We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great view, ok service, not so great food” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ocean Course

The Ocean Course
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Highly recommended golf course with dramatic views of the Atlantic.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great view, ok service, not so great food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I loved the view here, but the service was a bit shotty. We thought maybe it was going to be worth the wait after an hr an a half, but the food was pretty average, which was surprising for such a high end resort. I would go back for a drink and catch the sunset, but I would not eat there.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank michel666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    27
    12
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arcata, California
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“A tough walk but a good walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is a gorgeous track replete with both a Ryder Cup and PGA Championship pedigree. As one would expect it is also a difficult course. The bunkers are huge, steep faced and have hard bottoms. Even though you are allowed by local rules to both ground your club and take practice swings they still pose a major challenge for the average golfer. The waste areas are full of tall grasses that can be almost impregnable and even of you miss the worst of it the lie may make you wish you had found water instead and there is plenty of that too.

The fairways and greens are nearly perfect and very playable. There is also a good mix of holes to test every kind of shot. The day we played the winds were moderate, 1 or 2 clubs at most and I cant imagine what it would be like on a more blustery day which is often the case. Green speeds were not as fast as one would expect and this was not a bad thing.

In spite of the challenge, this should be a must play for any serious golfer right up there with Pebble or Bandon Dunes.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank bmp68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kiawah Island, South Carolina
Level Contributor
111 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Bring lots of golf balls.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

Terrific course with great ocean views from most holes but it is very hard. Take a caddy as it. Is almost essential for first timers.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern New Jersey
Level Contributor
227 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great Course...Limited Views...Overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

I was really pumped to hit the links after snagging a sweet tee time a few months in advance. I knew this would cost a pretty penny but was willing to pay because of the amenities and the scenic views on each hole. I was surprised that the front 9 offered zero ocean views...not even a glimpse...and the back 9 had maybe 6 holes with the ocean in clear view. The grounds were near pristine, the caddy was tremendous, and the service was top notch. I was a little bummed about the limited views and the price (roughly $350.00) as this was probably the one and only time I would golf this course.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank DRsMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
211 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 434 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful location for any event . . .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

We were at the Ocean Course for a wedding and the location was absolutely beautiful. The view of the ocean was wonderful as was the food and service. A first class location for virtually any event.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TomRossAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Ocean Course also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to The Ocean Course? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing