to stay with wonderful hosts. The house and rooms are beautiful, yet very comfortable. Our room, Magnolia, was very large with a nice view of the creek. Also very quiet, even though it's on a main road. The breakfasts were both generous and really tasty! So good you'll need a nap afterward! If you don't mind a short drive to Charleston and/or the beaches, whatever you're in town for, this is the place to stay. We will definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Magnolia was very quiet and faced the creek.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Fern M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    12
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
11
107
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This B&B was everything we'd hoped it would be! My husband and I stayed here for two nights as part of our anniversary vacation. We chose to stay in the Cotton Room and it didn't disapoint. It was very clean and quaint and we didn't really have a problem with the detached bathroom as it was just across the hall. Breakfasts were delicious both mornings and the owners and the hostess were very welcoming and informative about the area. The location is great, not too far from the city and the property itself is beautifully situated on the marsh. It is also right around the corner from Boone Plantation, which we enjoyed touring. Great value for the price and we would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amanda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weaverville, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We enjoyed our recent stay at the inn. The delicious 3-course breakfasts kept us going long past lunch time. The host and his assistant, Shelley, were very friendly and glad to help out with suggestions or information about the area. We liked sitting out on the covered porch to watch the sunset and taking walks out onto the dock. It was also nice to have a TV in our room for after the sun goes down. You will, however, want to remember to bring your own hairdryer.

We enjoyed touring Boone Hall Plantation, which is just a short drive away - it is also a handy spot to turn around if you should miss the inn's driveway. If you turn left out of the inn's driveway, you will soon reach Boone Hall and then Route 17, which makes it easy to drive to either the beach or Charleston. If you turn right, it is just a short drive to Belle Hall Shopping Center, which has plenty of restaurants and shops.

Room Tip: The Indigo Room does face the road, but there is some space and shrubbery in between. Also keep in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WNCWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2014

Oh, this place a sweet southern gem of a B&B, with two wonderful owners Steve and Phyllis. I was welcomed into the home and given a tour of the B&B from Phyllis and was instantly excited I chose this place to stay. You can tell the home and grounds are well taken care of and loved from the owners. I own a group travel business and will highly recommend this place to my clients for a comfortable stay. I personally can't wait to return again-hopefully next year!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trsta75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
346 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights in lieu of staying in Charleston. Excellent welcome from our hosts, clean room, covered veranda and outdoor spaces if desired. Right next to Boone plantation can be a plus. Mt. Pleasant is but a 10 minute drive away with a number of good eating locations and downtown Charleston is but 20 minutes away even in "rush hour". Its a B&B so you should not expect the granite and (often fake) marble look of a chain but it makes it up in personality. Huge breakfasts that can see you through to dinner!

Room Tip: Take a room en-suite so you don't have to cross the (small) hall to get there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank statestreet75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2014

If I could give this place a rating higher then 5, I would! You will not be disappointed with this quaint place. I can not say enough wonderful things about Shelley the hostess, Phyllis & Steve the owners. Real, genuine people who have figured out the secret to running a B&B successfully. Their genuine care and attention to detail is exemplified in every thing they do and in every piece of the property. If only I lived within driving distance, it would be my weekend get away on a regular basis! Their breakfast is top notch and different each day. Seriously, the best B&B ever!!!!! Thank you for raising the bar! If there would be a way for others to learn from Phyllis & Steve, they should. Maybe they can host other B&B runners to see how it's done! :)
One last thing: the most comfortable bed ever. So much so, I am hunting down the exact mattress & pillows to purchase myself. We stayed in the Palmetto room.
It is just down the road from Boone Hall Plantation which was a wonderful day trip.
We even tried to bribe them to let us stay one more night even though they were booked up, even if it meant sleeping on their back yard hammock. Lol

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChocoholicLady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights to use it as a base for exploring Charleston and received a real South Carolina welcome. Our room was clean and a good size with a lot of little quirky touches and with a wonderful view of the creek. We really appreciated the shared spaces - each evening we ended up on the covered veranda, chatting with the other guests. And like everyone else, I'm going to mention the breakfasts. Delicious food, multi courses, different every morning, served by Shelly, the housekeeper, who couldn't have been more friendly or helpful.

I would definitely recommend here to any friends who were in the area, and it's on our list of places to visit again without a doubt.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Wildpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Mount Pleasant
4.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
1.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 24 in Mount Pleasant
237 reviews
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
North Charleston Marriott
North Charleston Marriott
#22 of 58 in North Charleston
77 reviews
7.5 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,148 reviews
7.6 mi away
Francis Marion Hotel
Francis Marion Hotel
#23 of 62 in Charleston
2,870 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plantation Oaks Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plantation Oaks Inn

Property: Plantation Oaks Inn
Address: 1199 Long Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-8214
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plantation Oaks Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built on the historic property of what was once part of Snee Farm Plantation that was owned by Charles Pinckney signer of the United States Constitution, this luxurious log exterior bed and breakfast is surrounded by 300-year-old oak trees and features a tidal creek and marsh backdrop. There are five cozy guest rooms available, all individually decorated. Whether you seek a comfortable guestroom for your out of town guests or a romantic getaway for yourself, we have the right accommodations for you. Each room is named for symbols of South Carolina and Low Country living. All of our guest rooms have a private bathroom. Whether it's relaxation or recreation, Plantation Oaks Inn in Mt. Pleasant is ideally located for your vacation outings in the Charleston area with many places of interest. At the same time, you will find the peace and quiet you need to relax from the stresses and strains of the day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon and Hotwire so you can book your Plantation Oaks Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plantation Oaks Hotel Mount Pleasant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing