We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Boone Hall Plantation

Boone Hall Plantation
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Working plantation with true southern charm. Features world famous avenue of oaks, 9 original slave cabins, butterfly garden, and a colonial revival style 1936 mansion. Tours and theatrical performances offered daily. Used in the filming of North and South, Queen, the Tempest, and The Notebook.
Murphy, North Carolina
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“What a place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Avenue of Oaks entrance is amazing! The grounds are very nice, however we didn't get to see the slave houses because it poured the rain on us. The tour of the house was well done even though the lady doing the tour had only been on the job 3 days...she did very well, considering that! I love learning about all the history - it fascinates me! My favorite part of the tour was the ride around the grounds and the driver telling us all his stories. He had worked at Boone Hall for many years and actually grew up on the plantation as his father worked on the plantation as well. He had such wonderful stories and I would go back just to hear them all over again! Absolutely amazing! Loved it... :)

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank weddingmom59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,661 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,419
    848
    244
    88
    62
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dwight, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“History at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

We really enjoyed this plantation visit. We were able to visit the house and gardens. We travelled thru history via the audiotour in the slave cabins. We heard the Gulla speaker. All of this was so informative. If you love history this is a must see

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank lorraine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calhoun, Georgia, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Worth a whole day visit!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The setting is beautiful and the history lesson is rich and informative. I really enjoyed my breif visit but only had a couple of hours to see what I could. I was able to tour the main house and the slave quarters, with time enough to read all the history presented in the cabins. I wish I had been able to tour the rest of the grounds and attend the Gullah Culture presentation. I will go bac at my first opportunity in the area to see the rest!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank 656AnnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Cupcake
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Boone Hall”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Plantation is beautiful but the drive in the tree lined road is what makes this Plantation awsome. The house was restored nicely but it should be since it was built in 1934. I was dissapointed with the tour of the house because it only included three rooms on the first floor. The tour guide was very informative and gave a great presentation I just wish there was more. I like the slave quarters and the historical signs set up inside them were very informative. The entry to the ground cost $20 and the tour was included. For the price it was a nice visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Lovely Southern Plantation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

The grounds are so beautiful and and well kept. You can smell the flowers in the air. The tour guides really know their history both past and present and whats really nice is you can tell they really do care about the place. They enjoy what they do. So glad we went.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hullonain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Boone Hall Plantation also viewed

Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
Mount Pleasant, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Boone Hall Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing