We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this Place”
Review of Snooky's

Snooky's
Ranked #9 of 71 Restaurants in Little River
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Serves outstanding low country American food and is on the ICW
Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved this Place”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Small but nice restaurant overlooking the channel. We ordered the stuffed potato appetizer which was delicious.Our entrees were well-prepared, and we had enough left over for lunch the next day. Friendly service, and so much better than the "chain" restaurants around.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank janniree57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    175
    121
    37
    16
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIDLOTHIAN
Level Contributor
68 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view and atmosphere, average food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We were a party of eight. Got off to a bad start when our beer drink glasses were frosted but dirty. Same issue with dirty water glasses. Food was OK but pricey. Service was good

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JOHN C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia area
Level Contributor
437 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
“Grease and starch! And we had expected much more....so we report some unfortunate 'firsts.'”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Ugh! The calamari appetizer not only had some of the greasiest calimari in our experience (and we often order this appetizer), but the breaded calamari were inexplicably and unexpectedly interspersed with Chinese or Mexican crackers--also full of grease. This was a first for us: not finishing a calamari appetizer. (And the first time we have seen the calamari mixed in with cracker-items--I assume to give the appearance of more than there were.)
And, on the recommendation of Tripadvisor writers, we ordered Grouper sandwiches. We expected breading, since the description advertised breading with almonds. We did not expect the breading to outweigh the fish. In fact, the fish was a very thin layer of what seemed to be very old fish, inserted into a proponderance of very thick and deep fried breading. Certainly it lacked flavor, and even was tough. So there was another first for us: the first time, ever I think, that we did not finish an ordered fish item AND did not ask for a box for the leftover. I did pick off an almond flake or two. I might add that there were plenty of fries on the platters, and they included a dollop of over-mayonaissed cole slaw. But we were already overgreased and did not partake much. (Another first--not finishing the cole slaw!)
We also had ordered the Greek salad. It was OK, but overpriced. It came accompanied with some slabs of pita (also greased), which we skipped. However, it was not memorable and, another first, was not finished.
This is sort of a last straw, but I think it is indicative of what seems to be a lack in caring about customers: when I went to the Ladies room the paper towel roll in the holder was empty, and instead a roll was on the sink counter--with thin strips peeled from it by customers trying to dry their hands. No one employed there had thought to put it in the holder.
We sure won't return here!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank NorthArrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“This place is really good!”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We have been here twice and both time the food has been AWESOME!!! The key lime pie is homemade and must be tried! Great place!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rhys_and_TJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I found this place last year on vacation just by searching on my phone for local places to eat. The food and service were great and my kids actually remembered it and requested to go back this year which we did. It's off the main road on the water but the place stays busy and reservations are recommended. They have a revolving menu of specials prepared by the chef as well as several signature drinks.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JagIlbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Snooky's also viewed

Calabash, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Snooky's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing