We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Great Dive”
Review of Crab Catchers

Crab Catchers
Ranked #5 of 71 Restaurants in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Gloucester, VA
Level Contributor
103 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“A Great Dive”
Reviewed December 7, 2012

If you looking for fancy, stay away from here! None of the chairs match, the rustic old tables are covered in cheap tablecloths, the floors are concrete... but the food is just great! My wife raved about the crab cakes. Best she's had in all of her 63 years. This was out second visit in two years and we loved it. It's a rustic little old fishing village fish house, so be prepared for that. Portions are adequate, prices a little on the high side, but no complaints. Try it - you'll have fun.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

726 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    349
    211
    80
    42
    44
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
137 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Great food with no frills”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Don't judge a book by it's cover... Food is served in plastic baskets with plasticware and paper cups. Food is delicious maybe just a bit overpriced.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KJE134
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
84 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

food was great and drinks were priced fair. the view was great. sit on the waterway and enjoy a great meal. lots of locals go there to eat. never had a bad meal.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank CLARK E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
136 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“shabby can be very good”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

nice deck over waterway to spend Sunday afternoons in good weather. dinner at night can be
excellent if you order well. steamed oysters very clean, good size. grilled shrimp good.
crab legs very good. service good...especially if you remember servers name and speak up.
very relaxed. bucket for shells and trash. roll of hand towels on table...all very practical.
crab cakes unexceptional. fried food available. .alcohol definitely available. very good place
in taken on its own terms.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Glenn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Maryland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great fried shrimp”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Our friends have a condo in North Myrtle Beach, and they really like this restaurant. We sat outside and watched the sunset and the shrimp boats come in. I had the fried shrimp, and it was wonderful. Unlike a lot of fried shrimp which are lumps of batter with shrimp inside, these shrimp had what looked like a dusting of bread crumbs and seasoning, and the serving was generous. They looked like curled up shrimp, and tasted fresh. My husband had the special, sea bass, and thought it was excellent. Our waitress was friendly and efficient.

One of the locals we met, who lives in Little River, said this place could "fry a napkin" - and yes, they do serve fried corn on the cob (we didn't try it but it looked like boiled corn with seasoning, rather than batter-dipped). The food tasted fresh, not oily or heavily breading like fried seafood in other restaurants.

Our friends recommended taking desserts home with us, as they love the coconut cream pie. We had limoncello cake and key lime pie and they were delicious. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank millerrolab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crab Catchers also viewed

 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Crab Catchers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing