We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thursday the buffet is breakfast”
Review of Shoney's

Shoney's
Ranked #8 of 41 Restaurants in Manning
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Manning, South Carolina
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Thursday the buffet is breakfast”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

There is a different theme each night for the buffet, Thursday it is breakfast. Muffins and biscuits are good, bacon usually well done, eggs a little runny. Waitresses are pleasant enough, but not what they used to since the manager changed. The restaurant could sure use an update.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    43
    34
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
108 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Food Ok”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Main draw to this restaurant is the food bar. Don't care much for that type of menu choice. Ordered a sandwich which was not very big and kind of dry. Service was good and fast.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paule E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summerton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
63 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Don't know what happen but...”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went to Shoney's in Manning for lunch yesterday and I don't know what happened but I glad it did. Had the buffet and it was AWESOME! Best buffet I have had at Shoney's since I can remember. Every thing was flavorful. Not the flavor when you know a bunch has been added to make it taste good. Flavorful in that it was fresh and seasoned just right without it being too much. The fried chicken and pork chops were crispy and very tender. The corn and cabbage - yummy! The butter beans had the right amount of pork in them and the mashed potatoes? Lord have mercy the mashed potatoes had the right amount of lumps in them that you know they were fresh mashed and not instant. Never made it to desert. My desert was a second helping of the chicken, butter beans over rice and corn. My mouth is watering. Thank you Shoney's for an excellent buffet!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“slow service but good food”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Shoney's was next door to the Hampton Inn so we stopped in after a long day of driving. I think this town rolls up the sidewalks fairly early because by 10pm we were the only ones in there other than the Sherrif. Apparently the waitstaff were shorthanded that night so it took quite a while to get our food but once it came it was delicious. I ordered a southern vegetable stew and it was so full of flavor I would have ordered a second if I were not so full from the portion and from my delicious milk shake.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank GreekMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Stopped at Shoney's for dinner. The staff is amazing, and very friendly and professional, but the buffet, floors, and tables were not clean at all.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shoney's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing