We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Dolphins!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Beachwalker County Park

Beachwalker County Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Boston
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Dolphins!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

One of our favorite things that we did on our trip to Kiawah was walking one day and riding bikes another day to the mouth of the Kiawah River at Beachwalker Beach. If you go during low tide, you will see dolphins strand feeding. It is an amazing sight to see. Definitely go, but be respectful of the dolphins and stay back from the river bank. When we were there, an ignorant group of people walked to the rivers edge to get a closer look and the dolphins swam away.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank michwitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    105
    41
    9
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portage, Michigan
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Best beach in Charleston area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

This beach is a little out of charleston. There is a $8 parking fee. Picnic tables available in parking area. Small snack bar. Outdoor shower. Changing area and bathrooms. You can rent chairs and umbrellas. We walked along this beach and found lots of creatures in tide pools-starfish, conch, class, horse crabs, other crabs. Dolphins swimming off the shore. It was a great place. We were there in May so it was not busy. Family oriented beach. Bring sunscreen!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank portagemomofthree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Bring your sunblok and relax!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013

Great beach!
I believe our entry fee was $8 for a carload. There was a clean bathroom, changing rooms and a small snack bar.
The snack bar provided a tasty snack and a cold drink. We also liked the fact chairs and umbrellas were available for rent --$25 for 2 chairs & 1 umbrella. The beach was clean and the water was warm and also very clean. Many singles, families with children and older folk enjoyed. I've been to many, many beaches - this is the near the top of my list!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 5253JVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
213 reviews
43 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“See the dolphins strand feed”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

Besides being a great beach for swimming and shells, this is THE place to see the dolphins work together to push their dinner up on the banks of the inlet to the Kiawah river.

When you get down to the beach, turn right and walk a mile or so until you get to the river inlet. Anywhere from the head of the inlet to several hundred yards up shore is a good place to wait and watch. Then, as if on queue, right before low tide, the dolphins appear. I've heard it can be hit or miss, but we were lucky enough to see two dolphins.

The problem we ran into is that on the other shore, where the dolphins were, there were a bunch of people too dumb to realize that standing right at the shoreline and following the dolphins deters them from doing their thing. When the smart dolphins manage to move away from the dumb people, they work together to push fish up on the shore and grab them. It's pretty neat.

So by all means go see the dolphins, but please be respectful enough to hang back from the shoreline 50 yards or so - you'll get a much better show!!

Hint: Take water and sunscreen. It can be a long hike for young kids under 8 or so. A large wheeled stroller or bikes with kid carriers would work well if you have little kids.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
17 Thank brianbva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chattanooga,TN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great public beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

This is where you go if you want to see the dolphins strand feed. You pay $8 to park, then walk down to the beach, then 1 1/2 miles to get to the river at low tide. It was extremely windy when we were there and the walk was arduous. But there was a snack shop, bathrooms, picnic tables, etc. The beach here is absolutely gorgeous as it is in all of Kiawah.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank deanie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Beachwalker County Park also viewed

Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
Kiawah Island, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to Beachwalker County Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing