We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Off the beaten path, but nice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Kingsport, Tennessee
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path, but nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2011

From the outside, this appeared to be a first generation Hampton Inn that was converted to a Holiday Inn Express so we were a little skeptical at first. It is located behind a row of commercial properties on a busy artery, so it was a bit difficult to find late at night. Judging by the size of the mature landscaping (which was nice, by the way), it's about 20 years old. Inside, it is very well maintained and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. We felt right at home. the bedding was very nice and the flat screen TV had reasonable viewing options (although they were grainy - not HD). It was a traditional 'old school' hotel room layout with two beds and a lamp in between. I would've preferred more separation or a partial room divider (we were traveling with a teenager). Breakfast had good options - lots of weekend soccer teams and traveling retirees. It is a very upscale suburban community. The property seemed to appeal to a broad range of people.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jefffleming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    26
    19
    11
    14
See reviews for
30
16
14
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

I travel for business all over south east. The staff (Especially Julie ) is always gracious, professional and respectful.
The rooms are spacious, clean and the bed is comfortable. I always remember the work desk at this hotel while working on narrow work desks at some other hotels, work desk here is broader then most other hotels, it makes my work so much more convenient since I have lot of papers to deal with along with my laptop.
I like the fact that hotel is located in downtown Lexington with restaurants and stores steps from the door. I prefer such inside city locations compared to exit ramp so it makes my evenings more enjoyable.
hotel has nice calm, quiet and pleasant environment, perfect to relax after a long day of work.
In nutshell, it's excellent staff, clean large rooms, great location and reasonable rates

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
174 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

My husband and I were just passing through SC on our way to New Orleans and decided to stay in Lexington as it was getting late afternoon. I had enough hotel reward points for this Holiday Inn Express but wanted to see the hotel before I booked. As we were getting closer (using my GPS), I kept saying "what a beautiful town"! It looked manicured and just lovely. I mentioned to the gentleman at the front desk of the hotel how much I loved the look of the town. He asked if I had been down Main Street, which I had not. I ASSUME he meant that too was beautiful. I don't know about sightseeing there as we left early morning, but the hotel was quite nice and clean and appeared to be fairly new (don't know for sure). I would definitely stay there again if ever passing through. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank snow2day
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2011

This hotel was outstanding. The building itself is probably a bit nicer than other holiday Inn express and suites at which I have stayed. This hotel's distinct difference however was the staff. Everyone we interacted with was incredible. All very helpful! The most amazing part of our stay was the woman who runs the breakfast area. My kids fell in love with her and she was amazing! It's the little things that make a hotel worthwhile and this woman made us feel right at home.

The rooms were excellent and well maintained. I would definitely encourage people to stay at this property.It is located in downtown Lexington, Within walking distance to restaurants and stores. Price was very competitive and for what you get at this property your dollar goes much further.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pp1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia sc
Level Contributor
72 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2011

Used this hotel for a family reunion. Booked over 2 months in advance. Do not use for a group reservation or you will experience problems from the booking thru check out. Housekeeping and front desk seem to have a communication problem which then leads to "the guest" is at fault. If you like walking in on dirty rooms, people in bed and broken ACs or hassles with night check ins.. this is your place. A good rate isn't worth the trouble. Response to my concerns were met with "housekeeping had a busy weekend" . This is a local problem because our experiences with other HIEXP have been great.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lexington hotels

Vegas
Level Contributor
51 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2011

I had a real good experience at this hotel, I arrived in a huge rainstorm, (3 miles from interstate so if you are looking for 'right off the highway' this is not for you) the hotel had no
non-smoking rooms left, but the front desk employee let me check out a smoking room, and it did not smell overwhelmingly so I took it, and she gave me a great discount. There are good-not fast food- restaurants nearby, so that is a plus. Good neighborhood, friendly staff.
Standard holiday inn cleanliness and amenities.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back yous see trees not parking
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy2667
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2011

The staff was fully knowledgeable of the hotel and area. One of the staff directed me to the best restaurant I've ever eaten at. This location is convenient to shopping, restaurants, etc. I truly enjoyed the room; it was clean and relaxing. My only complaint is that I couldn't stay longer.

Room Tip: I had a room overlooking the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phild12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lexington
1.4 mi away
Comfort Suites Lexington
Comfort Suites Lexington
#3 of 7 in Lexington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
4.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Columbia / Lexington
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn Lexington/Columbia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Lexington
2.0 mi away
WoodSpring Suites Columbia Lexington
7.0 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Columbia Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites
Address: 131 Innkeeper Dr, Lexington, SC 29072-7405
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Lexington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Lexington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites, Lexington South Carolina. Our beautiful property is located in the center point of Lexington shopping & dining, only minutes to downtown Columbia, SC. Our three story hotel offers a selection of king, two queen beds or wheelchair accessible rooms and/or suites to meet everyone's needs. Each of our tastefully decorated rooms and suites are equipped with in-room coffee makers, irons & ironing boards, hair dryers, refrigerators & microwaves, and 32' LCD TV In standard rooms and 37' LCD TV in suites with cable, CNN, ESPN, HBO and 48 cable channels and more. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites offers a boardroom (accommodating up to 12 persons), as well as a large meeting room accommodating up to 100 persons. Catering and audio visual are provided upon request. Whether your visiting the Lexington/Columbia area for business or pleasure, take time to enjoy our seasonal outdoor pool and fitness facility. Join us for our excellent Express Start breakfast buffet served daily from 6:30 a.m. until 10:00 a.m. Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is conveniently located to all types of recreational venues to include beautiful Lake Murray, several theatres for the performing arts and Lexington County's award winning historical museums. We sincerely hope you'll enjoy your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel Lexington
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites
Lexington Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Lexington

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing