We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A cautionary tale”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Whenever you go to a hotel, even one you’ve been at before, make this a rule. CHECK OUT the room before you CHECK IN. This will save you a lot of grief.
This hotel has a pet policy, that if you are travelling with a pet, you are placed in a smoking room even if you are a nonsmoker. There is a penalty (their word) of $100 if you require a nonsmoking room. What? I foolishly went to the room thinking how bad can it be, and well it was very bad. It stunk of smoke so badly that my eyes and throat started to burn. I tried to get rid of the stench by putting on the fans and opening the door but to no avail. So my husband and I returned to the front desk saying that if we couldn’t have a nonsmoking room, we had to leave. I was hoping they would help me find another hotel in the area that was pet friendly, and would provide a nonsmoking room.
The front office clerk went into a tail spin. She said we could leave but because we were in the room more than half an hour we would have to forfeit the nights rent. Further, if we didn’t check out in the morning in person, we would be charged for the next two nights that we were cancelling. They said that had no one that could check the room to verify that nothing had been disturbed. Other than turn on the fans nothing had been disturbed. Because we were confronted with this threatening situation; we felt that we had no other choice then to remain in the room for the night and breathe in the fumes from the second hand smoke. It was a terrible experience. Even lighting a candle and using the can of Lysol they gave us, didn’t help remove the awful smell. I never slept a wink and I felt ill in the morning.
We spent 33 days in South Carolina and everywhere we went, we were greeted with wonderful Southern Hospitality. When looking back on the holiday, this hotel experience stood out like a sore thumb. I decided to contact Wyndham Hotels Customer Care to see what they thought of the despicable treatment we received there. They told us that because the hotel policy was to charge the nights rent after being in the room more than one hour, and they said, I was there over the one hour, therefore they couldn’t help me. Well that’s news; the clerk told me one half hour was the policy for forfeiting the nights rent and we were in the room for maybe 30 minutes from check in to the time we went up to complain about the smell and wanting to leave. So in fact they revealed that they had no right to threatened to keep the money. We were well within our rights to leave. Also it was 3:15, well before the 4:00 time of cancellation.
So I repeat CHECK OUT the room before you CHECK IN. Once you’ve signed something you’re out of luck.
This hotel has a restaurant attached, called the Huddle House. You are to receive 10% off your bill when you show your room card. At dinner and before we ordered we showed the card and had the waitress write the room number on the bill. The dinner was fine but when we received the bill, the 10% hadn’t been taken off. I drew her attention to it but she said she’d put it through the cash register and it was too late to alter it now.
The next morning for breakfast, I ordered one egg over easy. When it came there was a clear watery substance running all over the plate. I realized the egg wasn’t cooked. I complained and asked for a new egg and she said that was the way they made eggs over easy there, and it was my mistake for ordering it that way. I thought I was going to throw up.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marilyn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (950)
There are newer reviews for Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

818 - 824 of 951 reviews

Reviewed April 20, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Joy C
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 19, 2013

The hotel was clean, employees were friendly. It's close to Shem Creek and downtown Charleston. Only thing is I wish they allowed pets over 25 lbs.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Babette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Thank your for your review and we appreciate your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Johnny M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Charlotte G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Location very relaxed - rooms and hotel nicer than expected. Only bad point was the attached Huddle House Restaurant which should be dynamited and never rebuilt.

Answers below use #3 as not applicable/not used/no opinion.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Daniel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to post your review and will certainly address your concern with the hotel GM and Huddle House owner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Glenn H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SalesMTPDI, Sales Manager at Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point, responded to this reviewResponded April 16, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#20 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
296 reviews
0.2 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#23 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
209 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#18 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#14 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
704 reviews
0.4 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
371 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point

Address: 261 Johnnie Dodds Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2934
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $76 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point 2*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Days Inn Mount Pleasant-Charleston-Patriots Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Patriots Point Hotel Mount Pleasant
Days Inn Mount Pleasant
Patriots Point Days Inn
Mount Pleasant Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing