We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and Relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Landrum
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barking Fox Farm Guest House
Level Contributor
81 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely and Relaxing”
Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

I stayed for 3 nights in the Ladybug cottage. Everything in the cottage was in good condition and of high quality. Outside it was such a dark, clear sky that one could see millions of stars. In the mornings there was a mist over the pastures and the view of the horses in the distance and close up was enchanting. The location was close to my friend's farm and near Landrum. Barbara was a gracious hostess upon my arrival, then gave me my privacy the rest of my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank for your kind review. We really enjoyed having you as our guest and are so happy that you had a relaxing time on the farm. We hope when you return you will again choose us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    0
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
6
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Barking Fox Farm is the most amazing slice of heaven! The property is gorgeous, the cottages are beautifully furnished and the bed is very comfortable. The kitchen is upscale as is the cottage. Barbara stocks the refrigerator with eggs, milk, juice, butter....ect. and she has awesome homemade breads, the bread is more like a yummy cake. I was in Landrum for a horse show and it was so hard leaving in the morning! I just wanted to sit on the porch, drink my coffee and watch the horses in the mist! We saw deer, wild turkey and lots of birds. The rooms are very clean. The bathroom has a great shower and the air conditioner is also great! Barbara is a gracious host. I can’t wait to go back next year! Can’t imagine a place any better!

Room Tip: Both rooms are equally beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oompi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review !!! You were such a pleasure to have as a guest and hope you return often.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthews, North Carolina
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

My husband and I were looking for a peaceful, relaxing weekend away from stress and couldn't have done better than this lovely farm. Barbara is a wonderful, considerate host, and a very interesting person to talk to. We were a few hours late in arriving and she and Bill were very gracious about that, so flexible and accommodating about everything. We stayed in the Lady Bug guest house. It is beautiful, with antique furniture and art so that you feel like you could be going back in time, except with very modern kitchen, satellite TV, and pillow-comfy mattress. It was so nice to wake up to the sound of hooves cantering outside, and to be surrounded by fields and woods. Oh yes, and there were the nice treats (wine & baked goods) and everything was spotless. Anyone (such as another guest listed here) who said this place wasn't clean upon arrival must have been hallucinating. Also, it's not that hard to find if you have a map, and if you have GPS it's a breeze. I was glad we had the option to eat in our out, my husband works late so we are used be being up & getting up late, which doesn't always fit with the early morning schedule of many B&Bs. I was ready to come back the same morning we were leaving! We will definitely return, as soon as we can.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alden C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Thank you so much for your lovely review. You are to perfect guests. Guests like you make our B&B so enjoyable for us to have. We really hope that you will return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greer, South Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Barbara and Bill are wonderful hosts. They truly love people and dogs! They were helpful with everything; directions, hiking, shopping, points of interest, and restaurants.

The accommodations were excellent! We could cook and eat-in if desired, but town with it's restaurants, was close-by. The beds ( we've stayed in both of the cottages) were more comfortable than anywhere else we've stayed It was extremely tranquil, and the views of the mountains and pastures, with horses, deer, wild turkeys, pileated woodpeckers, and bluebirds was a daily treat!

We would stay there again, and highly recommend this bed and breakfast!

Room Tip: Both rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nancy o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind review. We really enjoyed your stay with us! You are the ideal guests.Tex and Cody are such little sweethearts. It was such fun to have your four legged little boys come to greet us every day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton NJ
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

What a wonder weekend with our four legged family member . Barbara couldn’t have been nicer and even provides doggie beds, bowls and biscuits. When we made our reservation she asked for dog size so everything would be the appropriate size for our dog. Cottage was furnished with beautiful antiques and very clean. The area is dog friendly, two restaurants even allow dogs with patio dining. The scenery on the farm is wonderful and very peaceful watching the horses graze. Highly recommend with or without a dog.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Thank you for writing such a lovely review. We enjoyed having you and your four legged family member. We hope that you can return someday.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LI, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here back in April. The location is between the towns of Tryon and Landrum. It took us two or three turns to find it as its well hidden. The accomodation was very pretty but the room was not as clean as I would have hoped. The owner had been having some medical issues so that may have accounted for the less than clean site but if that's the case she should have had outside help come in. Other people don't seem to have said the same so perhaps it was an "off" week but I wouldn't chance it again.

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank metrowmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
We are completely confused. This guest's review shows that she is from New York. We checked our guest register and have had no guests from New York in the months of March, April or May. She also stated that I had some medical issues in April. That is not true. Also she states that the room was not as clean as she would have hoped, but doesn't mention what was wrong. Again confused we do not rent rooms, only complete cottages. We also looked through our guestbooks in both cottages for the months of March, April and May and they contained only positive comments. Perhaps the guest has confused us with another B&B. She said that she stayed in April, but didn't write the review until the middle of August. I hope that is the case as we really want guests to have a wonderful, enjoyable and relaxing visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

My daughter and I stayed there for two weeks for a horse show. What a wonderful place to stay. The hosts were extremely nice and helpful. We really loved the view from our cottage that overlooked the pasture with grazing horses. Deer were a common sight in the fields. The inside of the cottage was impeccable and the price very reasonable. We loved the antiques. We plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kristy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
411Barbaras, Owner at Barking Fox Farm Guest House, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your kind review. You and your daughter were such a joy to have visiting for two weeks. Looking forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Landrum
3.9 mi away
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
Days Inn Columbus Tryon
#1 of 1 in Columbus
207 reviews
15.1 mi away
Highland Lake Inn & Resort Hendersonville
19.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Forest City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
Hampton Inn Hendersonville
#1 of 11 in Hendersonville
740 reviews
7.5 mi away
The Red Horse Inn
The Red Horse Inn
#1 of 3 in Landrum
220 reviews
0.0 mi away
Glassy View Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barking Fox Farm Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barking Fox Farm Guest House

Property: Barking Fox Farm Guest House
Address: 890 Greenwood Rd, Landrum, SC 29356-9065
Location: United States > South Carolina > Landrum
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Landrum
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There are two cottages furnished with antiques and oriental rugs.Each cottage contains a bedroom with queen sized bed,livingroom, fully equipped kitchen with stainless steel appliances, bathroom with whirlpool tub. Laurel has a double hide-a-bed for that extra person. Dogs are always welcome at no extra charge. We provide dog bowls, beds and biscuits. The guests are in the middle of the farm and will hopefully experience the same joy that we do living on a horse farm and watching the beautiful sunsets. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing