We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is what a true B&B should be ...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Ranked #2 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“This is what a true B&B should be ...”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

A true definition of a bed and breakfast. The innkeepers are so wonderful. I stayed here in June during a recent work assignment. I cannot express enough gratitude to everyone that recommended The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee for my stays there.

Ann and Denley are so wonderful. The fresh baked breads and fruit trays in my room were always the recipe for a good healthy snack before going to work. This is the best place to stay when traveling to Mullins SC. The home has a lot of wonderful history. This a genuine gem for this location.

Room Tip: Stay in the sister's suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b0rtiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
46
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Stayed in the Brothers Room...great location on the second floor! Down a private hallway away from the other rooms. It is a wonderful place to stay and enjoyed our conversations with Ann and Denley...many revolved around our Christian faith. The porch setting is very peaceful and breakfast was outstanding.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank turbeville50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2013

This place is amazing - very tranquil & immaculate! The only down side is nothing else to do in Marion, SC - but people are wonderful!! Truly takes you back to friendlier place........................

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StaceyC0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, VA
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

At the end of Harlee St you'll find a superbly quiet refuge. Going through the quaint country side and small communities The Grove stands out as a place to enjoy the beautifully built Victorian Mansion and its surrounding gardens. We were taken aback by the spacious hallways and the 12 ft ceilings on the main floor. The beautiful wood trimmed arches and old fashioned wall coverings stand out. I felt a quiet and peace there I hadn't experienced before in our numerous stays at B&Bs. The Inn was once a family residence to the Montgomery family. Ann was so gracious to tell us of the original owners and the many amenities she and her husband Denley have added to the charm. We stayed in Miss Annie's Room. With a generous and comfy queen size bed the room is more than needed to feel you can stretch out, relax and enjoy. It was so quiet and peaceful during the night the only sound you heard was when the AC turned on. The quietness was almost a spiritual experience in itself. We woke to a scrumptious breakfast and delightful and inspiring conversation with another guest. Our short visit left us with the hope we'd be back again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MrKaffee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meriden, Connecticut, United States
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

When my husband said that he found a bed and breakfast for us to stay at I will admit I was having second thoughts! WRONG! This place is AMAZING and the owners (Ann & Denley) are the most warm and welcoming people you could ever expect to meet! The house is spectacular, the rooms are very comfortable and inviting and the breakfast was awesome. We would highly recommend this B and B to anyone! Don't be afraid to try this one....you won't be disappointed! We weren't!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael09171953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deep River
1 review
Reviewed May 7, 2013

The Inn is a big sunny Eastlake Victorian with high ceilings, tall windows, and ornate woodwork. Every corner is spotlessly clean, and every comfort is provided. Our wonderful breakfasts included fresh fruit, banana bread, omelets, fritatta, French toast, bacon, and the best grits we ever tasted. We stayed in the Montgomery room - an airy, spacious, elegantly decorated (not fussy) bedroom furnished with period antiques, big comfy chairs, and a fireplace. Everything was peaceful and relaxing. We enjoyed meeting the other guests, all of whom were as happy to be there as we were. We are now totallyspoiled for any other B & B we stay in. Ann and Denley are genuinely welcoming, hospitable, and gracious, who really enjoy sharing their home and its fascinating history with their guests; in short, the consumate hosts. We eagerly anticipate our next visit. T and C from CT

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThomasinaCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2013

The Grove is a wonderful bed and breakfast in a very nice historic town. The owers (Ann and Denley) are great folks that really make you feel welcomed. If you stay here, make sure you have them give you a complete tour of the house and grounds.
The breakfast was outstanding. I would highly recommend this B and B to anyone traveling near Myrtle Beach.

John M.

Room Tip: The Brothers room is great. Very nice bathroom with jacuzzi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnM2012_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Mullins
29 reviews
21.3 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
437 reviews
14.1 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 mi away
Best Western Inn
Best Western Inn
#15 of 41 in Florence
381 reviews
23.6 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Florence
23.8 mi away
Comfort Suites Florence
Comfort Suites Florence
#13 of 41 in Florence
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee

Property: The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Address: 408 Harllee Pl, Marion, SC 29571-3144 (Formerly Montgomery's Grove Bed and Breakfast)
Location: United States > South Carolina > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a meticulously restored 1895 Eastlake (late Victorian) mansion situated on a five acre estate in the heart of picturesque Marion, SC. Each of our five guest rooms is furnished for your comfort, some having a two-person jacuzzi. Four rooms have queen beds and one has twin bonnet beds which are original to the house. Memorabilia from the original family abounds and a parlor features Revolutionary War General Francis (Swamp Fox) Marion. The 49' hallway features beautiful natural woodwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing