We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will return, you should try this mom and pop business.”

Capt. Juel's Hurricane
Ranked #7 of 71 Restaurants in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Sushi, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: In the mid 1900's a new chapter of history was made in a small town in Little River S.C. At that time a restaurant was opened in the very banks of the Intercoastal Waterway, called Capt. Juel's Hurricane. In the mid 70's the restaurant was brought by Joe Robertson, who still owns it today. You will still find Mr. Joe in and around the kitchen and his wife Deanna behind the bar mixing up killer drinks or in the kitchen preparing the luscious desserts. The restaurant is managed by their daughter Heidi and her husband Clayton, it truly is a family affair.In 2014 the place under went a total renovation inside and out. The restaurant now features a new Sushi Bar, that's a must have over looking the untouched marshlands. Capt. Juel's stills brings you the freshest seafood, hand cut steaks and chops. The menu is filled with a variety of choices from tacos to burgers. Or maybe just stop by the have a drink on the deck and enjoy seeing the fishing boats bring in the catch of the day.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“We will return, you should try this mom and pop business.”
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

The food was off the hook awesome. Best Salmon BLT ever.....it was cooked to perfection. Kids loved their dishes also... I highly recommend you trying this. They were even better than Mr.Fish.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank inkboyzgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    79
    38
    16
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
194 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Beautiful view - Great food!”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This is an old restaurant that really has it down! Great raw oysters on the half-shell served with lemon, horse radish, hot sauce - New Orleans style. The captain Juel's famous seafood stew was delicious - not really a stew, more like jambalaya served over yellow rice. Good hush puppies.
The atmosphere is "old school" loud and fun. Go early looks like it gets really crowded in prime time. Sit on the deck - lovely view.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JoPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, MD
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice waterfront view”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

We tried to go another place (with a higher rating on TA) but their outdoor area was all full. So we went next door to this place and were sat immediately. As most people will tell you, the place is dated. But we didn't worry about that because we walked right through the restaurant out to their waterfront deck. We had perfect weather and an excellent atmosphere out there. We started with the bacon wrapped scallops, which were a little pricey for the size but they were really good. The hushpuppies were really good and once we found out they were bottomless we kept the baskets coming. Our table got the blackened trio, the mahi with fried green tomatoes, mahi sandwich, and the au gratin. Everyone enjoyed what they got. The mahi was fresh and cooked perfectly. Even my grits were great. My biggest complaint was there were no beers on tap, but that's a small one. There are a lot of options down on the water, if you have the chance, you should check Captain Juel's out.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JimmyBaltimore_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Just had dinner at this unexpected find. The food was fantastic. Stuffed flounder was incredible. The building is a little old, but move past that and enjoy the food

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shultzy501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“old school and yummy”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

motown on the jukebox and he served us field peas! the food was excellent. clayton was our server and was very nice. oysters fried to perfection and really good key lime pie. the restaurant definitely needed a reno, it was a little run down, but he food was great and we will be back!!!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank iambimini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Capt. Juel's Hurricane also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Capt. Juel's Hurricane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing