We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quiet, tranquil, beautiful: Mapkin Abbey”
Review of Mepkin Abbey

Mepkin Abbey
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Summerville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
232 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Quiet, tranquil, beautiful: Mapkin Abbey”
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My niece and I went to Mepkin Abbey to take photographs. The site is very big and offers a plethora of fantastic photo spots. Wooden carved sculptures, natural waterways, old architecture, graveyards, flowers everywhere. You are never in a bad location. We enjoyed seeing the monks doing their daily gardening and landscaping of the site. Grab your camera and make your way through the centuries old Oak lined drive to Mepkin Abbey.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    17
    5
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Tranquil, spiritual, mystical experience”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

If you're not feeling the season, try a visit to Mepkin Abbey in November or December. The, crèche exhibit is incredible and extensive - be sure to vote for your favorite. The moss draped trees add a mystical feel to the experience and you leave feeling tranquil and spiritually at peace.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Char0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
254 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“Unique spiritual adventure”
Reviewed December 5, 2013 via mobile

Visited the abbey during the 2013 crèche festively. There were 57 manger scenes on display. So many different interpretations of this important scriptural event. Absolutely, an incredible experience. If you're in the Charleston area in November or December you must visit this unique display.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Goldwingtriker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Unusual, scenic and relaxing”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Our dentist went to med school in Charleston, and enjoyed going here. It's definitely off the beaten path from Charleston, but it is quite an unusual and pretty place. While we went on a cold and dreary day in late November, the pictures we saw would make coming back here in the spring worth it. We got a tour of the place given by a visiting priest from south Florida. He was originally from NYC and quite a character. He comes here several times a year to help out, and has been doing that for ten years. He took the time to explain to us the history of the area: formerly a rice plantation; purchased later by Henry and Clare Boothe Luce; and donated by them to become a surrogate Abbey launched by an overcrowded abbey in Kentucky after WWII. He talked quite a bit about what being a Trappist Monk is all about, and we were glad to experience their daily noon prayer service via the tour. The grounds are quite beautiful and worth exploring. You can't help but feel the day-to-day pressures of life melt away here due to the quiet and solitude sought by, and practiced by, the resident monks. They also have a nice hotel that visitors who wish to stay longer can stay at. See other reviews by one such visitor.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“peaceful & serene”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

a very peaceful and beautiful place. we took the tour and it was very informative. excellent place to be with God and nature

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Arita L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mepkin Abbey also viewed

Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
Moncks Corner, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Mepkin Abbey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing