We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel with a motel feel-not very clean”
Review of MainStay Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
MainStay Suites
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed July 2, 2012

Background- family of four with two small children, basis for booking was location, the fact that we had a kitchen, two rooms and price. This hotel was not what I consider to be a hotel at all. The hotel should be advertised as a motel.

Negatives- The limited housekeeping is not very good. Even when you need something you have to do it yourself. For example I needed our kitchen trash removed I had to remove the bag and get a new bag from the housekeeper. No fresh towels given during a five day stay until we asked for it, no beds being made etc. The pool is the size of a bath tub and not very clean. The hotel common areas are so so cleanliness-wise. The elevator floors were always dirty, the lobby area is nice but when you walk to your room you pass the laundry housekeeping area and door to that always open. I hardly want to see laundry in my own home let alone on my vacation.

Positives-The rooms are fairly clean and there are no bed bug incidents either. The continental breakfast is good, the staff is friendly and helpful, something to snack on in the lobby at 5pm each day, good location convenient to Sullivan's, Isle of Palms and downtown, cute little pond in the back with a nice little patio that had turtles which my kids loved but beyond that, it's nothing more than a room that you will be keeping up yourself. We loved having a kitchen but next time we head down, we will do the new Hampton inn with kitchenettes as that hotel is newer and cleaner.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank djlamb511
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MainstaySC054, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear djlamb511,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites. We are franchised by Choice Hotels and the hotel is an extended stay style property. We realize that for guest's who require daily housekeeping services, that we might not meet their expectations. Our location is ideal to the area attractions and we are one of the few hotels that offer kitchens with dishwashers, pots/pans, full size refrigerator and microwave. You might want to just double check prior to reserving with Hampton to make sure that they offer kitchens.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

146 - 152 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2012

The biggest upside of this hotel is the location. We picked it specifically to lower our overall price by not staying directly in downtown Charleston. However, this hotel is just a quick bridge ride to get into the heart of the city. When we first checked in, we were given a room that smelled like it had not been cleaned in weeks. It resembled a men's locker room -- very gross. When we approached management with the issue and asked for a different room, they were more than happy to offer us a new one. The room itself was clean but a bit dated. Fridge/burners/microwave a plus. The bed was too hard for me but I don't do well on firmer mattresses, so that's my own issue! Average breakfast -- nothing fancy or particularly special. The one odd thing about this hotel is that they only have housekeeping once a week...so if you need any toiletries or extra towels, you have to request them at the front desk. This wasn't a big deal for us, but I know it might be for others. Overall, the awesome location sets it apart and we were pleased with our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Genevieve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula28650, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Overall Pleasing,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites, Mount Pleasant and for writing a review of your experience. I regret that the first room was unsatisfactory, and I'm glad that we were able to quickly move you into a different room. Also, thank you for reminding TripAdvisor readers that Mainstay Suites is an extended stay type hotel and offers Lite Housekeeping everyday. We hope that you enjoyed your time in beautiful Charleston and that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2012

Convenience: Great. Hotel room quality: Poor. Front Desk: Excellent. Breakfast: Average. We had 4 adults and two toddlers in a two bedroom suite. The suite was so small and cramped that you could not spend any time in the room other than sleeping. The beds were excessively hard and there were no extra sheets or pillows for the pullout couch-- The front desk attendant had to search around the hotel looking for two pillows for us. The shower curtains were too small for the showers and the water leaked out everywhere. We were on the first floor next to the pool and our room had a damp/musty smell-- Our room was in need of an upgrade. If we go to Charleston again, we would opt to spend the extra money on two rooms. This 2 bedroom suite is impractical due to its tiny size. Kudos to the front desk who were very helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank torgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula28650, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Very Small,
Thank you for staying at the Mainstay Suites and for acknowledging our front desk staff. We regret that our two bedroom suite did not meet your expectations. The hotel was completely renovated in '2009 to add conveniences such as three flat screen tv's in the two bedroom studio, new furniture and bedding. We realize that each individual has a preference on mattress type and furnishings, and again regret that we didn't meet your expectations. We do hope that you will return to the beautiful low country of Charleston, SC again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2012

We selected this hotel for a two day stop over in Charleston enroute to ten days in Florida. It is very close to Charleston...a five minute drive over a magnificent bridge and you are in the city. This is intended to be a long stay hotel, so each room has a kitchenette, sleeper sofa, table/ work center. The bed in our room was only queen size( we knew that when we booked) and it was very comfortable, but only one night stand on one side....no place for my pen or kindle...
The TV is on a swivel to be viewed from any where in the room- nice. The bathroom was fine. Since this a long stay hotel, you are told on check in That there is only housekeeping once a week and if we needed new towels to come to front desk for more. Since we were only there two days, it made no difference. I think it is fine that they do this especially I since it keeps costs down, but if you need bed changes daily, stay somewhere else.

The breakfast was probably the only disappointing aspect of our stay ( mind you we went there for the location, not the breakfast, but since most hotels offer breakfast nowadays, I thought I'd comment). There were hard boiled eggs that tasted old or mass produced, Yogurt but only full fat variety, biscuits an gravy, packets of oatmeal but only the presweetened kind, muffins and Danish. Not much here for those looking for a healthy breakfast. The dining area is overtaken by several comfy couches, leaving only two 2 person tables. On our first morning, it was nice enough to eat on the lovely patio, but on day two it was raining, so no where to sit. No matter...we were on our way by that point and checked out. ( side note ... Both mornings there was a "gentleman" in the breakfast area in bare feet! At one point he was sitting on the couch eating a muffin with his dirty feet up on the couch! Manners people, manners!!)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pwoc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula28650, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Great Option,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of the Mainstay Suites. We appreciated you noting our close proximity to historic downtown Charleston. I'm sure that other readers will appreciate your noting our hotel policy in regard to conserving water and chemicals by not changing the bed daily, unless necessary.

Our breakfast area is designed to be either enjoyed on the patio, seating area or in the comfort of your room's own kitchen. We regret that we didn't surpass your expectations with our complimentary breakfast, but will make note of your recommendations for more healthier choices. We hope that you return to Charleston again, soon, and sincerly invite you to return to Mainstay Suites.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Great location just across the river from historic Charleston and across the street from Patriot Point. Property was well maintained. We had a 2 bedroom suite which suited our needs with 3 adults traveling. Did not use the kitchen other than to chill our water but it would be a great help for a family traveling. The staff was very professional in responding to our needs. Will be back to Charleston later this year and will be staying here again.

Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank ragman42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula28650, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Great Location,
Thank you so much for staying at the Mount Pleasant Mainstay Suites and for writing a review. We appreciated you acknowledging our staff members, and we are delighted that you are planning to return. Sometimes, we are remiss in noting that our location is close to Patriot's Point where guest's can depart for tours of Fort Sumter and enjoy the USS Yorktown. Thank you for noting that. We look forward to seeing you on your return trip to the Low Country.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2012

When I come to Charleston with family, this is my choice. Friendly, clean, great location at the foot of the Cooper River bridge for easy access to Charleston, Mount Pleasant, Sullivan's Island and Isle of Palms. Plus the Mark Clark Expressway provides an easy escape to avoid traffic when heading West out of town. Two bedroom suites are well priced unless there is a large event like the Bridge Run. I just hope they don't become too popular and raise the prices!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paula28650, Manager at MainStay Suites, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2012

Dear Super Value,
Thank you for staying at the MainStay Suites, Mount Pleasant. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review and for noting our ideal location that is near the Cooper River bridge. The hotel is ideal for folks who want to walk to the new Waterfront Park, or access the walkway to the bridge to experience panoramic views of the Charleston Harbor. Thank you again, and we hope that you will return soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

My husband and I just went to Charleston and brought a friend with us. We decided to stay at this hotel because it offered 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms. I wasn't expecting great things but was really impressed with how nice it was. The beds were comfortable and the bedrooms were a nice size. It had a full kitchen so we could have cooked had we chosen (although why bother when so many good restaurants in the area) and was really conveniently located to downtown Charleston. It had a nice little breakfast set up every morning and the staff was very friendly. There was even a nice place to sit outside at tables and enjoy your coffee in the morning which we liked. I highly recommend this hotel and although it may not be the fanciest it definitely was an exceptional value and very nice.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravelingCass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#18 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Mt. Pleasant
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
102 reviews
0.2 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#12 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#21 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
302 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
386 reviews
0.3 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston Mount Pleasant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to MainStay Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about MainStay Suites

Address: 400 Magrath Darby Blvd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-2971
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $76 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — MainStay Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your MainStay Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mainstay Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mainstay Suites Mount Pleasant
Main Stay Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing