We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost a Blissful Sanctuary”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 4, 2013

It was our first stay at this unique resort. Our experience was mostly great at this beautiful resort.
Location is incredible, facilities are first class, rooms are spacious and well appointed. Beach amazing, one of the nicest on the east coast. An unexpected sanctuary in an unassuming place.

However, our experience at Jasmine Porch was subpar.

We had dinner there on Monday night and my wife ordered the fish special.

The fish was overcook, dry and old. One of the managers ordered another one for her which was cooked to perfection but it came so late that all other members of the family finished eating. At that point it was not a culinary experience.

We had breakfast in the morning. Even though the restaurant was not full we received terrible service.

Our table was never visited by a waiter. Every time we wanted something we had a to pull a server from other tables. We never had such a bad service at a resort of this class. We received not service at all. Even though breakfast was included with our package, at check out we had a charge of $39 for breakfast that was not explain to us.

After we returned home we had called and eventually resolved this. The resort took care of everything proving their first class status.
Fully recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonicTravelAmeniti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,266)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

779 - 785 of 1,266 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2013

Upon arrival the various staff members offered congratulations as soon as they heard our name. We were immediately received a room upgrade. 30 minutes after we got into our room, a bottle of champagne and several chocolate dipped strawberries arrived, compliments of the house. When we arrived at the ocean room for dinner, again the anniversary was acknowledged and we were escorted to a table decorated with rose petals and facing the ocean. We were served 2 glasses of champagne, compliments of the house.
When we returned to our room, we found a large rose petal heart on our turned down bed. Dinner the following evening at the Jasmine Porch included champagne and a special dessert. We played 2 rounds of golf on Turtle Point and Osprey Point. Both were in excellent shape and the staff was very accomodating.
It was a GREAT experience.

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a must.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShoresPJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is perfect. Beautiful views and airy rooms. The staff was very attentive and accommodating, I joined my husband on a business trip in April 2013 and I was so happy I did! It was very relaxing. The beach is beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelingKathey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The property is beautiful but very formal. Not beachy. Overall the food is terrible. Rooms are nice but not worth the money. It's a Ritz-Carlton wannabe.Way overpriced.This will be my last trip to Kiawah. 45 minutes to Charleston. Next time It will be Isle of Palms.
For rhe money spent on this hotel, it could well be Italy or the French Riveria.

Room Tip: stay away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bill L, Manager at The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded September 16, 2013

Dear TheBlade91,

I was disheartened to read that you did not enjoy your stay at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort and that our F&B team fell short of your expectations. I'd welcome the opportunity to speak with you directly concerning your stay. Please feel free to reach me directly through the hotel at 843.768.6000.

Warm regards,
Bill Lacey
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

I really hate giving hotels bad reviews especially this one.
Let me start with the pros:
The hotel was gorgeous and the bellmen were very attentive upon arrival (and during the entire stay). The lobby is grand and beautifully decorated and the front desk staff was wonderful. The rooms were very comfortable and well appointed. The spa treatments were wonderful (Gigi and Amy were delightful ladies). The food was some of the best I have tasted. We had every meal on site and we were never disappointed. My husband golfed and said the courses were off the charts.
Now on to the cons:
The service was not acceptable for a hotel of this caliber. It seemed each time we needed a chair at the pool, lunch or a cocktail someone always helped us but "it was not their job." On the day we sat by the beach, Michael was our server (he was a very nice man). It is not his fault that he was the only one serving the entire beach (might I add my visit was over Labor Day). We ordered 2 drinks ($18 each) and they arrived melted and watered down. There are 2 bars at the pool; one closes at 4pm, the other at 5pm which is really beyond me!
Upon checkout, we asked to speak to the manager. He was a very nice man and promised to follow up with us after speaking to the appropriate department heads about their shortcomings. He did indeed call like he promised and offered minimal compensation on a future stay that we will not likely redeem. I was not looking for a free stay but what I was looking for was a place that had great service since you are paying through the nose. This hotel is very expensive and I do not mind paying that if the service matches up. Unfortunately, it did not.

Room Tip: Opt for a room with an ocean view, you will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Happel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

This is both a beautiful location and a well managed resort. We stayed Monday thru Thursday with a conference and had a great time. The food was wonderful at every event, the staff courteous and attentive. They organized a 5K run and the staffer, a former elementary school teacher warmed us up. The glass fusing class was a lot of fun, as was the ice cream shop and the pool areas (one just for adults). I found a large horseshoe crab helmet on the beach, and we ate at some great restaurants on the property. At Mingo Point we ate oysters as the sun went down and listened to a great band. A great bed and towels and linens. Beautiful golf courses.

Room Tip: I could not see a bad room from any angle, but higher up should be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Sanctuary over the Labor Day weekend and could not have been happier with our splurge. While there were two weddings and the hotel was at capacity, we felt doted on. You begin with a facility that is truly beautiful in a beautiful place. You add lovely warm water and so much to do that you can't see or do it all in a weekend, even if you don't play golf. Biking, kayaking and a game room to top if off. If you have independent children they can room safely when your interests diverge.

Then comes the food which is wonderful at every location. There are even many flavorful vegetarian options.

But what makes this place is the people. I could actually start naming names but I wouldn't want to offend those I forgot. From the hard working men and women on the beach or at the pool to the concierge, everyone smiles and helps you reach a blissful relaxed state. Thank you to everyone who made our stay so perfect. We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andrea0819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
467 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,245 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#2 of 61 in Charleston
864 reviews
The Spectator Hotel
#6 of 61 in Charleston
491 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
1,448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range: $271 - $877 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, TravelUp and Hotels.com so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing