We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too many other nicer hotels within a stones throw to stay here.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Ranked #18 of 25 Hotels in Mount Pleasant
Charlottesville, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Too many other nicer hotels within a stones throw to stay here.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Multiple plumbing problems in the room: toilet ran constantly, only got hot water from sink, leaky faucet flooded counter, and the sink was clogged. We reported the problems on a Monday morning, and when we got back to the room later that day, no repairs. We reminded them again on Tuesday morning, repeat the Monday experience. On Wednesday morning we checked out 2 days early and took our business elsewhere. Rates as one of the worst experiences with a hotel in my life.

I can confirm the report of SaratogaKid - the second floor hallway smelled like cigarette smoke - we had to stuff towels under the door to keep the smell out of the room.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JHR57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your comments about the hotel. I apologize about the plumbing issues you had during your stay. We do make an effort to go above and beyond for all of our guests. Customer satisfaction is very important to us and we are disapointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We hope that you will viist our area and our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    98
    47
    21
    14
See reviews for
70
95
14
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Reservation process was fine and hotel staff was very nice allowing our group to gather/hang out in the b-fast area and providing good suggestions for meals. Location is also convenient to downtown Charleston and Mt Pleasant. However, hotel is old and in need of some capital. Second floor hallway smelled like smoke. Bathroom in room needed some work (pealing paint, weathered shower area). Seemed like hotel was trying to save money by not replacing toilet paper (only a couple of sheet left). Even though room was cleaned prior to our arrival.... Room seemed like it needed a deep cleaning.

Overall was fine but based on the competitive prices in the area, I would try a different hotel next time.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank SaratogaKid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
I apologize for the problems you encountered during your stay. Our hotel has just undergone a complete renovation as of January 2013. The pictures are included on this site. We do have amenities avialable if you ever need more during your stay. Our prices are comparable with other hotels in the area. We are happy that you chose to stay at our property and hope we will see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerfield, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2013

Upon check-in, Carol was absolutely impeccable. She made sure we had everything we needed to accommodate two seniors with moderate disabilities. The daytime staff was very nice and helpful as well. The hotel looks to have been remodeled recently, and is in excellent condition. The beds and pillows were comfortable, and the hot breakfast bar was a very nice benefit.
The only thing that could even be considered a slight negative was that the room was rather small; bath had only shower stall & toilet, & had a pocket door that was not easy to open/close. But with that said, overall it was a wonderful experience and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay at our hotel. And thank you for your kind words about Carol. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. We hope that you will share your experience and we hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaGrange, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed February 26, 2013

Checked In to this sleep Inn and after parking near our room we noticed a lot of glass chards in the parking lot. we asked the desk clerk about all the glass in the parking lot and we were informed that five cars were broken into the night before. after hearing this needless to say we did not sleep well that night. I think we should have been informed of this before we checked in. Obviously this company does not have their guest's best interest in mind. Also the rooms are very small, smaller than any I have ever seen.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, March 12, 2013
I do apologize for the problems you had during your stay at our property. We accomodate thousands of guests per year and I can assure you that Mount Pleasant, S.C. is one of the safest locations in the entire United States. There are almost 400 Sleep Inn's accross the country and the standard rooms are all the same size. We offer comfortable beds, an outstanding breakfast and great service. We thank you for choosing our property and hope you will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia, United States
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I tend to stay at Sleep Inn's for one-night stays. They are usually clean, quick and comfy, and affordable. This Sleep Inn was located in a nice area, which helped with the ambiance.

We had a small issue at check-in where the room they gave us still had someones stuff in it. The desk clerk said the room was showing empty on the computer. They gave us another which was still being made up. They said that they had a busy weekend, and we were a bit early getting there. Our room was ready in 5 minutes. It was clean and comfy.

The breakfast the next morning was fine. Some of the best waffles I've had in a while.

There was an issue with our bill - we had booked online for the Sleep and Cruise package. However the bill had a different amount for the package. Perhaps a difference between what corporate has listed versus their normal rate. Even though I had forgotten my paperwork, they corrected it for us with no hassle.

We ended up not leaving our car there due to lack of getting a taxi in time, but no fault of the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sabalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you for your comments about our hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed the new refreshed look of our hotel. We have just completed a renovation and are happy that you noticed. We hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fortescue, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
130 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This hotel offers a convenient location. It's minutes to restaurants, shopping, Patriots Point and Charleston proper. Our room was cozy with a king bed, and included a frig, and microwave. The bathroom only had a step in shower, which was OK with us. The only problem was we booked a non-smoking room, and we rec'd a non-smoking room; however, someone some where was smoking. We could smell smoke in the hall way and in our room on 2 of the nights we stayed there. The hotel also offers a breakfast, muffins, toast or bagels, cereal, biscuits, hard boiled eggs, sausage patties, and sauage gravy.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elaine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RodneyC42, General Manager at Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
We are happy that you enjoyed your time at our hotel. We are also glad that you enjoyed the convenient location of our hotel. We are minutes from downtown, the beach and shopping centers. We are happy that you stayed at the Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seneca, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
257 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

This Sleep Inn is very convenient to Charleston - just across the Ravenel Bridge on Highway 17. I think the rooms have just been re-decorated. I require a non-smoking room due to asthma. The room was fine, but the hallway on the 2nd floor smells of cigarette smoke. I did not see any smoking rooms on the second floor, so I think the odor is in the carpet in the hallway. Who knows - maybe they intend to replace it soon! Let's hope so. The lady at the front desk (Carol) was very pleasant and most helpful. The have 4-5 parking spaces for Choice Priveleges Members, but if you move your car someone else will grab it. This location does have Park & Cruise so you can leave your car here while cruising. Boone Hall Plantation is very close by as well as all the sites downtown. If you are looking for posh - this isn't it. If you are looking at a good clean room, nice hot breakfast, a great value for your money, then this hotel will let you keep some money in your pocket for the fun things to do. The rooms with two double beds may seem small, but who's going to stay in their room all day anyway. Heads up - all the Sleep Inns that I have ever stayed in had a nice shower (no tub) but who uses a tub in a hotel anyway?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mount Pleasant hotels
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charleston
Clarion Inn - Mt Pleasant/Charle...
#20 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
294 reviews
4.5 mi away
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Palms Connector
Comfort Suites at the Isle of Pa...
#10 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
245 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Mt Pleasant-Charleston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Best Western Patriots Point
Best Western Patriots Point
#14 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
MainStay Suites
MainStay Suites
#23 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt.
Quality Inn & Suites Patriots Pt...
#19 of 25 in Mount Pleasant
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant

Property: Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant
Address: 299 Wingo Way, & US 17 Bypass N, Mount Pleasant, SC 29464-1802
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Mount Pleasant
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Mount Pleasant
#7 Business Hotel in Mount Pleasant
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant 2*
Number of rooms: 83
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sleep Inn Mount Pleasant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Hotel Mount Pleasant
Mount Pleasant Sleep Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing