We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Super Fresh Food w/ A Friendly Smile"”
Review of Private Property

Private Property
Reserve with OpenTable
Private Property is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #4 of 214 Restaurants in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $29
Cuisines: American, Cajun & Creole, Barbecue, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: PRIVATE PROPERTY SC is a local family owned establishment that creates a grassroots value by capturing the southern lifestyle in a way that is appreciated and authentic. Our goal is to provide a casual, affordable, comfortable and memorable experience for our guests. We use the highest quality ingredients to create a Cajun and Country infused menu that highlights our southern heritage and love of Louisiana cookin.
Elgin, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“"Super Fresh Food w/ A Friendly Smile"”
Reviewed March 3, 2014

All the Staff here are amazing. Southern New Orleans Style Flar right in the heart of Lexington SC. Even if you just need some alone time or dine single to treat yourself to a great meal there is an excellent menu. Every item on the menu is made with love. Don't look for a Sign just look for the Beautiful Colonial Style White House with indoor & outdoor seating for all occasions!!
Very tasty food with reasonable prices & above all excellent service with a smile (:

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Angela L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    61
    23
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Hospitality with Excellent Food"”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

It doesn't get any better than Private Property. New Orleans Cajun country cuisine served by warm and friendly members of the restaurant staff. Going by yourself is not a problem because the staff makes you feel comfortable. Even though the restaurant doesn't have signage in the front yard the "Welcome" mat is always out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank P29072
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hickory, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent value”
Reviewed February 16, 2014

Very good food at reasonable prices - excellent value.

The experience would be better without the disposable drink-ware and plates.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike-Hickory-NC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

We're thrilled to have something a little different in Lexington....great addition! Food, atmosphere, service....all fantastic.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Louisiana food in South Carolina”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Our party was in town for business and looking for a non-chain restaurant. In searching UrbanSpoon, this location popped up with good reviews, so we took a chance.

There is no sign advertising the business, only a neon "Open" in a window. The restaurant is located in a huge house built in 1809, beautifully renovated and appointed. When we arrived shortly after 5:00, the place was virtually empty, which can be a bad sign. We were cordially greeted and seated right away. The menu items were fairly typical of a south Louisiana restaurant, and when I learned the owner/chef was from the New Orleans area, things fell into place.

I ordered a domestic beer and it was served in a freezing cold longneck, much like you would get pulling it from an ice chest. My appetizer was a bowl of gumbo, and for an entrée' I had the seafood jambalaya. Others in my party ordered "gator bites" for an appetizer, along with jambalaya and crab cakes.

My gumbo arrived in a relatively large bowl. The color was unmistakable, but I would prefer a thicker roux. The soup was filled with chicken and sausage and had a wonderful flavor. My jambalaya arrived a short time later, and contained large shrimp and Andouille sausage. The flavor of the jambalaya was unique to my taste, but very good.

After chatting up the owner, I discovered he is from SE Louisiana, and the recipes are his family's. The dishes we had were very good, and I definitely felt at home, both with the architecture and the food. We will definitely be back if given the opportunity.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Private Property also viewed

 

Been to Private Property? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing