We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Well laid out - Expensive, a nice place to be” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Belfast
Level Contributor
99 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Well laid out - Expensive, a nice place to be”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Arrived with some golf buddy's. Green fees $370 plus shared caddie, worked out a bit over $400. An America version of a links style layout and runs pretty close to that. Tough course so if your handicap is not in low single figures bring plenty of balls. Food looked expensive so we dined elsewhere. There off season deals looked better value than the standard green fee. For me to play it once was all I needed to do. We played another course on the Island designed by Gary Player at $270 and it was way to expensive for an average course, so the Ocean course would be my only recommendation. Shame they didn't have the course closers to the Ocean, that would have made a big difference. True links is Ballyliffen, Royal County Down & Royal Portruch but the Ocean course is a fair attempt

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank IrishRover7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    26
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
149 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

.......The excellent service and attention to details that I have come to expect at Sanctuary. Wonderful dining room for a romantic evening with the one that you love...........

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank NomadKevin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great course. All golfers should experience this magical course”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

All my expectations were met on my round of golf on the immaculate and very challenging ocean course. It was truly amazing and would recommend it for all hackers. While expensive, it is worth a lifetime of memories and getting par on several holes including 17th par 3 will never be forgotten. Just hope it is not to windy when you play. also make sure you grab a drink and something to eat in the Ryder cup grill with spectacular views.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank patter40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Golf with Ocean Views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Ocean Course was home to the 2012 Ryder's Cup Championship, Rory McElroy's 1st Major win. I haven't played the course but my son has and says it is magnificent. My favorite is the Ocean Course Club House. Wonderful restaurant overlooking the ocean and 18th green. Food is great and service is first class. The Ryder Bar is a wonderful place for drinks and to watch the sunset.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank deb520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alta Loma, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worlds Greatest Sandwich”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

After a round of golf, my husband and I had a late lunch at the Ryder Cup Bar. Had the Low Country Grill Cheese Sandwich. What an incredible sandwich! Palmetto cheese, fried green tomatoes, country ham grilled on jalapeno corn bread...delicious!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank gailsund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing