We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Beauty and elegance combined with a welcoming comfort and warmth. Immaculate in every detail. Even though a bit pricey, the golf courses are interesting and well maintained. Looking forward to our next stay.

Room Tip: I think the direct ocean view is the best and definitely the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda12342013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    128
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
262
487
9
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
OTTAWA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Great property and definitely a five plus resort. Every detail was looked after. Friendly staff is the best I have ever seen at any hotel. A special thanks to Greg at the check in for all his extra efforts he was very helpful and is a great asset to The Santuary at Kiawah. Property is beautiful and the beach is perfect. Great job to all the staff of Kiawah I will be back next spring and all the years to come. Thanks Eric & Sophia Ottawa

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank doubleO7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit here to celebrate our anniversary. We stayed on the concierge floor, enjoying an oversized ocean view room with every amenity. Our room was beautifully furnished, and the housekeeping staff did an outstanding job each day. The Concierage Room offered a delicious breakfast, all day snacks, evening wine, desserts, and appetizers. Kimberly, one of the staff there, was always very attentive, and, she was a highlight of our stay. The Concierage desk staff always greeted us warmly, and made each day perfect. We ate an excellent dinner at Jasmine Porch, and Matt and Melissa did an outstanding job as our servers. Dinner the following night at the Ocean Room was a five star evening. Our only complaint - we couldn't stay longer! We'll definitely return to this paradise!

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank gardenia06georgia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We had a great week. The staff and facilities are top rate. We had some of the best swordfish we ever had Jasmine Porch. Our anniversary dinner at the Atlantic room was wonderful also. The only thing I would not do again is go to cherrywood BBQ. It was average at best.

Room Tip: We enjoy the ocean front rooms. Sitting on the balcony reading early in the morning is very peacefu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trapshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, Hotel Manager at The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear Trapshot,

Thank you for your kind compliments of The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed your anniversary celebration at the hotel. Certainly if you'd like to offer any other feedback on Cherrywood BBQ & Alehouse I'd be happy to follow up with the outlet manager.

I look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Bill Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

Visited in September 2013 with husband...he had business meeting...I got to relax. I have to say the folks working at the resort were some of the friendliest people I have ever met. So many nice small touches...putting bookmark in book left on soaking tub rim...shining shoes left out at night, choice of newspapers, amazing spa (Terry for avacado and coconut wrap with mini-facial and foot reflexology....was devine). Nice beach..great for walking...not many shells, but hard and flat with smooth sand. Good food in the pool restaurant....not as spectacular in other hotel restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoya03mom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, Hotel Manager at The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Hoya03mom,

Thank you for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review on your recent stay at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort. I was so delighted to see that our ladies and gentlemen made your time on Kiawah memorable. I'll be sure to recognize Terry from The Spa at our next employee meeting and pass along your kind note about him. If you have time, please feel free to reach out to me regarding your dining experiences that you mentioned weren't as spectacular as The Loggerhead Grill. I'd like to pass along your feedback to our Director of F&B.

Warm regards,
Bill Lacey
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My son and I have visited the Sanctuary every summer for 5 years in a row. I feel myself unwinding as we drive across the bridge and wind our way through the lush low country foliage to the property. I allow the other reviewers to speak to the specifics of the beautiful grounds and surrounding island, but I am most amazed and appreciative of the staff. Everyone, (especially the gentlemen working the beach) does a remarkable job of making you feel welcome and pampered! In addition I noticed an improvement in the dinning; there are more healthy choices than before. I especially enjoyed long lunches on the Jasmine porch overlooking the butterfly garden across the pools to the Atlantic. Heaven! I would definitely recommend to a friend. Thank you Sanctuary!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Subwayangie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Our family stayed at the Sanctuary for the second time last month and it was even better than the first. Everything was absolutely perfect. The hotel itself and rooms are beautiful and well kept. The staff is super friendly and accommodating. You can't ask for a better location and views. There are many amenities on property. All of the food we ate was to die for. The price is worth it and we could not have asked for a better stay. I cannot think of any complaints. We will definitely return next summer!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,475 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,775 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,167 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing