We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly atmosphere”

The Hare & Hound Pub
Ranked #1 of 19 Restaurants in Landrum
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Pub
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly atmosphere”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised by the friendliness and quality of this restaurant. The shrimp and grits and stuffed pork chop were amazing. The restaurant also had a great variety of beers on tap. Would recommend and dine here again on our next visit!

Helpful?
Thank Dal1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    149
    104
    20
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
147 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“kids,dogs, and friendly folks”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

my partner and I have been there before, but this time it was 20 minute wait. the management needs one extra person to handle reception. there was a booth right next to us, and two tables--unoccupied; we waited...true, the place was jammed otherwise and the receptionist was taking orders and serving,too. my partner had a "wonderful fish and chips" and i got an interesting chicken pot pie with the top in the shape of a 4 leaf clover, food was superb. 1 water and a gaelic ale from asheville, n.c. completed the $23. ticket. the interesting pot pie also included (for me) a rarity..dark and white meat! the dogs are allowed since there is an outside dining area. Addie was our server, she was wonderful!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shanadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flat Rock, North Carolina
Level Contributor
230 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Decent pub food, nothing to brag about”
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Not bad but definitely disappointing. Green beans much to salty. Country steak was too greasy, over battered so not much taste. Nice variety, fried chicken and Guiness pie would probably have been better selections.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gerald G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Nice Bar”
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

After many trips here I decided to review. I don't usually talk about local establishments.this time and most times in the past it seems to take forever to get your order from the kitchen. Our food was good although they made me the wrong burger. Waiter offered to make it right but we were on a schedule. Beer is always cold and their fried pickles are the best. Bottom line it's a bar with bar food. Go enjoy a pint.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jay H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Bar in Landrum”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Friendly waitstaff and fried food galore. The food is good Pub fare but nothing else. Past forays into more diverse menus have yielded less than desirable results. This is a fried food and burnt steak locale. It is in the middle of town and so gets a good a flow of customers. Don't let the crowd fool you, this isn't the best place to eat. Just the easiest to get to. I will admit the house FRIED chips are really good, but that is the highlight.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank FredfarfromHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hare & Hound Pub also viewed

 
Tryon, North Carolina Mountains
 

Been to The Hare & Hound Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing