We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Quality Inn I have found”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Reviewed June 2, 2011

What a peasant surprise, after just staying at a very bad Quality Inn on Ocean Blvd in Myrtle Beach we were relieved to check inn to this one. Everything was spotless, and in good working order. Hot breakfast had bacon, sausage, eggs, grits plus all the standard stuff. And a very clean area to eat. We had a whirlpool suite, the large tub made taking a shower a treat with lots of room to move. The location is great for the naval museum and the Fort Sumter tour. A short drive over the bridge gets you to Charleston (taking Bay Street back to the Hotel brings you right on to the Bridge. No tolls on the bridge. If I get back to Charleston, this is where I will stay.

Pros: Large room
Clean
Good hot breakfast
Good price
Did I mention spotlessly clean….

Cons: Smallish parking area
You do have to drive to get to Charleston. I found a lot at Concord and Market Sts for $8 for the day (a Saturday) with come and go privileges. A block from the Market Area

Tips:
There is a Great Outback Restaurant a couple of blocks north of the hotel. Just a cut above all the others. The house salad is Wedge style, the wine come in a small carafe, perfectly done steak and shrimp, things like that.

All the Carriage rides are the same, sort of. Every Carriage Company gets into the same queue, and a city run ping-pong ball system tells each carriage what route to take. There was a screaming kid on our ride that ruined it for everyone. I know there is one that does and adults only run at 10 AM. The ride is way too long, and frankly boring, for a child. Ask your guide what the round bottom flag markers are for.

There is a Visitors info center under the bridge on the Mt Pleasant side, they sell tickets to some things at a good discount (Carriage ride, Naval museum, etc) . Ladies, try the Salt Hand Lotion in the rest room.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe_and_Diann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded June 12, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive experience during your recent stay. . We appreciated you sharing helpful tips for future travelers to the Charleston area. We feel our location is one of our greatest assets! We continue to strive for the best guest experience possible. We feel our attention to detail--enhancing our breakfast offering,forming a warm rapport with our guests and maintaining a high standard of cleanliness are all very important components. We would love the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 387 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2011

First of all, I don't know why there are bad reviews. Maybe they had problems in the past, but not now!

The hotel is really nice. The rooms are updated, very comfortable, and clean. Breakfast was really great for a hotel! Yogurt, fruit, grits, scrambled eggs, biscuits and gravy, juice, coffee.

The staff were nice and helpful.

The hotel is right by the ferry for Fort Summter and USS Yorktown.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KJ1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2011

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your positive comments. We are especially glad you enjoyed our lowcountry breakfast offering. Our breakfast hostess prides herself on offering above and beyond our franchise requirements. We are always striving to improve our guest experience. We hope you will allow us to host you on your next visit to Charleston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2011

This hotel was very nice and clean, but older looking. The proximity to Patriots Point (walking distance if nice day) and just over the bridge to downtown Charleston made it a nice stay. The rooms are extremely spacious (we had 2 Queens and a Pull out Sofa Suite).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MI-Travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive thoughts. We continue to update the property so that our guests can comfortably enjoy our central location and have a positive guest experience. We will look forward to the opportunity to host you again on a future trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Spent one night here 3/19/11. Hotel itself is an older property, but very CLEAN. The check-in area looked bad, but they are remodeling it. Staff is very, very friendly and offered tips on where to get the best seafood. Our room was not updated to the usual Choice Hotels bedding, but at least we had fitted sheets and a good mattress. Rooms need updating and lighting could be a little brighter, but it is okay. Bathroom was SPOTLESS and the shower pressure was great! We slept well considering the entire floor above us had been reserved for the Shriners who had been there for the last 3 nights and were to check out next day when we did. NOW, FOR THE VERY BEST PART OF THIS HOTEL: Breakfast is a pure delight!!! The wonderful lady who does the cooking wears a white chef's coat and a cute big, floppy big chef's style hat! This wonderful lady kept the food area spotless and plenty of food supplied! There was your usual chilled mixed fruits in huge bowl, a variety of small pastries, cereals, toast, coffee, variety of juices.....AND.......bacon, sausage, REAL scrambled eggs, REAL homemade gravy, a different type of biscuit that was cut in half and maybe put under a broiler???? (DELICIOUS), and my favorite----the hot grits did not a a single lump in them! They were the creamiest grits and even had flavor to them! She also made some kind of cinnamon pastry the was crunchy on the outer edges yet soft inside! Lots of the men were asking for that recipe and she told them that the Corporate office would not let her give out any recipes! Too bad! YUM-O!!!! I told the management this breakfast alone was worth returning to this hotel! (HEADS UP: Do not lose your b'fast coupons or you pay $7.50 to get another one! Or so it says on the coupon). Another reason for returning is its proximity to the USS Yorktown carrier and the Spirit of Charleston Cruise dock; also at the foot of the beautiful new bridge! If you can get over the dated room decor I think you would be very pleased with this hotel! We will be returning there in October and I can hardly wait!

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luvsf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

Thank you so much for your elaborate review. You are correct, we were under renovation during your recent visit. We have completed the renovations to the common areas of our property. We received a waiver to add custom bedding to our guest rooms that were more in keeping with our property. We were not pleased with the sheer coverlets otherwise required by Choice Hotels. We also added down alternative blankets to our bedding rather than poly-fleece. We are so glad that you enjoyed our Southern Style breakfast. Lynese, our breakfast hostess, truly is an asset to our property and we feel that her passion for her position at the hotel shows through in the quality of our breakfast offering. We will look forward to hosting you on your next trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2011

Made reservations on day of travel. Mary was as nice and helpful as could be. Offered directions, hoped I would enjoy my stay. Wish my employees were that friendly. The lady working the breakfast was super nice. So nice I gave her a good tip. True southern hospitality at its best. Stay here.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brownj17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded April 15, 2011

We are pleased that you took the time to express your appreciation of exemplary customer service while lodging with us on your recent visit to the Charleston area. We take pride in ensuring a positive guest experience by taking the initiative to tailor the service level to each individual customer. We would be pleased with the opportunity to host you again on your next visit to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2011

What a wonderful find! This place has large clean rooms - and a breakfast that can't be beat! (Eggs, grits, sausage, and more) The rooms and lobby looked like they were recently remodeled - everything was clean, spotless, and quiet. The hotel is convenient to Charleston, while actually being in Mt Pleasant. It's near Patriot's Point - and close to a variety of wonderful nearby restaurants. For a little exercise, try hiking the Ravenel Bridge. It's next to the hotel, and has a great pedestrian path for starting the day. I did it. What a great way to work off the calories from those restaurants! And yes, I'd certainly stay here at this hotel again - any time.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyOldOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Nice older well maintained hotel with good breakfast. We stayed here the night before our cruise left and the hotel let us leave our cars parked for the week saving the $75 fee that the port charges. Close to great restaurants at Shem's Creek.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ach27205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
m_travisross, Director of Sales at Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt., responded to this reviewResponded October 15, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments. We are sure you appreciated our central location to Shem Creek dining, Historic Charleston and the Port Terminal. We are currently planning our next phase of renovations and hope you will return on your next trip to the Charleston area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.3 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#12 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
779 reviews
0.5 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#22 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
303 reviews
4.9 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
2.9 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
0.5 mi away
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
#18 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.

Address: 196 Patriots Point Rd, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4377
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Price Range: $90 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn And Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt. Hotel Mount Pleasant
Quality Inn Patriots Pt
Quality Inn Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing