We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Sanctuary, Kiawah Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The Sanctuary, Kiawah Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We chose to spend our honeymoon at The Sanctuary on Kiawah Island, and it was PERFECT. Everything about it was amazing, and top-notch: the room, the service, the activities, the restaurants....you name it, we loved it. I can't wait to go back!

Helpful?
Thank madisoniem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    932
    140
    57
    20
    16
See reviews for
285
534
10
160
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (357)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2009

We have just returned from enjoying a wonderful vacation at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island. We wanted a beach location that was driving distance, and our travel agent WHATAHOTEL.COM strongly recommended this beautiful luxury resort. I can certainly see why !!

As soon as you walk in, the beauty and the grandeur of this property become very apparent...the traditional Southern charm is prevalent throughout the entire hotel.

Our room was very comfortable and the bathroom has all the high-end amenities one would expect from a luxury property.

As recommended by WHATAHOTEL.COM, we reserved the Club Floor, and we truly enjoyed their services. The Club Lounge provides four food & beverage "presentations" throughout the day. The staff was very welcoming and helpful, with our private concierge in the Lounge ready to assist with dining, golf, sightseeing tours, etc.

The hotel provides complimentary transportation to all of it's restaurants and golf courses.

Regarding dining: we had dinner one night at the Atlantic Room. It was very nice, and the staff was very attentive. What a view (the 18th green of the Ocean Course....), although we were there on a rainy/cloudy evening, it was still breathtaking !!!

On our last night, we dined at The Jasmine Porch...we LOVED it !!! By choosing a WHATAHOTEL.COM rate, breakfast for two daily at The Jasmine Porch would also be included, along with complimentary valet parking. Both of the restaurants that we ate at also had a kid's menu. The entire hotel is very kid-friendly.

Thank you WHATAHOTEL.COM for a great recommendation !! I will certainly book again with your company.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BaseballMom012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
144 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2009

This is truly a 5 star resort. The staff is as friendly and caring as you will find in any top hotel. The grounds are immaculate and no expense was spared in the resort development or upkeep. The rooms and balconies are larger than what you will find in a typical resort, and the quality of the finishes are amazing. The Ocean Room is a must-see dining experience as is the Ocean Lounge. The Jasmine Porch is also a great restaurant. Fantastic beach with a great staff who will set-up your padded beach chair, provide towels, water and a wait staff will provide food & drink.

You must go to the Mingo Point Oyster Roast on Monday nights. Authentic Low Country experience and like everything at Kiawah, it's done right. We only had one minor glitch with breakfast room service one morning and the server comped the meal and apologized constantly.

This is a very laid back experience but the setting is unmatched.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, IA
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2009

My husband and I planned a vacation in Charleston, but wanted to take a day or two to get away and just relax on the beach. We discovered the Sanctuary through tripadvisor and it was exactly what we were looking for. However, because of the cost, it took us a while to decide whether to book it or not. WE ARE SO HAPPY WE DID! Though we only stayed one night, we both agreed it was by far the best part of our vacation. The service was outstanding, probably the best we've ever had, (and we've stayed at many excellent hotels). We felt welcome the second we arrived. Will, at the front desk, checked us in and upgraded us from a gardenview room to an oceanview room, telling us that since it was our first time staying there and we were only there for one night, he wanted to be sure it was a special experience. It certainly was. (By the way, once we explored, it looked to us like no matter where your room us you would be treated to a nice view). Will also offered to make us reservations for dinner that night, and later he arranged for us to have a late checkout the next day, so that we could enjoy the beach and hotel as long as possible. All of the hotel employees we encountered were helpful and friendly.

The pool area was lovely- two pools, one for adults only which was nice touch. Plenty of chairs and umbrellas and most importantly, a view of the ocean. However, the beach was so gorgeous that we pretty much spent all our time there. The hotel has beach service, and the minute we stepped off the boardwalk someone was waiting to set us up with cushioned chaise lounges under a shade umbrella. We had no trouble getting a spot both days- once in the morning and once in the afternoon. We stayed midweek, and the hotel (and entire beach for that matter) never felt crowded even though there were lots of people about. We saw many people riding bikes up and down the beach (you can rent them somewhere- not sure if there is a fee or not), and lots of families and couples. Though there were lots of children around, it never seemed to get loud or rowdy. It was the perfect relaxation spot.

The accommodations were excellent. The room was clean, comfortable, spacious, and decorated well- very pretty and elegant without being super fancy! The bathroom was wonderful. The view of the ocean and the hotel grounds from our private balcony was beautiful. There are several places to sit outside and just take in the view. Both my husband and I could not remember the last time we'd seen so many stars! At night we returned to the room to find soft, peaceful music playing as part of the turn-down service. It was so relaxing- I honestly felt like I was in a spa. It was the perfect way to wind down from a long day.

The only "complaints" we could come up with were the following: we ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel restaurant, The Jasmine Porch and felt that other than the delicious french toast it was just okay. ( We are breakfast buffet snobs since we've had some outstanding ones though)! Also the poolside grill had great service but the food was just okay, and the drink we ordered beachside was very expensive. Lastly, the bed was not by any means uncomfortable, but wasn't as comfy as I expected for such a luxurious resort. The bedding was great, but the mattress wasn't as good as we've slept on in other nice hotels. But these are really all just small potatoes compared to all of the fantastic things we experienced at The Sanctuary.

We had an amazing time at The Sanctuary and are hopeful we can return again!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MQM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2009

The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island truly is an island sanctuary! Usually I plan the hotel I am staying at around an area I want to visit. In this case, my significant other and I came to The Sanctuary to experience everything it had to offer, with no intentions of leaving the property. We stayed in their Governor Suite which gave us the most beautiful view of the sun rise each morning. We sat on our balcony as the sun came up over the ocean and casted sun off the ocean and over the hotel Ocean Golf Course. We both enjoyed The Sanctuary Spa, which is a MUST when you visit the hotel. And even though this is a family friendly resort, we were able to enjoy the adult only pool area for relaxation and frozen cocktails. Overall, we both can't wait to visit The Sanctuary again. It was a wonderful experience for us, from customer service, our room decor, and the fine dining options. This is a true 5 Star, 5 Diamond property!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bdextravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2009

We were planning to hop down to Charleston for a long weekend to visit some old friends. Our only request was that our hotel be located right on the water, as my wife and I generally tend towards beach/sun vacations. This property had spectacular beaches. Service was over-the-top!. Literally the best service we've had anywhere -- on par with the Four Seasons Jackson Hole service! Check-in was easy. The concierge was helpful. The bed and the PILLOWS! (definitely the pillows!) were extraordinarily comfortable. Lounge bar was comfortable with good drinks.
The place was beautiful. Service was excellent. Can't wait to go back. And hopefully check out what seemed to be some awesome tennis facilities and spa.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jlajc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta (north side)
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2009

The Ocean front "Grand Lawn" is quite grand if you're looking for a peaceful, natural environment. We have traveled througout the Southeast (U.S.) and this is our favorite beach vacation. We saw two deer walking through the dunes at 3:00 PM in the afternoon! This is a 5 Star, 5 Diamond Resort, with a great kids program, spa, adult pool and kids pool, good restaurants, tennis (they got won the award for the #1 tennis resort in the "world") and beautiful ocean golf course. They put "tennis matching" to find someone who is staying at the resort to play with you and also have regular clinics and both Men's and Ladies Matches throughout the week. The Bohicket Marina is at Seabrook Island, just a few minutes away. Be sure to visit the Rose Banks Farm Cafe (at the Bohicket Marina) for lunch or dinner. They make everything from scratch. The food is awesome and the price is very reaonable! The Sanctuary Hotel offers several restaurant choices, including the Ocean Front Jasmine Porch, which is great for breakfast. This resorts attracts couples and families from around the world....we were suprised at the distance some had travled to spend the 4th of July holiday at this great place and to see an awesome fireworks display. Bicycle trails....marshes with sea birds, plenty to see and do. Romantic, Extremely Family-Oriented. Garden View rooms rates were $390.00 They also have Dunes View (ask for "2nd floor Dunes View, not 1st floor). We stayed in an Ocean VIew Room, so I could watch my husband "surf fish." He caught some baby sharks, red fish, and whiting, and put them all back in the ocean. Best view is to request an Ocean View Room in the "West Wing" (which overlooks the Grand Lawn and the Ocean) It's worth every penny! THIS RESORT IS A 10! OUTSTANDING CUSTOMER SERVICE. EVERY STAFF MEMBER WE SAW GREETED US WARMLY AND WAS EXTREMELY PROFESSIONAL. There is some nice shopping in the little town of Kiawah Island.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank deliver2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,689 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 60 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#15 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,991 reviews
Planters Inn
#8 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,572 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 60 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing