We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Love the Sanctuary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Love the Sanctuary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The hotel is absolutely beautiful (the lobby is incredible). Great views of the ocean from pristine lawns behind the hotel. Beach and pool access are a short walk from your room. There is also a larger pool a short drive away (Night Heron Park) that has everything the kids would want (e.g., water slides, fountains, big water guns, etc). The golf courses have great views and are kept in very good shape. Bring bikes and ride around the whole island. You will see lots of alligators!!

The restaurant in the hotel is very good (The Ocean Club - steakhouse). There are also a few other restaurants near by that are good. But the island definitely shuts down early. If you are looking for a relaxing, family-oriented, high-end resort then Sanctuary certainly fits the bill.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    854
    128
    53
    19
    11
See reviews for
262
487
9
141
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (327)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband and I celebrated our wedding anniversary at The Sanctuary. From the moment we arrived, to the time of our departure, every detail of our stay was perfect. Upon arrival we were greeted by name, and that personal service continued throughout our stay. Shortly after going to our room after check in, chilled champagne and chocolate-covered strawberries were delivered to our room, compliments of the hotel. Our ocean-view room was breathtaking, with luxurious amenities and details not often found. The twice daily housekeeping service provided fresh ice and bottled water, turn down service with soft music and lighting, and fresh cookies bedside. What a wonderful way to end a perfect evening. The beach and pool area was beautiful, and the ocean views simply panoramic. Our dining at the resort was wonderful. Our filet dinner at The Ocean Room was probably the best steak we'd ever eaten, and my accompanying side, Benton's Bacon Tots, was truly to die for. This is a romantic, special place, with beautiful views of the ocean. At Tomasso the following evening, we had wonderful Italian cuisine, and the chef personally came out to greet us and prepared a special anniversary dessert. Breakfast at Jasmine Porch offered a wonderful hot and cold buffet, or choices from the menu. Don't miss the flavorful coffees and ice cream treats at Beaches & Cream. The service at the resort and all restaurants we visited was beyond 5-star. If you want to be pampered in luxury, The Sanctuary is the place to be. We can't wait for our next visit!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PJBeachgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north carolina
Level Contributor
104 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Its a hotel: very nice entry and atrium areas. Above average to excellent service. Rooms well appointed though nothing that special.
It has a decent pool: nice, albeit not very large. Not exceptional.
It's on a nice beach: big plus, South Carolina beaches are great. But, it ain't Hawaii
It has restaurants: good food at high prices

Bottom line: if money is no object, its THE place to stay on the Island (unless you rent a property there which is a much better option or large families). Other great options are available if you're more price conscious, have larger group, want more room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gizm0guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nc
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at The Sanctuary (Mar 2013). It is a beautiful hotel and the rooms were very nice. We had an amazing view of the beach from our room and were able to enjoy the sunrises and sunsets each day. Most impressive, though was the service. Every employee was knowledgeable and helpful. My husband left some of his dress clothes at home and they let him borrow a dress shirt and tie, saving us money and a shopping hassle! Love this place.

Room Tip: try to get an ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Justice turned from four days of gold and fun on Kiawah Island. Stayed at the Sanctuary and was blown away. Absolutely beautiful!

The service was first class, food was amazing, and the golf courses are spectacular. Great pool that is right on the beach. There is an adult only pool as well as a main pool for kids and families.

Beautiful beach that is a great for a walk. Awesome spa and gym with indoor lap pool. Rooms are huge and very comfortable.

Great place for families and couples.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong. The place is top notch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tvlgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The drive from Charleston airport is about 45 minutes but definitely worth it. Hotel has a very southern, beachy feel as it should. The rooms were ok, nothing special for the price but a nice comfortable bed and a couch in the room. I was on the 1st floor with a patio so that is nice.

The rooms were very clean and there is turndown service every night! The gym is very good for a small hotel gym, nice equipment for a good run or weight training.

The food was very good and the restaurant staff was very professional and helpful. I was at the resort for a conference so I was with out my golf clubs which was disappointing. I did venture over to the Ocean Course for a drink in the Ryder Cup Lounge, definitely worth the 15 minute drive.

I will be back to play the golf course, its a beautiful spot that everyone should try to venture to at least once.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Discerning-Guest23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary while celebrating our anniversary recently. We were happily surprised to be upgraded from a Garden View room to an Ocean Front Suite after telling them it was our anniversary. They sent up a bottle of champagne, which was a nice touch. One of the best ideas they have is the early start to their amazing breakfast and the coffee bar which is set up in the lobby at 6am. I could grab a hot cup of coffee and head out to the beach to watch the sun come up. The staff was very kind and attentive, the grounds were beautiful and the golf was fantastic. My husband managed to get in a round at the Ocean Course, but I could follow along and see the spectacular course. We both played a round at Cougar Point - my favorite - for its beautiful views of the river and casual atmosphere. Ate dinner at the Ryder Cup Grill one night and Cherry Point BBQ another - dont miss Cherry Point for its selection of beer and the famous alligators laying around by the water.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SDBSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#2 of 3 in Kiawah Island
4.5 of 5 stars 357 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 2,477 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 59 in Charleston
5.0 of 5 stars 736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Belmond Charleston Place
#14 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,780 reviews
Market Pavilion Hotel
#7 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Planters Inn
#9 of 59 in Charleston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire and Jetsetter so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing