We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding was gorgeous”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Raleigh, nc
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wedding was gorgeous”
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had our wedding here in April 2012. Although the venue was supposed to be 5 star with all of the bells and whistles, it fell short of expectations. The banquet manager was extremely unhelpful during our entire planning process. The front desk staff were rude upon checking into the hotel. After marrying on Saturday(we had been at the hotel for the week), we had planned on spending our first night in the honeymoon suite as was stated on the website. Our wedding planner spent about an hour after the wedding trying to tell them that a regular room was not was advertised. I believe that most of the fault lies with the banquet manager as she was in charge of catering the event and all of the wedding details at the hotel.

The regular rooms are average. The suite was slightly better. Location is great, though!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank WeLove2travel_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    152
    60
    24
    19
See reviews for
303
554
10
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hawthorne, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

My wife and I spent a week at the sanctuary along with my aunt, uncle, and cousins. From the moment we arrived we were treated like royalty. The ocean view room was amazing. The service throughout the week was a delight along with the food. I've never gone somewhere twice but we will make an exception for the sanctuary!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2012

Just finished a very nice stay. Spent 3 nights. The property is very nice. The rooms and atmosphere were very nice. The only item which boogles the mind is the mini bar. It starts upon arrival secured with a zip tie around the door handles. After calling the front desk the encourage me to break the tie by pulling with force. Really? Whats inside? 1 each of the following: dite pepsi, pepsi, tonic, club soda, mini gin, mini vodka, mini jack daniels, and two others. Four total beers. No wine. Literally a couple of snacks. Again, really? Make a choice. Get rid of the mini bar program or do it right. At $610 per night and claiming to be a luxury program they need to do better. Might seem insignificant, but it was not what I would expect from this property.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank rocktri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
331 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed five nights and cannot fault the location, my room, the common areas, the wonderfully attentive and courteous staff nor the free wi-fi. The lap pool is very good, the gym, bijou. The jogging trails are great - but choose your time carefully, it can get very hot. Loved the opportunity to spend an afternoon cycling the length of the Island and returning along the beach. All in all, a most pleasant stay.
Be warned however, food and drinks are expensive and you are a captive audience, unless you want to/can drive elsewhere. This is a $$$$ resort - and you pay for what you get!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pi31415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2012

We Just returned from a fantastic five night stay at the Sanctuary Resort and we for a fact know that we will be returning again next year for the third time. We usually only go somewhere once or twice but this resort is phenomenal, we have to go again. There is so much to do for the kids and the adults, there is bike riding, swimming in the pool or ocean, shopping, golf. Also there is a huge kids pool with a few watersides at the night heron park which is only a few minutes away when bike riding. Sanctuary guests are allowed to attend the pool whenever and if you want of change of scenery, that pool is great. The grounds of the Sanctuary are so pretty and well kept up and the staff is so wonderful. Rooms were great, clean, and well decorated.

Overall this Resort is one of the best resorts we have ever stayed at, it even tops the seven stars Resort in Turks and Caicos for us! It is clean, the grounds are beautiful, there is much to do we can't wait to return next year!

Room Tip: Make sure you don't get a handicapped room if you aren't handicapped, the bathroom is much s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carribeanqueen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Loved everything about it. Facility, service, food - everything was perfect.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLT4260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

This is a beautiful location, gorgeous property and top-notch staff. There are a lot of activities on the island but you are also within 45 minutes of historic Charleston. Overall it was a wonderful stay and I would definitely go again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachmom77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
430 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,324 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 61 in Charleston
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Preferred Hotels, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing