We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We spent a week at the Sanctuary in October had a great time with wonderful service. While all the service was wonderful ( as you would expect for the prices paid ) the Italian style Tomaso was much improved over previous visits.

Would recommend for a great week but budget accordingly. Easy to go through $1,000 per day depending on golf and restaurant meals for two people. This does not include the room.

Room Tip: We always ask for a corner ocean view room. Room is large enough for two with great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trapshot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,281)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

929 - 935 of 1,281 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

I read about this place when preparing our US trip, but we were not sure to have time enough to go to Kiawah. Finally after visiting Charleston we managed to stay in this resort for 3 nights with our 2 kids (2 and 9 years old) in late august and we were absoutely amazed by the beauty of the place: Nature, setting, peacefulness, comfort of the hotel, dining options/around dining, beach, to name just a few. Guest rooms are nicely appointed and the seaview ones are certainly worth the money. Bathrooms are large and modern.For breakfast you can either go to the resaurant (which I definitely recommend) or buy coffee and pastry at the small shop in the lobby. Staff in general (at the lobby they were exceptional) was professional and friendly could be improved in the beach area (restaurant). Overall the place is so quiet, inside an old style comfort that invites to rest and to enjoy. There could be some discrete modernization (replacement of carpets notably) without touching the classy atmoshere of the place. I would definitely go back and I strongly recommend the resort.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yasmeenGeneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

My wife and I recently decided to get away from Charlotte for a few days. We've stayed at the Sanctuary before and loved it. So, we made the trip again last week to your resort. The experience we've just had, though, was over the top! This was related to the upgraded hospitality (every single staff member and server did everything to make sure that you were welcome and needed nothing) and food services (food presentation and service was impeccable) that were evident throughout not only the Sanctuary but throughout all of the resort as well. We dined at the Ocean Room, the Atlantic Room, Tomasso's and Jasmine's Porch. We played at all of the resort's golf courses (except the Ocean Course). I don't know what you've done, but our stay was 5 + star all the way. Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades if available. The reservation staff will make all attempts to make sure that you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KimTG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is an excellent hotel/ resort with a class in itself. Management takes care of minutest detail. You will never hear no for an answer. They will attempt to their fullest capacity to make your visit is memorable. Beach is excellent, No crowds, No loud noises, service at beach or elsewhere is perfect. Rooms and views are beautiful. Staff makes note of small personal details of your preferences and make sure it is done the same way all the time. I have visited this hotel few times and plan to make at least twice a year return. Bill Lacey, manager who despite his busy schedule stays involved in all details. Staff at all stations are excellent hence hate to mention names because list will be too long and I do not want to miss any.

Room Tip: ocean views are good but you have ocean view from almost all rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gutrusingh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We chose The Sanctuary to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were wowed by the experience from the moment we turned off the parkway into the hotel driveway. The bellmen were welcoming and gracious, complete with chilled bottles of water offered to us as they unpacked our car. The manager was present at our checkin and explained the type of room and reservation we had made and the benefits we would experience at The Sanctuary and at Kiawah Island. We were shown to our room by an extremely knowledgeable bellman who explained so many facets of the hotel to us as well as all the amenities available to us in our room. We had a beautiful view of the Atlantic Ocean and a wonderful balcony from which to enjoy it. The concierge service was superb with dinner reservations made quickly and that filled our requests. We had dinner on our anniversary at The Ocean Room. Dinner was an elegant experience with a view of the sun setting over the ocean and rose petals on our table. Breakfasts were at Jasmine's Porch and we enjoyed a variety of offerings from the menu and from the buffet. Again, impeccable service. We will return to The Sanctuary to experience this again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank write4684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We run the Kiawah half marathon every year because of the Sanctuary. But, even if you don't run, it's awesome. Despite being absolutely beautiful, it's completely luxurious.

ALL of the rooms are spacious with only the best linens, toiletries and bathrooms.

The restaurants are top notch. Even the casual restaurant, Poogan's Porch is phenomenal for haute cuisine, southern style. And the wine list cannot be surpassed.

The Spa is the one of the best I have ever experienced and there have been many. I wanted to stay for hours in the relaxation room after my service reading under a soft blanket and sipping tea. The rates are pretty expensive - in line with most luxury spas, though.

They have two pools, one of which is adults only if you are looking for quiet time in a luxury chair overlooking the ocean. Meal service all day long at the pool, also.

There is plenty to do in Kiawah including golf, tennis, biking and walking, etc. They often have special events somewhere on the island for resort guests such as oyster roasts and dancing.

The Marathon is great if you like small events. I think they cap the event at 3000 participants. It's is a totally flat, out and return course that passes lovely houses and beautiful marsh sceneries. I will say, the crowd support is ok, better closer to the start/finish. The marathon is simply double the half course - out and back twice. Unless you just need a flat course for Boston qualifying before the end of the year, it's not super fun or exciting.

The Marathon is in December. Of all the times I have run it, the weather has been wonderful. Nice enough to sit outside by the ocean even (once we were bundle somewhat).

But, we have also been there in May/June and the it's beautiful then as well.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnneSchmitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I have been to many places and the Sanctuary is by far the best hotel I have ever visited. The staff is attentive and helpful, the decor is exquisite, the room and beds were extremely comfortable and the food was excellent. The walking and biking trails along with the golf courses give you plenty of activity choices. I will definitely return!

Room Tip: Most of the rooms have balconies so make sure you request one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sfsarkansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
3.3 mi away
Andell Inn
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
469 reviews
9.6 mi away
Tides Folly Beach
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,377 reviews
15.6 mi away
French Quarter Inn
French Quarter Inn
#1 of 61 in Charleston
2,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.5 mi away
Belmond Charleston Place
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,264 reviews
15.6 mi away
King Charles Inn
King Charles Inn
#18 of 61 in Charleston
2,857 reviews
13.6 mi away
Town & Country Inn and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Phone Number:
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range: $263 - $767 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, TravelUp and getaroom.com so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing