We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:00 AM - 5:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Boone Hall Plantation
from $53.00
More Info
from $62.00
More Info
from $126.14
More Info
Reviews (3,520)
Filter reviews
3,386 results
Traveler rating
1,836
1,039
327
118
66
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,836
1,039
327
118
66
Show reviews that mention
All reviews slave cabins house tour gullah presentation the main house oak trees working farm slave street coach tour first floor slave life tram ride butterfly garden live oaks tour of the grounds gullah theater cotton dock live presentation
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 3,386 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

Superb residence and fun guide to show us around. The gardens are magnificent and looking at the few lovely horses was lovely. The best part though was to attend the one-woman show with this lady singing and telling us all about the past, her ancestors and life as a slave. She was amazing, what a voice and personality. We also took a wagon ride through the back of the property, fun to see how community-minded they are as there were many decorations ready for Hallowe'en.

Thank Lilly062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago via mobile

I visited the Plantation when I attended the Scottish Highland Games. I could not believe how big the grounds are. Everything was well organized and easy to access. When we left we saw all the things they had hanging for Halloween. I'll bet that was a lot of fun at night to drive through. I plan to go back sometime to visit the house.

1  Thank BF61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 days ago

Despite the extreme heat, my husband and I truly enjoyed our tour of the Boone Hall Plantation. There are a variety of tours, one on a hayride of the grounds, the other is in the "mansion". And there is a play and a self guided tour of the slave's cabins. The best part was the variety of ways the information was delivered and the knowledge and hospitality of the staff.

1  Thank Laurie N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Lots of history, fun wagon ride around the plantation. The driveway is amazing with huge oak trees lining. The gardens were beautiful and house tour was interesting.

1  Thank chiefturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago

It's an interesting old plantation home, with loads of history. I found the house tour a little dry, but there's plenty of room to wander about the grounds. The Gullah presentation was over the top! Don't miss it!

1  Thank GenghisKhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

While it was nice to see a working plantation, the price was really expensive. Also, the tours were short and not a lot of information was given. Good for people interested in this;however, the price almost ruined the experience.

Thank elysen1373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Kinda disappointed to only get to see 3 rooms of the house. The live oak tree lined Avenue and boat house are amazing. It is nice but could have been better.

Thank Aaron Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

This is the oldest and longest working plantation in America. You will learn about the plantation owner, slavery and the end of slavery, as we know it today. In fact you will learn that slavery is still alive at many places in the world. That slavery was not just of black people, but white people and American Indians as well. You will be treated to a tour of the mansion house, a ride through the entire property on a tractor pulled carriage, and a few shows and education of the entire plantation and how the slaves lived. This was educational informational and a lot of enjoyable time. This is a must if you have a full day to spend here.

1  Thank Steven D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Whatever you do, do not miss out on the Gullah presentation. The performance was a memorable experience and life changing. We went on a Sunday and stayed for 5 hour. We could have stayed longer, so give yourself enough time. The farm for was really fun, the house is beautiful and touring Slave Street was emotional. Take it all in, don't skip a thing!

1  Thank 805AmyF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

We choose Bone Hall because they were one of the first plantations to add a slave component (a change from the historic or servant approach). While they had both a lecture and a Gullah show piece, the slave cabin audio was whitewashed. We weren’t able to visit a second plantation to make comparisons but we generally found the tour guides not happy about slave questions. Knowing my own bias and setting it aside, the rest of the experience was well done: an agricultural wagon tour, main house tour, slave cabins, cotton dock, expansive grounds.

Thank CASEY T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews