We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Evening”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 11, 2013

The Sanctuary is pretty stunning from lobby to lawn to room. My wife and I stayed here just for one night, and we will never forget it. The view from the hotel lawn is absolutely amazing as the breeze blows in off the ocean at sunset. The hotel staff were friendly and accommodating, as they handled a baggage issue for us. We did not utilize the hotel bar, but it seemed to be a welcoming environment. The rooms were a little smaller than I had expected, but they were well furnished with Southern accents. Definitely one of the more lavish hotels that I have stayed in South Carolina.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the ocean are okay, but the rooms that open over the perfectly manicured lawn are t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ccrawf32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,310)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

884 - 890 of 1,310 reviews

Reviewed June 6, 2013

The sanctuary is on the semi-private barrier island of Kiawah 40 minutes away from Charleston. Fairly new, beautifully designed and executed in the form of an "Old South" estate there is lots to do including tennis, golf, biking and hiking. There is also lots of nothing to do like lying on the beach, around one of the pools, or on a message table. Restaurants are on site (try the local flounder on the Jasmine porch), others are nearby on the island, or a multitude of choices in Charleston. Not inexpensive, but on par with most resorts of this type. Nice rooms, excellent service, free WiFi and other amenities complete the experience. We have been to the island often and will often return.

Room Tip: "dune views" are on the first floor, quieter rooms are in the East wing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DrG48301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island can be considered the best beach resort at the US East Coast. The great facilities, just built eight years ago, create a classic beach ambiance of the roaring twenties. Service, food, the SPA, as well as the pool facilities are premier, and even when the hotel is fully booked, you don't feel to be just a number in a crowed place. Instead, personal attendance has reached a level where the pred9omenatley Jamaican beach and pool crew remembers your name from serving you in past years.

Finally, the Ocean Room and the Jasmine Porch at The Sanctuary, as well as The Ocean Course provide a premier dining experience for all occasions.

Room Tip: A room at the Club level includes breakfast, snacks, and drinks, and one can enjoy a tailored concie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CESLB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Spent a week at the Sanctuary. We all hung are heads when we had to leave. Could not find one thing wrong with the accommodations, the service, the grounds, the pool, the food, the staff. Truly fortunate to have experienced the best that Kiawah has to offer. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank budfoluse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

My wife and I traveled to the Sanctuary at Kiawah for our first wedding anniversary over memorial day weekend. From the front gate, to the bag guys to the front desk, we were warmly welcomed, offered assistance with our bags, and congratulated on our anniversary. We got to our room, then went for a walk on the beach and when we returned the hotel had sent up chocolate covered strawberries and a bottle of champagne. The hotel room was a great size with a great deal of luxury features and the housekeepers went above and beyond. The twice a day service to our room with the evening turn down and nice music was a very nice surprise. One great thing about this place is everywhere you go, you can get free bottled water upon request.

Room Tip: If you're traveling as a couple for a special weekend, make sure you request a room without an a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chief09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We spent four days here for a conference and loved it. The hotel is gorgeous and, unlike other high-end properties I've stayed in, makes you feel like you've walked onto the set of The Great Gatsby. The lobby is well-appointed, the service exemplary and the grounds are meticulously kept. And I don't think there is a bad room in the entire hotel. They are all either facing the ocean or have an ocean view from the side. The resort does have a variety of restaurants, although to get to some, you need to use the resort's shuttles.

One tip I would give you is that there is a grocery store just a short walk through the hotel's parking lot. The prices are what you would expect at a standard grocery store and there is more variety with regard to the breakfast grill than they offer at their snack shop, Beaches & Cream. It's well worth the five minute walk. I just wish I had found it earlier than I did, seeing as that it was my last day there.

Overall, we had a fantastic stay here. The only negative things I would say about the trip is the drive from the airport is very long and the no-see-ums (biting insects) come out at dawn and dusk, and are ferocious!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms here. However, if you can get an ocean view room on a higher floor, do so.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

On par with Four Seasons Maui. While obviously not in as spectacular of a location, service and facilities are similar. Really impressed. Staff seemed generally concerned for our well being. Felt prices were justified by the experience.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank whitleybh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
3.3 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
482 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,402 reviews
15.6 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 62 in Charleston
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 62 in Charleston
3,337 reviews
16.8 mi away
The Beach Club at Charleston Harbor Resort and Marina
13.6 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range: $280 - $840 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Preferred Hotels, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TravelUp, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing