We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great location, great people” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Shem Creek Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Shem Creek Inn
Ranked #7 of 22 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Certificate of Excellence
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, great people”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I stayed for one night at this location with my mother and mother-in-law this past spring for a "girls getaway", and had a fabulous time. My husband and I recently stayed for two nights and also very much enjoyed ourselves. We had a king room, creek side and had very easy access to the outside bar area of the restaurant next door, which worked out just fine for us! It's a great place, with a fabulous happy hour and great views. Desean checked us in and when my husband asked if they had premium channels, (no, they don't, but I wasn't there to watch television anyway!) the two of them had a "bonding moment", over a shared love of a certain show. It made the experience very personal, and I appreciated Desean's attitude and friendliness.
The room itself was very nice, I have read prior reviews about the noise and the sliding doors not working well. It would seem that these issues have been addressed, because the door locked perfectly and the noise was all but nil once it was closed.
I also love the close proximity to the water taxi into Charleston, and the beautiful walk along the Shem Creek itself. Wonderful, affordable place.

Room Tip: Creek side rooms will definitely offer a fabulous view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Thank you for sharing your experiences during your stay with us. It pleases us to know that we took care of our guests. And yes, there were several other reviews commenting on the balcony doors but we are happy to say that these were replaced in May.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    272
    235
    108
    50
    23
See reviews for
193
288
17
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Virginia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

If you work in downtown the rates for rooms have gone insane! Shem creek fills the need for reasonable travel expences.ask to join the Captains Club. Not the newest but clean and comfortable.Greay tiki bar to relax after work.I plan to stop going downtown and let the tourist have it.4 great resturants within walking distance

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank raysquay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
That is great news! We appreciate you choosing us for your business travels to the Charleston area. With a desk in each room, free Wi-Fi and several restaurants just steps away, this is the ideal location for business and leisure travelers.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peachtree City, Georgia
Level Contributor
131 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We have been coming to Charleston every year for 15 years or so and always stay in Mount Pleasant. After 4-5 years we decided to try this place and we have stayed at Shem Creek Inn ever since. It is not a luxury hotel by any means. It needed some upgrading and looks like they are doing some things like new locks, sliding glass doors, and A/C. The breakfast is weak compared to places like Hampton Inns but there are many great breakfast places within walking distance. Stay here for the location to downtown and relaxing view of the creek area with it's frolicking dolphins, busy boaters, and folks coming and going to the outdoor bar scene on the creek. We love it here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3georges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We are happy that you found us and have choose to return often. We appreciate the business and look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, SC
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

My daughter and I stayed at the Shem Creek Inn while we were in Charleston for a short getaway and shopping. LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION! We were able to walk to some of the best seafood restaurants in the area. The views of the creek, fishing boats, and marsh were fantastic from our balcony. Rooms not fancy but adequate. Reminiscent of an old time beach house. Great short stay!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nostayhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for spending your mini vacation with us and we hope to see you again real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McMurray
Level Contributor
64 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We first discovered Shem Creek Inn 7 years ago, and fell in love with the place. We felt it was the best kept secret in the Charleston area. It was so restful to sit on the pool deck with a drink from the bar next door and watch the boats come and go on the creek. We ate at two of the nearby restaurants on that trip and had wonderful food. Fast forward to this year, and we discovered that the secret is out! Two of the nights we were there, the bar was taken over by some sort of corporate cocktail party, and we couldn't even get a drink and the noise level was awful. This hotel definitely needs some updating, particularly in the parking lot, which was a sea of muddy puddles from a recent rain. There is not enough parking under the roof, and there is a lot of traffic from people visiting nearby bars and restaurants. The breakfast is just bare bones - skip it and go to Locklear's Low Country Grill on Coleman Blvd. They have the best breakfast we've had in Charleston and it was relatively inexpensive. This is still a very convenient place to stay being so close to Patriot's Point and to the area plantations. It's easy to get on and off the main bridge to Charleston, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the marsh side if you want quiet. You can always go out on the dock to watch the boats come...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aza572
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
We have used "Charleston's Best Kept Secret" as a catch phrase for many years but it does seem that the "cat is out of the bag". Indeed the creek has become a very popular spot. This is a great place though, to park your car and never have to get back it in until departure day. So many awesome things to do and see right here and just steps away.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Wonderful bacony veiw and a wonderful resturant right next door. Cocktails on the water either in your room or at the water front bar and good food. Many more resturants with in walking distance. A short drive to Charleston historic downtown and all of the attractions. Old Mt Pleasant is a wonderful site.

Room Tip: Creek front over looking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing this information with other Tripadvisor readers. Our balconies are spectacular and improved since we just completed installing new balcony doors in all rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simpsonville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

First of all, I have to state that I got a great deal on this hotel room by bidding on the price through Priceline. It is almost impossible to find a reasonably priced room in the Charleston/Mt. Pleasant area (under $200/night)- even at the less pricey hotel chains.

The location is magnificent - but the hotel is very dated. In my opinion, the bathroom should have been much cleaner than it was on our arrival and the bathroom was in great need of some updating.

I am very picky with respect to cleanliness - so if I don't feel that a room has been really scrubbed, it impacts my whole overall experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kellie001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShemCreekInn-Manager, General Manager at Shem Creek Inn, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
Thank you for sharing your comments with us. There are plans to update bathrooms in the near future though I'm very sorry that it did not appear very clean. We certainly will work on this as we want all of our guests to have a comfortable stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
2.2 mi away
Wyndham Garden Charleston Mount Pleasant
1.1 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston / Mt. Pleasant
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
1.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#17 of 22 in Mount Pleasant
4.0 of 5 stars 324 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston/Mt. Pleasant-Patriots Point
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shem Creek Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shem Creek Inn

Property: Shem Creek Inn
Address: 1401 Shrimp Boat Ln, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-4379
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#9 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Shem Creek Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by lowcountry wetlands there is something here for everyone. From bird watching to seeing the change in the tides and watching the gracefullness of the dolphins jumping near the shrimp boats. Let our courteous staff welcome you to your home away from home. Offering you a clean and comfortable atmosphere with outstanding customer service, we are "Charleston's Best kept Secret". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shem Creek Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shem Creek Hotel Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Mount Pleasant
Shem Creek Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing