We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A great place for history lovers and romantic souls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Ranked #2 of 2 Marion B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bonn, Germany
1 review
“A great place for history lovers and romantic souls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

If you ever have the choice to stay at the Grove on Harlee, Marion, please, be sure to grab it. History is becoming alive int this beautiful house. The friendly landlords, Anne & Denley, will spoil their guests not only with a delicious breakfast, but also with historical 'nutrition'. And there's a lot of American history in and around the house.
The spacious rooms are nicely decorated with love to detail, and if you ever wanted to be feeling like Scarlett O'Hara or Rhett Butler this will be the perfect place for you.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
38
3
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

I cannot wait to return to this beautiful inn. Every detail was perfect. It's within walking distance of Marion's reviving Main Street and several good local establishments. The Revolutionary War re-enactment and events honoring Francis Marion (the town's namesake) are a must for history buffs. The breakfast is fantastic and the grounds boast resident hens and their lovely home, as well.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SouthCarolinaNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goose Creek, South Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

The Grove was a sweet respite! Beautiful accommodations reminded me of Biltmore! I called it the baby Biltmore since they were both constructed around the same time. We stayed in the Senator's room. Beautiful. Each room even had its own climate control! When you visit, just be aware that the windows in this room are not completely covered and it gets lots of light in the morning. It faces the west side too, so it gets the afternoon sun also. Denley and Ann provided excellent personal service. Breakfast was always delicious. Both Ann and Denley are extremely knowledgeable about the history, both for the house and the region. My husband and I enjoyed the swing in the shade and of course the baby chicks that were hatched while we were there. Attractions in Myrtle Beach were only about an hour away which was great. We had a quiet, beautiful place to retreat away from the hussle and bussle of tourism!

Room Tip: Senator's room faces the West...gets lots of light and afternoon sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyJoSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prattville, Alabama
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

Our stay at The Grove was during a three day business trip in which my wife accompanied me. The Grove is immaculately restored inside and out. I especially enjoyed the tours provided by Denley, and I appreciate his knowledge and passion for the historical lifestyle and those who preceded him. He cooked several times on the 1940s wood-burning stove and was working in the traditional wood shop. I felt like I was living back in the late 1800s. The food was excellent, and the Sister’s Suite was perfect for us. The visit was a relaxing escape. P&A, AL

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sister's Suite and loved it. We would also like to stay in the Brother's Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Phillip F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2008

We had an absolutely blissful experience when we stayed with Denley & Ann at The Grove. They have restored their AMAZING home so beautifully and accurately. We were shocked at just how large and beautifully appointed EVERY single room was. Each room has its own bathroom and fireplace too. Denley and Ann are amazing hosts and a pleasure to talk to and stay with. I haven't even gotten to the breakfast which was to DIE for with delicious coffee, juice, an amazing fruit bowl, the best muffins we have ever had, stuffed French toast and bacon!! All of that on the best china in an amazing dining room with a roaring fire. It was all that you could wish for in a stay at a bed and breakfast. A+ and we can’t wait to visit again!!

  • Liked — The beauty of it all!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank pjgermantown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2007

My husband and I stayed there in October 2007 and it was a pure delight. The old home is beautiful and the owners are very charming. The room and bath were lovely and very clean with every amenity available and the three course breakfast was gourmet and delicious, all homemade-we're still thinking about it. We look forward to staying there again!

  • Liked — gorgeous old home with gourmet breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Huldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2007

I stayed at The Grove Inn while in Marion on business. The Grove is a former family mansion built in 1893 and the inn still has a historic, Victorian feel to it. The innkeepers, Denley and Ann Caughman, provide a welcoming, friendly atmosphere. They definitely make you feel at home. There are 4 rooms and 1 suite available. The rooms are located on the 2nd floor. Morning coffee is available in a common area on the second floor. Free soft drinks and water are also available in a refrigerator in the common area. Denley and Ann accommodated my early schedule for breakfast and the food was very good. This was my first stay at a B&B and it was a great experience. I would definitely stay at The Grove again.

Their website address is: [---]

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Journeyer_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marion
21.3 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 40 in Florence
5.0 of 5 stars 355 reviews
3.1 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Mullins
3.0 of 5 stars 21 reviews
23.3 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Florence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Florence-North/I-95
14.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Executive Inn
18.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Florence I-95 @ Hwy 327
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee

Property: The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
Address: 408 Harllee Pl, Marion, SC 29571-3144 (Formerly Montgomery's Grove Bed and Breakfast)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Marion
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Marion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grove is a meticulously restored 1895 Eastlake (late Victorian) mansion situated on a five acre estate in the heart of picturesque Marion, SC. Each of our five guest rooms is furnished for your comfort, some having a two-person jacuzzi. Four rooms have queen beds and one has twin bonnet beds which are original to the house. Memorabilia from the original family abounds and a parlor features Revolutionary War General Francis (Swamp Fox) Marion. The 49' hallway features beautiful natural woodwork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing