We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous all the way around!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Certificate of Excellence
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fabulous all the way around!”
Reviewed August 6, 2011

Returned for our second stay at the Sanctuary. Stayed last summer and this year was just as great. Staff is incredible, from reservations all the way through check out. Not one thing to complain about. My husband, son and myself are avid biker and bring our own bikes. Great paved trails to ride on or ride on the beach. Service is perfect. Guys at the beach do an excellent job of keeping guests happy. Recognized most employees/ restaurant staff from our previous stay, indicating to us low staff turnover and truly happy staff. As far as previous reviews regarding costs of food, fees etc., you known you arebat a five star hotel and will pay accordingly. If you think things are overpriced, stay else. Great food, great service at all the restaurants. Can also have a great casual dinner at the Ryder Cup bar at the beautiful Ocean Course. Only negative was that we had to leave! Already planning to return next year!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JK43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    965
    152
    60
    24
    19
See reviews for
303
554
10
170
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (367)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
149 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Hotel and beach are stunning. However, it's very expensive. Employees make this an even better resort.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCPME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Overall this is a very beautiful property but we did encounter some problems. I will say that they were completely booked and that they had just had a big storm the night before so these may not be things always encountered.

Stay here if you want:
-Beautiful grounds and finely appointed hotel
-Friendly and helpful staff
-Large spacious rooms with spectacular views
-Access to a beautiful beach and 30 miles of bike trails
-One great golf course after another

Some of the things I did not like; which may not bother everyone, but I thought they could do better:
-I dislike resort fees, just include it in the price of the room. To pay a lot of money for a room and then to be charged $25 for a lounge chair or $15 for a bike for half a day is maddening!
-Absolutely gorgeous bathroom but no water pressure!
-No coffee machine in the room. The do have free coffee from 6-9 downstairs but when I went down at 9:03 it was already gone.
-If you like to eat at the hotel you may have a hard time. We tried to eat at 8:30 on a Tues night and were told at the two places to eat that they were full for the night, not that there was an hour wait time but that they were full. We couldn't even eat at the bar. There are other options on the island but they are all several miles away. They have a causal service at poolside but it is not open every night. It might be a good idea to have it open every night if the other two dining options can't handle full occupancy.
-We had some flooding in our room from the storm which was surprising because we were on the second floor. The whole carpet wasn't wet but the areas around the doors leading to the balcony were. We had two blowers in our room for the whole stay. They could not move us because the hotel was fully booked. I had heard that it was quite a storm so it was more Mother Nature's fault than theirs it did make our stay less pleasant.

Overall we had a nice stay but we have stayed at other hotels that cost much less and did a much better job at the little things.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank travelbugs70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Sanctuary for one night in June. The hotel itself is beautiful and well deserving of the five star rating. We booked our room through whatahotel.com and the booking came with free valet parking, a room upgrade (if available) and free breakfast for the same rate available through the hotel itself. We received the free upgrade and got a beautiful ocean view room that also overlooked the pool. The rooms are very nicely decorated and large. The bathroom was luxurious and has two large shutters that can be opened up so that you can see from the bathroom out to the balcony.

The breakfast buffet (included if booked through the right agent) was amazing. We also had dinner in one of the hotels restaurants. The dinner was good although nothing extraordinary. If you are interesting in golfing, the hotel's room keys work throughout the island and can be used throughout all of the golf courses to pay for merchandise, food etc which is very convenient. The only drawback to the hotel that we found is that the food and drinks at the pool are very expensive and can add up quickly! The service everywhere was second to none.

Overall, we loved our experience at the Sanctuary and wouldn't hesitate to stay again!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joshjobrien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nc
Level Contributor
110 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed at the Sanctuary for our anniversary. It was lovely and the service superb. When we arrived, we were placed in a dark room on the main level with very little ocean view. I debated about whether to ask to be moved but decided to and was immediately placed on an upper floor with ocean and pool views. The decor was smart and fresh and clean. We had a fantastic time. The food was delicious...we did not leave the hotel for any meals. Breakfast buffet had fine made to order omelets and ripe fresh fruit and an assortment of breakfast foods. For dinner we had well cooked steaks one night and a more casual dinner the second night at Jasmine's Porch. We rented bikes and enjoyed riding on the beach several times. We had a couple's massage at the spa. I don't have anything negative to say about our stay and would highly recommend the hotel for a weekend getaway.

Room Tip: Request a room above the first floor to get better views and a brighter room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank buttercup16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wooster, Ohio
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2011

Our family of 4 (kids 4 and 10) just returned from our annual trip to Kiawah. We stay there every year for 1 week for a conference and family fun. It is a tradition filled with wonderful summer memories for us. The Sanctuary is beautiful, luxurious, and welcoming down to the smallest of details. The staff is extremely friendly and accommodating to entire family.

We have enjoyed the beach which is shallow far out into surf, and safe for kids. Staff is helpful setting up comfortable lounge chairs with towels. Pool is also very nice, no deep end. Good pool service, decent menu. Biking on the beach and many paths is very fun, and easy way to get around. Free shuttle service on island also available.

Have golfed several courses, Turtle, Osprey and Ocean. All are beautiful and well manicured. Family golf (tees 150 yd from greens) offered in afternoons at discounted rates great for smaller kids.

Monday nights a low country buffet is offered at Mingo Point, oysters pits. Food is ok. Live music is fun, kids doing Limbo.

Favorite restaurants are Atlantic Room. Great view, excellent food. Peaches and cream dessert was heavenly. Nice location for family photo.

Jasmine porch is convenient, with great food and Sunday buffet ($50+). An added treat on Friday, Sat and Sunday is The Williams Duo, father and son duo playing guitar and violin. LOVE THEM! They take requests and perform contemporary hits, U2, REM, Coldplay, Beatles, etc.

Sanctuary rooms are nicely appointed with thick luxurious towels and bedding. Free Wifi.
Elemis products, gel is very nice. Turn down service nightly with small cookies and water.
Our initial room this year was on the first floor, but we thought is had a musty odor and requested another. They very kindly upgraded us to an ocean view 4th floor room.

Spa is relaxing, many service options.

The only complaint that we have is the expense, not of the room, but everything else. When you are paying $500+ per night, I'd rather not pay $4 for tiny popcorn or $6 for scoop of ice cream, etc. Food in general is very pricey. This is not a location for those on a restricted budget.

Freshfields is a nearby shopping area that offers a few restaurant alternatives, especially for a longer trip. Grocery there is very nice. Italian place (can't remember name) was ok, but not great service.

Don't forget to stop by Angel Oak, off of Bohicket. It is also our tradition to eat at Hominy Grill in Charleston and visit SC Aquarium on last day.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jillboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albuquerque
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

It was like living in a little world and once you were inside the property the setting and beauty was very beautiful and was a place you could relax and enjoy the new little world. you had everything you needed at your finger tips.. what a thrill and a place that was good for the mind and sole.. so relaxing..tks ronb

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronaldb_nm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kiawah Island
Andell Inn
#1 of 3 in Kiawah Island
430 reviews
Belmond Charleston Place
#13 of 61 in Charleston
3,094 reviews
French Quarter Inn
#2 of 61 in Charleston
2,795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Spectator Hotel
#8 of 61 in Charleston
415 reviews
Tides Folly Beach
#1 of 1 in Folly Beach
1,324 reviews
Downtown
Wentworth Mansion
Wentworth Mansion
#1 of 61 in Charleston
835 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort

Property: The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort
Address: 1 Sanctuary Beach Dr, Kiawah Island, SC 29455-5434
Location: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Kiawah Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Kiawah Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Charleston, SC, The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort is an oceanfront Five Star/ Five Diamond hotel and spa offering casual Southern grace, comfort and charm on one of the top eco-friendly island in the U.S. It features five golf courses including The Ocean Course, site of the 2012 PGA Championship. Tennis magazine ranks it as America's No. 3 tennis resorts and it has one of the top-ranked beaches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Preferred Hotels so you can book your The Sanctuary Hotel at Kiawah Island Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sanctuary At Kiawah Island Golf Hotel Kiawah Island
Sanctuary Hotel Kiawah Island
The Sanctuary Kiawah Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing