We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful plantation to explore and learn from!”

Boone Hall Plantation
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.94*
and up
Charleston Boone Hall Plantation Tour with Transportation
More Info
$126.14*
and up
Charleston Adventures Day Trip to Charleston from Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Albany, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
582 reviews
267 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“A beautiful plantation to explore and learn from!”
Reviewed August 27, 2014

Our family spent a full afternoon exploring Boone Hall Plantation recently. As we entered the drive with the trees lining both sides, we new we found an amazing plantation to explore.

We first took in the house tour, and had a delightful tour guide explain many details of the rooms and the furniture placed within. Hearing how this venue had been used in a tv mini series, was interesting to hear about.

Loved the dining room especially. It is a beautiful room all to itself.

We walked the grounds and toured through many slave cabins. It was humbling and thought-provoking. Appreciated the written placards that are in each cabin explaining items of interest.

We feel fortunate that this plantation has been maintained for us to appreciate and understand more fully now.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank OregonExplorers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,007 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,604
    949
    285
    103
    66
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful and we learned something too!”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

It was a well-spent half-day at this plantation. We enjoyed the guided tour of the house followed by a self-guided tour of the slave cabins and a final show by a Gullah artist which was great. We learned a lot about history of plantation life and Gullah culture. I think it was a great learning experience for the kids (and for us!).

Compared to other plantations, I found this plantation offered a good value.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank 10monthspreggers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lillington, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Majestic Oaks”
Reviewed August 26, 2014

This enchanting plantation takes you back in time with your drive down the lane surrounded by the beautiful oak trees. Take the time to tune in to the assigned radio station for informative info. Even though it was the dead of August, the gardens were wonderful and worthy of a stroll. The house tour was worth it and the guide kept you interested throughout the tour. You could spend several hours walking the grounds viewing the slave quarters, gardens and open bus trolley tour. I recommend finishing your day off with some homemade ice cream at the little restaurant.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancy and Mark P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranford, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the trip - spent 3 hours!”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

So, the place is famous for the oak tree lined entrance. And, yes, the house tour is limited to the first floor (entrance hall, plus 4 rooms). But the 30 min house tour was fun with our great tour guide. The hidden treasure was the coach tour - 35+min on an open air bus. This tour took us around the plantation pointing out the freshwater pond with alligators, explaining how the tides affected daily life, and the planting that has been continuous since the plantation was built. There is a short 15 min talk on slavery with 9 original slave homes still standing with information in each one on slavery. Finally, there was a presentation on Gullah culture - i was skeptical at first but her singing and explanations won me over. She explained that the west coast African slaves brought the skills to plant rice to the Carolinas.
There is even a small butterfly garden behind the cafe for kids or adults to enjoy.
When you put together all of the offerings, we spent an unexpectedly enjoyable 3+ hours. And there are the gardens and grounds to explore.
The coach tour even explained that there are many other events during the year like a corn maze and haunted events and pick-your-own fruits/vegetables. This is quite a plantation!!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papillion, Nebraska, United States
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A true antebellum mansion”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Once we found out the Boone Plantation was used for the site of several movies (North and South mini series, The Notebook, Queenie) we had to go there. Hoping it wasn't going to be a disappointment (like Magnolia Plantation) we were thrilled to find that one fee covered the tour of the house plus a tram ride around the grounds. The house is spectacular and interesting to note it was built in the 1930s. The tram ride around the grounds showed us how large the property is and how varied the property is used for. They grow quite a few different crops for sale, have a maze in the Fall that is designed by GPS, and a haunted house area that this year with be Zombieland (last year they had cast members from Walking Dead there). The drive onto the plantation catches your breath as you look at the long drive leading to the house lines with oaks. Several horses were romping in the grass and we walked by the slave houses and down to the river where they have a building for parties and wedding receptions. Don't miss the gift shop/restaurant that features home made ice cream. My husband tried the ice cream and raved about it (so did the tour guide). This was an attraction where you can spend quite a bit of time and get your monies worth for one fee.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Azbylut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing