We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Smelly Rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Smelly Rooms”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for one night while on a road trip.

Parking and check-in went fine, until we went to our room. It smelled like a cross between mold and cat urine. The ceiling even had black mold on it.
We asked for a new room and hoped that this was just a fluke. We were given a room a few doors down and it was only slightly better. The smell wasn't as bad, but there was mold on the ceiling and a dirty tissue on the floor as we walked in. We ended up staying, because we were very tired but we will not be staying here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AverageTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Dear AverageTom,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We strive to offer clean, comfortable rooms to each and every one of our guests and are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations. Room cleanliness is a top priority at our hotel and we will investigate the issues mentioned in your review to ensure that this is not a problem in the future. We understand how important it is to check into a clean, comfortable guest room and hope that you will stay with us again so that we can provide you with the excellent service that you and all of our guests deserve. We really appreciate your time because it is feedback like yours that allows us to make improvements and better serve our future guests. Please contact our General Manager, Chad Cook, if you have any further questions or comments.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Lexington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    261
    88
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
147
86
23
116
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Collinsville, IL
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel at least six different occasions in the last two months. The staff are always very helpful and courteous. The rooms are clean and never have to ask twice for any special requests. The only drawback of this property is the parking. It's a little sparse and for a woman traveller, I don't like to walk from the end of a dark parking lot to a side door of the hotel at night.

Otherwise, this property is right up there with the standard expected at a Hampton Inn.

Room Tip: I like the King suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Barbara D,

Thank you very much for the four star review about the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff members and clean rooms. In addition, we want to thank you for sharing your concerns about parking. You will be happy to know that the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel is in a very safe location and we do have lights in our parking lot. We encourage all of our guests to contact the front desk immediately if any lights are burned out so that we can fix the problem. Thanks again for all of your time. We truly appreciate your kind words and constructive feedback. Reviews like yours allow us to improve the overall experience for future guests. We hope to see you again soon at the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Columbia / Lexington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kissimmee, Florida
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2012

After driving all night, we were able to check in early with no problem. The business center was great with free internet and printer. Hot breakfast every morning was a real treat. Located near many places to eat and shop. Staff was very friendly and efficient. We will stay there every time we are in Lexington!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Stayed here nearly a week with 6 others. No complaints. Rooms were very clean,w/ large flat screen TV and HD cable. Good full breakfast and staff who kept buffet resupplied. Front desk staff exceptional. Hotel is located near restaurants but has no bar or dining except breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Texaholic2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster County, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2012

I can't exactly explain why, but this doesn't compare to other Hampton Inns we've visited. The staff was friendly, and check-in went quickly. The room was ok, but again, not like other Hampton Inns we've stayed in. The bed wasn't comfortable, the fitted sheet wouldn't stay on, and the top sheet was too short for the bed. The website advertises a jetted tub/hydro spa, night light in the bathroom, and USA Today each morning. None of those were there. None of that is terrible either, but contributed to my general impression that this wasn't as nice as other HI's we've visited. Whenever possible, we stay in Hampton Inns when we travel. This time, it wasn't worth the extra expense over other less expensive chains.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sjt2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Caseysgrandma,

Thank you very much for the four star review about our hotel. We appreciate the kind words about our friendly staff members and quick check in process. However, we are disappointed to hear that you experienced a few inconveniences during your stay. To clear up some confusion, we have included some feedback to the comments in your review: Our hotel beds feature the world famous Hampton Inn Cloud 9 bedding that is found in all Hampton Inn hotels. In addition, a few of our suites do feature bathtubs with jets. Guests can upgrade to one of these suites when they call to make their reservation. Guest are also given complimentary access to Gold’s Gym during their stay. Gold’s Gym is located just around the corner and they offer a hot tub, sauna, and indoor swimming pool along with their fitness equipment. And finally, our newspapers are available in two places. When guests log onto the internet at our hotel, they can view the newspaper online. In addition, we have newspapers available every day in the hotel lobby. We apologize if these hotel amenities were not explained clearly on the website, and hope that you will stay with us again in the future so that you can take advantage of these wonderful features. Plus, we just finished renovating our hotel lobby and are proud to present our new, modern look. Please come visit us again soon and let us know what you think! We truly appreciate all of your time. It is feedback like yours that allows us to improve and better serve our future guests.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Lexington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt. Pleasant, SC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

This hotel was perfect for our family getaway to Columbia, SC. Upon arrival, a fresh bowl of fruit at the desk was a welcome snack for my children after a busy day at the Riverbanks Zoo! The room itself was clean and comfortable. There were several restaurants nearby to choose from for dinner. Plenty of shops are located nearby, as well, in case you forgot something from home or just wantto spend a little time browsing. When we returned from dinner, the representative from the desk won over my kids with the offer of a juice box and cookie for a bedtime snack. Breakfast the next morning was well received as they offered hot and cold breakfast selections. It wasbthe perfect way to fuel up before hitting th Edventure Childrens Museum downtown. Would highly recommend this hotel to anyone when visiting the Columbia area!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melanie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Melanie T,

Thank you very much for the five star review about the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel. We really appreciate the kind words about our clean rooms, friendly staff members, and breakfast buffet. We are so glad that you and your family chose to stay with us at the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel, and hope that you enjoyed your time at Riverbanks Zoo and EdVenture Children’s Museum. We are pleased to hear that you were able to take advantage of our close proximity to local restaurants, shops, and attractions. Thanks again for all of your time. We hope to see you again soon at the Hampton Inn Columbia / Lexington hotel.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Lexington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

I have stayed here for several years now when working in the Columbia area. The rooms are always great, if there is some small problem, they attend to it quickly. The people are ALL friendly and helpful. You get to use Golds Gym. There is a grocery store and several places to eat within a half mile. Breakfast is very good, and varies from day to day. Easy to get to, off the main road, so it is quiet.
I would tell anyone planning on being in the Lexington side of Columbia to stay here,
Jeff

Room Tip: ask if you want a room with fridge and microwave
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danielle S, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Jeff D,

Thank you for taking the time to write a five star review about the Hampton Inn Columbia / Lexington hotel. We are so glad that you choose to stay with us when you visit Columbia on business, and we cannot thank you enough for the kind words about our great rooms, helpful staff, and breakfast buffet. We are pleased to hear that you enjoy the complimentary access to Gold’s Gym and the close proximity to the grocery store and local restaurants. We have gone through some renovations and you will be happy to know that we now offer a microwave and refrigerator in each guest room. Thanks again for all of your time. We appreciate it and look forward to seeing you again soon at the Hampton Inn Lexington hotel.

Sincerely,
Hampton Inn Columbia / Lexington Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
0.5 mi away
Comfort Suites Lexington
Comfort Suites Lexington
#3 of 7 in Lexington
353 reviews
5.1 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
2.6 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Lexington
7.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Columbia-I-26 Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia

Property: Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia
Address: 601 Columbia Ave, Highway 378, Lexington, SC 29072-2667
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia 2.5*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Columbia Lexington Hotel Lexington
Hampton Inn Lexington
Lexington Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing