We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not up to brand quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
Ranked #4 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 25, 2012

The owner of this Hampton Inn is barely keeping it up to brand standards and that is my main gripe. The bathrooms are updated and the TV hook-up is Xfinity; those are plusses. The internet connection is good and fast. The room and linens were clean but who doesn't expect that as basic criteria. However, half of the furniture is gone compared to other HIs where I've stayed this year including one on the far west side of Charleston.

There is no desk/work space - as advertised - and no desk chair, no side chair, no floor lamp, only one night stand, no luggage stand, no mini-fridge, no microwave. So, the room looks bare with its two queens with their HI lumpy comforters, one low table in front of a wall-mounted hotel mirror and a small three drawer chest of drawers, two SC prints framed over the beds, and the carpet is getting a bit threadbare. There is an older AC window unit that is noisy but it works.

I decided not to move hotels because of its proximity to my planned activities but I did discuss the quality of the room with the front desk. After reading Tripadvisor reviews of this hotel and the other HI in Mt Pleasant (which apparently doesn't clean your room if you booked through an online broker), I made on-line reservations via Hilton's website. I am a Hilton Honors member and used a AAA discount. I asked the front desk lady if I got a bare room because of the AAA discount. She said 'no' that all 'standard double queen rooms' were furnished like this. I pointed out that other HIs were fully furnished and that their web page mentioned amenities that weren't in the room. She didn't know what the webpage advertised and, while being pleasant enough, she offered nothing else except a shrug.

I'm not in the mood to discuss this with the manager. No one from this place has responded to any TripAdvisor comments good or bad. I will send a letter to Hilton though when I get home. I stay at other chains so I do have other options that I consider have equal or better quality for the same price range.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lnois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
There are newer reviews for Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

802 - 808 of 881 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2012

I have stayed a few times at this Hampton Inn. The rooms are always clean and free breakfast is very good. It has a great location just minutes from the heart of Mt. Pleasant and the Isle of Palms beaches. Another plus is that this is located right by BiLo so getting groceries and beach supplies is very easy. It is much cheaper and a better value than Isle of Palms beach front hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JMLMD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

My family stopped in without a reservation and was able to get a room for the night. The hotel is within a mile to the Boone Plantation which we planned to visit the next day. The lobby was nice and bright - tables in a well lit area for their morning breakfast. Our room was nice - comfortable queen sized beds with a note saying all bed linens as well as comforters are cleaned after each guest. The bathroom was a nice size -and clean. They do have free Wi-Fi which they tell you a code to type in to access it. There is a small pool available- but we didn't take advantage of it. At 5:00, they have cookies in the lobby which was a nice touch. The morning breakfast was nice - we appreciated not having to go out and buy breakfast - they had eggs, oatmeal, a variety of cold cereals - potatoes and make your own waffles!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmariert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

First visit to this hotel - what a gem! Room are clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The staff is extremely courteous and the complimentary breakfast had a nice selection which changed daily. Proximity to the beach and shopping is an easy 5 minute drive. The hotel, despite being full, was quiet and restful! I'll definetely return!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelgirl1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

This was our first stay at this hotel. We were surprised that it wasn't closer to the water, as the website leads you to believe! However, it is conveniently located right along the road leading to the bridge over to the Isle of Palms. It is about 5 minutes to get there. The location was good for us-at the edge of a large, upscale shopping center with a grocery store & lots of restaurants. The hotel is clean, comfy, & the staff are very accommodating. We needed a fridge for meds & they had it ready when we arrived. Breakfasts have been good & the lobby is very pretty! We will stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank labsadore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

First visit to this hotel. We were very pleased. Great location to beach, shopping, restaurants and shopping. Hotel was very clean and friendly staff. Hotel was booked during our stay but very quiet. We stayed for 7 nights and each day there was a different selection for breakfast. The pool area is a little small and towels aren't always available but this isn't a major problem as most people are there to sight see or go to the beach. I would recommend visiting Boone Hall plantation and it is just down the road. Coconut Joes and Acme restaurant are great places to eat on the Isle of Palms. Love this area and Charleston, SC is the most beautiful city! We hope to return soon.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank Meahme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This Hotel is about a 5 minute ride to the beach....located in front of a 24 hour Bi-lo's supermarket with many eating places,nearby drug store and shops as well. The Hampton Inn has a nice Hot complimentry breakfast and serves wonderful sugar cookies in the evening. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff was very friendly and accomidating.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobbieap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
2.1 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
0.8 mi away
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt Pleasant
Homewood Suites Charleston - Mt ...
#11 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
4.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms

Address: 1104 Isle of Palms Connector, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-9415
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#1 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#2 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $141 - $268 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms 2.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle of Palms hotel is on the Isle of Palms Connector in Mount Pleasant, just a few miles from the Isle of Palms beaches. Our hotel is next door to the Mount Pleasant Towne Centre Shopping Mall where you will find great restaurants and shops. The historic areas and harbor of Charleston are easily accessible from our hotel from our location in Mount Pleasant, SC, near Boone Hall Plantation. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before you explore Charleston or spend the day on the beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hampton Inn and Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Isle Of Palms Hotel
Hampton Inn Hotel Charleston
Hampton Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing