We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Real Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Real Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Expensive, but worth it. The course is set up to the highest standards, and the caddies are a great help. Hard, but lots of fun.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    25
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Level Contributor
90 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“not as great as it's reputation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

The Ocean Course was nice, challenging at times with the wind off the ocean, but not all it's cracked up to be. It was on my husband's "bucket list" so we went to Kiawah just to play it. The food & service at their restaurant was super.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank norestraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, ok service, not so great food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I loved the view here, but the service was a bit shotty. We thought maybe it was going to be worth the wait after an hr an a half, but the food was pretty average, which was surprising for such a high end resort. I would go back for a drink and catch the sunset, but I would not eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
128 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“A tough walk but a good walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a gorgeous track replete with both a Ryder Cup and PGA Championship pedigree. As one would expect it is also a difficult course. The bunkers are huge, steep faced and have hard bottoms. Even though you are allowed by local rules to both ground your club and take practice swings they still pose a major challenge for the average golfer. The waste areas are full of tall grasses that can be almost impregnable and even of you miss the worst of it the lie may make you wish you had found water instead and there is plenty of that too.

The fairways and greens are nearly perfect and very playable. There is also a good mix of holes to test every kind of shot. The day we played the winds were moderate, 1 or 2 clubs at most and I cant imagine what it would be like on a more blustery day which is often the case. Green speeds were not as fast as one would expect and this was not a bad thing.

In spite of the challenge, this should be a must play for any serious golfer right up there with Pebble or Bandon Dunes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
100 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Bring lots of golf balls.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Terrific course with great ocean views from most holes but it is very hard. Take a caddy as it. Is almost essential for first timers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing