We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hometown Certified”
Review of Lizard's Thicket

Lizard's Thicket
Ranked #14 of 212 Restaurants in Lexington
Restaurant details
Level Contributor
104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Hometown Certified”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Southern fare served fresh daily. Its like eating in your grandmother's kitchen.

Their famous salad with fried or baked chicken is a must. A hearty helping of fresh vegetables.

They have one of the beat hamburger steaks with grilled onions in the Midlands.

A true hometown gem!

Helpful?
Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    51
    29
    11
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Southern Homestyle Cooking with Good Prices”
Reviewed June 27, 2014

What was not to like, the prices were great, and the food was very good, My wife is a Filipino and she really liked the food of this place. The food was very fresh tasting, unlike some where you can taste the salt, this had the flavor of the vegetables come thru, the fish I had was very good along with the meat my wife had, sorry forgot what type it was, the menu board had a very wide selection to choose from, the cornbread was very good flavor. The staff was very friendly also and the service was good. I would very much recommend this place as we stopped here by another person and we agree with him.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stewartsville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
190 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Okay southern cooking”
Reviewed March 14, 2014 via mobile

Here visiting family and ordered takeout. It was good not great. I had a salmon patty. Could not taste much salmon, lots of bread inside but was tasty. Black Eyed Peas were cooked well except a little salty. Fried okra a little overcooked and not very seasoned. Cornbread a little dry. Mac and cheese was pretty good. My husband liked the pulled pork, although it was on the sweet side. Collards were good. My family who lives here have had takeout several times. For the price and convenience would probably try again and order something else; better than fast food and they have a large selection; especially vegetables.

Helpful?
Thank rorudupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fine country cooking!”
Reviewed March 5, 2014

If you want a traditional southern meal, this is the place. They do the "meat & 3" or you can choose 2 vegetables if you prefer. They also have a good chef salad for those that eat healthy. If you splurge for dessert, get them to warm up a piece of their pecan pie! Yum!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, South Carolina
Level Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Home town cooking”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Thicket is a stand-by when you want solid food. They strive to serve fresh vegetables and a good choice of meats. Good cornbread and butter. We like their breakfast menu also. Good place to pick up food and take home.. Very reasonable prices and good quantity and quality.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Murrary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lizard's Thicket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing