We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for lunch with the girls”

Stone Soup Market & Cafe
Ranked #3 of 19 Restaurants in Landrum
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Stone Soup is a casual fine dining establishment focused on hospitality and community. Nestled in the Carolina foothills of Landrum, South Carolina our restaurant is surrounded by beauty. Just as many regulars as visitors pass through our doors and each one is treated like family. If you're looking for a few drinks with friends, a dinner with the family, or a quiet date Stone Soup is here to cater to you.
Campobello, South Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place for lunch with the girls”
Reviewed May 22, 2013

I love Stone Soup. I always have an excellent meal. It seems their menu is just a little different from any other place and that's what makes it appealing. I've never been disappointed. Just when I think I'm just going to order an entree, they tell me the soups of the day. I always end up getting one of their delicious soups. I really would like to try their Sunday brunch. I'm pretty sure it will be a winner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SallyH812
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    50
    15
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tryon, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Sunday Brunch”
Reviewed April 27, 2013

I've eaten lunch at Stone Soup in the past -- the food has always been fantastic and the service first-rate. We finally had the chance to stop in for Sunday Brunch last week and it was everything we had hoped for and more. Although I walked in craving traditional bacon and eggs, I couldn't resist when I saw the fried green tomato and pimento cheese burger on the menu. The burger was huge and cooked to perfection and the house-made pimento cheese added just the right to touch to an unexpectedly creative combo. My partner's shrimp and grits (I had to steal a taste . . . or two or three) was as good as any I've had anywhere, and I'm a big fan of that Southern classic. Whatever you do, don't pass up the white-wine Bloody Mary! Wow! I'm grateful to our server for suggesting it. We were so pleased with the experience we're going back this Sunday and taking along some out-of-town "big city" friends to show them they've got nothing on us small-town folk when it comes to sophisticated food served with professionalism and flair.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saluda, North Carolina
1 review
“9 years and Going Strong”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We have been visiting Stone Soup in Landrum for the nine years Suzanne has owned and operated it and we stand by one of our favorite local restaurants through any of its ups and downs.
Creating locally sourced, fresh, and nutritious restaurant meals from scratch is the daily mission of Stone Soup as it offers that and so much more to community.
I've experienced their hits (almost always) and misses (seldom) and in any case where we weren't satisfied, we were OVERLY compensated by management and staff.
Anyone who writes a terrible, scathing review of a restaurant makes me wonder: have they ever owned or operated or even worked to earn their living in one?
We will always return to Stone Soup: a lovely, home-like full-service restaurant that knows supports area farmers and works tirelessly to be an area friend.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mannacabanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Don't go if you have expectations of any type.”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Slow, terrible service, hour and half to get served. Undercooked meat. Multiple requests to even get basics of service such as water. Won't go back and will share my experience with friends.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Palmettomoon123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suzanne S, Owner at Stone Soup Market & Cafe, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
I apologize to our guests who were here this past Saturday night and did not have the dining experience they expected and we wanted to give them. We had only 20 reservations and over 150 showed up. Obviously we were overwhelmed and unprepared to handle such numbers. Our chef burned himself, tickets were lost as our ticket holders were not large enough to hold so many tickets and the food that did come out was not coordinated with the correct table. We took this as an opportunity to make some changes in the front of the house as well as the kitchen to ensure that this would not happen again. To all the diners who are willing to give us another opportunity, I ask that you contact me directly and I will provide you with a gift certificate for your return visit. Many thanks to those guests who are willing to give us another chance to provide the dining experience which will make them want to return many times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemson, South Carolina, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Service was terrible!!!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We ate there today for Sunday brunch, two people. Had to ask 4 times for water- the male waiter acted as if I had asked for his favorite toy. The young lady finally brought something to drink. The three people seated after we arrived got their food first - and we were seated 15 minutes after them! Two of their plates were the same as our order, I believe they gave our lunch to them. POORLY TRAINED STAFF.....food was ok, but we were ready to walk out right when came to the table. Terrible.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stone Soup Market & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stone Soup Market & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing