We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parson's Table

The Parson's Table
Reserve with OpenTable
The Parson's Table is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 69 Restaurants in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $16 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Highway 17
Description: Not only can you get a juicy roast prime rib at The Parson"s Table, but you can eat it inside a church, too. The location remains very much the same structure that it was in 1885, when Little River Methodist Church was built. The cherished establishment first opened its church doors as a restaurant in the late 1970's and has been serving exquisite American steakhouse fare ever since. The restaurant's decor is positively Southern-charm antique, complete with dark wooden walls, stained glass windows and an original Tiffany glass lamp in the main dining room. An award winning wine list graces The Parson's Table as well as an outstanding fresh seafood selection.
Duluth
Level Contributor
83 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

The picture suggests humble surroundings and then you enter into a beautifully restored church. The decor is unique; rustic yet elegant. The stained glass and little alcoves create an intimate setting. The food was outstanding. I had the duck, my companions had prime rib, an ahi special, and short ribs. All were delicious and inventive with generous portions. Everything was homemade from the croutons, the salad dressing, and breads... Yum. The chef came around and chatted with the diners - nice touch. This restaurant has been a favorite for family members who winter here and I can definitely see why.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MnPolishPrincess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    441
    111
    30
    19
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ocean Isle Beach, North Carolina
Level Contributor
139 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Not Close to What I expected !”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

I have heard rave reviews of Parsons Table in Little River,South Carolina.
So my wife & adult daughter went there Thursday evening at about 5:45 PM.
As we entered there was a bar on the right, and a "host" who said?: Do you have reservations? I answered, No. So he then asked what was our last name ???
Any way the place was empty, so why all the questions?
So we were seated along the wall at a table. The place was an old church and well decorated. I was unsure why all the tables along the wall had white Paper over the table cloths, a bit tacky, but there were real cloth napkins!
So the waitress whose name was ZANE, helped us and took our order.
Upon leaving the table she picked up the menus and along with the menus came the paper tablecloth, tumbling my wife's Cosmopolitan, she was quite shocked.
So instead of changing our table, which a restuarant that attemps to be "high class" would have done, she wiped up the table with a bar rag. I wondered what would happen to the Cosmo? Well here came Zane with a small bar shaker and filled the same glass that tumbled with a refill, but as she filled the glass again, she proceeded to spill some of that, so she just walked away and we sat at a wet table.She took the rest back to the bar. I found that very unprofessional to say the least. So we got our salad and at 6:50 we Finally got our meals, a very long wait for an uncrowded restaurant. 1 hour and 5 minutes after sitting at the table! The food was good, not great but the experience was not worth the wait or trouble.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank rprichied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“PRIME rib !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2013

This was our second visit, and the food was every bit as good as the first time! Prime rib done to perfection...great service...and the setting in a former church from the 1800s makes the dining experience really worth the visit. Actually had desert this time, and the key lime pie with fresh berries on the side was to die for! Sampled my partner's chocolate mousse also - but the pie comes in first place! Next time: Shrimp and Grits!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank beachbumbabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Glasgow, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best in myrtle beach area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have been going to the parsons table valentines day for the past four years. Food is always excellent and we have yet to be disappointed by a meal. Good value for the money

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ken W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
131 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Worth the ride from Myrtle Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

I have dined at The Parson's Table several times over the years when visiting Myrtle Beach. Each time the food has been superb and the service impeccable. The decor, with its variety of original stained glass windows and antiques, creates a lovely setting for a special evening. Most recently, I had the cashew encrusted rack of lamb. It was incredible; seven meaty slices of lamb in a rich Madeira sauce. The lavender-infused creme brûlée was dense, but remarkably light. The Parson's Table is a gastronomical delight. Treat yourself!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lisammc285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Parson's Table also viewed

 
Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Myrtle Beach, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Parson's Table? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing