We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Retirement Kickoff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 1 Latta B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 22, 2012

We started our retirement celebration by staying here overnight. The accommodations were outstanding, the food was superb, and the service by Patty and Michael was off the charts. This is an outstanding B&B.

Room Tip: The entire place is very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JamesM8057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 178 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2012

The service, food and accomodations were well beyond anything expected. We only needed a nice "B&B" for two days but were amazed with what we found here. The house and grounds were beautiful, the food spectacular, Michael and Patty very friendly and professional. Next time we will plan to spend extra time to enjoy the cooking classes and dinners.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spittenkitten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2012

On our way to Charleston, SC we stayed overnight at this beautiful Inn. Our room was very nice, the owners were very accommodating and the dinner was delicious. If you are driving through, don't hesitate to stop.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Gail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

For us, it is a destination. We live 2 1/2 hours away and go here periodically for the hospitality, comfortable room and world class food. It is a mini Inn at Little Washington for us. Chef Patty is modest but super talented. It is in Latta, not Dillon; Latta is small and quaint, whereas Dillon is big, ugly and foodless. Don't miss this wonderful place.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank LocalCitizen3939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

It was amazing to find such a spectacular place so close to I-95. What a great overnight stop on the way to anywhere (it's even worth going out of your way.)The property and surrounding area are beautiful and well maintained. Bed was extremely comfortable and every possible amenity was provided in the room.Both dinner and breakfast were awesome. This property gets a lot of repeat visitors, so you feel like you're attending a house party, while privacy is still preserved. Needless to say, the hosts were extremely professional, while warm and friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcookep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2012

We've been visiting Abindgon Manor atleast once (somtimes twice) a month since July 2007. This is the most beautiful Bed & Breakfast Inn that I 've ever visited! The rooms are just gorgeous. The food is absolutely delicious! There is not a dish that I haven't tried that I don't like. Mike and Patty have become two of our dearest friends!

Room Tip: The master suite is always my favorite choice, but I've also enjoyed the Red Room and the Savann...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LaTonya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2012

What a wonderful surprise awaited us at Abingdon Manor. We spent the night on our way back home from the winter in Florida. We arrived to a warm welcome from Michael the owner and host who gave us a tour and quick history of the beautiful Inn and gardens. We were offered refreshments and invited to make ourselves comfortable on the lovely verandah. I believe there are 7 rooms each of them beautiful and well appointed. we took a sneak peak into the others we were the first guests of the day.
Dinner was at 7.30 and wow, a seven course feast. As you have read Patty, Michael's wife is a chef, and she did not disappoint us,each course better than the one before. I wished we could have spent a few days. Breakfast the next morning was another treat.
We hope to visit again, it is a perfect location, Latta SC is just a few minutes off "I 95". Definitely worth a stop.
Patty also has a cooking school which is very tempting, we might just try to fit that in somehow. This Inn was the highlight of our leisurely 4 day trip back north and the best meal all winter.
Thanks Michael and Patty, I hope to see you again.

Room Tip: I belive most of the rooms are beautiful and have lots of either windows or a walk out .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melissaC2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Latta
12 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#1 of 3 in Mullins
29 reviews
21.7 mi away
Hotel Florence
Hotel Florence
#1 of 41 in Florence
455 reviews
11 mi away
Rosewood Manor House
Rosewood Manor House
#1 of 2 in Marion
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.5 mi away
The Grove -- The Inn on Harlee
6 mi away
Best Western Executive Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant

Address: 307 Church St, Latta, SC 29565-1357
Location: United States > South Carolina > Latta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Latta
Price Range: $221 - $223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abingdon Manor provides the only luxury accommodations in the Carolinas or Georgia close to interstate 95. The Inn is listed by AAA as a “Classic Country Inn” and had received the prestigious Four Diamond rating for fifteen consecutive years. The property, on the National Register of Historic Places, was built at the beginning of the 20th century as an opulent private home and, while now an Inn, retains the feel of an opulent private residence. A member of Select Registry, Distinguished Inns of North American, Abingdon Manor is ranked among the best Inns in the country. Located in a residential section of the historic district in the charming village of Latta it is just 25 miles north of Florence. The Inn is halfway between New York City and Palm Beach as well as Washington DC and Jacksonville, Florida and it is just 5 miles east of 95. Purchased by Michael and Patty Griffey from Miami, Florida in 1995 to operate as a luxury Inn, extensive renovations, decorating and landscaping have turned this magnificent building into a refined, elegant setting for travelers. The seven guest rooms in the 10,000 square foot building insures privacy, peace and tranquility. The award winning restaurant, The Dining Room at Abingdon Manor, also rated Four Diamonds by AAA, provides fine dining nightly, with full liquor and wine listing. At a fraction of the cost of comparable properties, the Inn offers the discriminating traveler looking for upscale accommodations a particular value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Abingdon Manor Inn and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing