We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Wonderful Place to Relax and Get Away”
Review of The Red Horse Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Red Horse Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Landrum B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, South Carolina
1 review
“A Wonderful Place to Relax and Get Away”
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Such a peaceful and charming place. Mary and Roger are so helpful and they do their absolute best to make sure you want for nothing. The cabin was beautiful and private. We had an excellent weekend and will be back again soon!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 122Christy_B626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    198
    16
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
7
179
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Moore, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 20, 2014

My wife and I spent a few days in a beautiful cabin recently. I will choose to not mention the cabin name. We plan to go back several times a year therefore I'm hoping to get the same cabin. Quite honestly every cabin looked to be awesome. We were able to spend quality time together reading talking as well as romance by the wonderful fireplace. Roger and Mary were wonderful. The breakfast was perfect. It was appreciated that they were concerned and willing to make changes if we had any food allergies. They had mentioned the restaurants and shops in the two towns near by. Honestly we didn't want to leave the cabin or the view of the mountains. One word "Awesome" We are so excited to have found a new weekend get away spot.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chancelot59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2014

What a great way to get away and simply get lost in the moment... peaceful, relaxing, private, beautiful, romantic. A picnic at the covered bridge and a trip to a vineyard. Antique browsing in Landrum. Close to hiking and waterfalls. Or stay in. It's exactly whatever you want to do.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scweekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

I cannot say enough good things about Roger and Mary! Their hospitality was delightful and the Inn was beautifully rustic. They went out of their way to make a birthday surprise very special. The views are spectacular and the surrounding area has so much to offer with opportunities to unplug and explore. The antique shops and covered bridges are a must if you want to get lost in a day. I can't wait to come back and visit in the spring and fall!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M9492ZC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
1 review
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was a wonderful and relaxing place which had amazing views and wonderful Inn keepers Mary and Roger. There is no guess work for a romantic weekend if you go with the tour options (we did the waterfall and winery). They are self guided so you can spend a day taking your time. We stayed at the Inn and it was private with its own entrance and staircase from the outside and a balcony. The room was so clean and neat and personalized for our stay. We will definitely go there again and highly recommend it to anyone needing a get-away.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenMarc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had such a wonderful time celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary!! Everything was just perfect from our warm reception to our cozy clean room and the breakfast was more then substantial!! The town, landrum, was also a little gem and the dining was fantastic.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fantastic4mama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2013

My wife and I chose The Red Horse Inn because it provided the perfect setting to have a very small, uncomplicated, romantic wedding. Roger and Mary were very accommodating and easy to work with. They made our wedding very special and one we will always cherish. We stayed at one of the cottages for the weekend and we highly recommend it. It was quiet and very cozy. We absolutely loved the accommodations. They think of every small detail you could want...its all right there. This was our first time at the Inn and it won't be our last...we feel like we have discovered a diamond in the rough. Thanks Roger and Mary for your amazing hospitality!

Room Tip: If you enjoy a very nice, clean hot tub and a great bottle of wine under the stars, you need to stay...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheRedHorseInn, Owner at The Red Horse Inn, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Mike, you and Heather were so much fun. We feel like we should be thanking you for including us in your special day. We'll be looking forward to seeing you again....and so will Secret! ;o)

Warmest Regards, from Mary & Roger
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landrum
16.2 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
10.6 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
215 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hyatt Regency Greenville
Hyatt Regency Greenville
#15 of 64 in Greenville
1,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Greenville - Downtown - Riverplace
19.0 mi away
The Westin Poinsett, Greenville
7.8 mi away
1906 Pine Crest Inn
1906 Pine Crest Inn
#1 of 2 in Tryon
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Red Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Horse Inn

Property: The Red Horse Inn
Address: 45 Winstons Chase Ct, Landrum, SC 29356-8761
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Landrum
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Red Horse Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sweeping mountain views, pastoral vistas and endless sky create the perfect setting for six charming cottages and six luxurious rooms in the foothills of the Blue Ridge Mountains of South Carolina. Whirlpools, fireplaces and outdoor spas are just a few of the amenities guests can enjoy in the serene setting of The red Horse Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your The Red Horse Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Red Horse Hotel Landrum

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing